We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit and counting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet

Save Saved
You added Swiss Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Chalet
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   153/6 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 91 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Third visit and counting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was my thrid stay at Swiss Chalet and I’ll continue staying here when I visit Ao Nang. Since my last trip they have added roofing to all outside areas so diners are protected from the sun and rain. It was great to see the same staff and some new faces, the food still remains high quality and priced well. I like the location as it’s not on the main road yet is only a couple minutes by scooter/taxi to the main beach and shopping area in Ao Nang. I would recommend this hotel for couples as well as family travellers. Thank you Roland!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
38
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in Swiss Chalet November of 2012. We chose the place because of the proximity of the place to the beach, restaurants and market. Swiss Chalet did not disappoint and we were even surprised with how big and clean our room is which also has a really nice veranda. There's TV and a safe and the bathroom was big and clean with hot shower. Swiss Chalet is quite underrated considering how affordable it is to stay there even though it's in a really good location.
Food in Swiss Chalet is great as well. We've had one of the best seafood curries there!
Also, Roland the owner, if I could remember it right, was very friendly and approachable and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went there last night as a change from all the Thai food we had been eating. It gets a bit old after three weeks of it so we decided to try some Swiss food.
The cheese fondue and Rossi were amazing, great cocktails and service.
Would def recommend as a change to your phad Thai although Thai food is available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband were in our honeymoon trip when we stayed at this place for 5 days at this place few days ago.. i actually quite suprised..the room was big and clean.very safe too where you can leave your belonging in the room freely.location at ao nang beach where you can walk to the market..The owner is very friendly and helpfull.There is a tourist information at just at the entrance of the hotel make your life easier with all the packages of tours provided ,with good deal too :-) overall its a good stay and i will stay there again :-) no review on the restaurant-never had meal there :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great service, VERY big room which was unexpected! Simple nice decor, and clean. Staff helped me and my boyfriend find a place to stay the following night, as we had only booked 2 nights! If we ever come back to ao nang I will definitely stay there again. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and I feel it was a great selection. The hotel is in a nice location. Very near to Ao Nang beach (5 min walk) and Nopart Thara beach (5 min by Tuk Tuk).
Room was specious and clean. But it doesn’t have a jazzy look. But if you are looking for value of money, this is a great place to stay. The Swiss owner is very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I had Rostii which was soggy inside and my partner ordered bratwurst but first they came out with wiener sausage and when he reminded them he had ordered the bratwurst they eventually came out with the right one. The veg were practically raw. Some of the staff were a bit disinterested and not the friendliest. Much better places to eat than here.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet

Address: 153/6 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Chalet 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your dreams come true... ... at one of the most beautiful places in the world. ... in our familial home, which has been repeatedly awarded worldwide as one of the best establishments of its category. ... whether single, couple, family or group. ... whether for a short or long stay. ... in our modern and functional rooms, include all the amenities do you need. ... in our restaurant with excellent Thai, Swiss and International cuisine. ... with warranty you will feel comfortable very well in the Swiss Chalet. The Guest House & Restaurant Swiss Chalet was opened in 2009 with 4 bedrooms and has since been regularly extended. Currently we have 16 rooms. Four of them are brand new and the rest have all been renovated. The Swiss Chalet is situated on the edge of the center of Ao Nang. In a quiet and safe street. Surrounded by new 4 and 5 star hotels. The center of Ao Nang, the beaches and boat landings (which you bring to the surrounding beautiful islands) are within easy walking distance. The nearest beach (Nopparat Thara Beach) is only 200 meters away. Many shops, restaurants and massages are located in the immediate vicinity. Short distances: 200m to beach / 150m to the nearest boat jetty / 100m to the main street with many restaurants and shops / 5m to the next massage / Tourdesk in house / 200m, 1km or 3km to the various Bar centers In our restaurant we serve you in the morning as of 7:30 clock. In the evening, depending on the season, up to 10 or 11 clock. Our travel agency organizes trips, booked and confirmed your flights and much more. We offer you excellent value for money. Swiss quality at Thai prices! We speak English, German and Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Ao Nang
Swiss Chalet Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.