We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet

Save Saved
You added Swiss Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss Chalet
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   153/6 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #30 of 91 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at Swiss Chalet during a recent trip to beautiful Ao Nang for a week and enjoyed every moment. The rooms were clean, comfortable, air-conditioned and had a balcony. The staff are friendly - and the Thai food on offer is terrific. I would often stop for a chat/advice on what to see with the staff and it never seemed to bother them. Swiss Chalet also has a tour booking desk and you can organise transfers to Krabi Town and the Airport. The location couldn't be better, hotel is just off a busy road and only a 2 mins (motorcycle) cab ride downtown and to Ao Nang beach. There is a minimarket nextdoor (they sell everything!) as well as bars, a beauty salon and souvenir shops nearby, I found it impossible to pass by people without saying hello as everyone has a super infectious smile :) I am returning to Ao Nang in July and will be staying at Swiss Chalet again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
39
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days until we found something cheaper, the rooms are really nice with AC and nice balconys, it's a bit of a walk into town, and we had to walk through the back of a shop to get to our room which was locked at night so no obvious fire escapes, our shower didn't get very hot, & the restaurant didn't cater for vegetarians but other than those points it was fine!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union, new jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were originally only staying here for one night, but we booked a second night because its a great price for the location. You can take a 20 minute walk or take a 5 minute tuk tuk ride up the street to where all the bars and restaurants are located. Its also a short ride to the ferry pier. The beach is down the street, but the more popular beach is a 20 minute walk. I would just take a tuk tuk. They are so cheap and easy. There are also some nice beach bars around the hotel that we stoppped in before we went to sleep. You can book ferries, taxis and even tours right in the hotel or anywhere around the hotel. The street has other larger hotels and places to book tours.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. They came with a nice larger safe. Wifi was also available. Our room faced the street with a balcony. The room is a nice size and suited all of our needs. We felt safe and comfortable. All of our questions were answered by the owner himself. He is a very nice man. When we decided to go island hopping, the owner held our luggage for the rest our the week until we returned. Our belongings were kept in safe place.

Overall, GREAT STAY!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Absolutely delicious thai-food!!! And ffriendly staff!
Try e.g. padthai and tom yam-soup

If you are in Ao Nang this restaurant is one of the must visits!

We booked a trip from here and the whole day 4 activities trip was awesome! (Tiger cave, elephant trekking, emerald pool, hot springs)

Room Tip: Try thai food and trips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holy Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here for 8 days at the beginning of Feb 2012. The hotel is in a good location only 5 minutes stroll to Noppharat Beach or 10 mins to Ao Nang Beach.

It is only a 4 minute drive from the jetty, so very handy for the ferry to Phuket, which was a great journey. It's a door to door service for 650 baht, which is pretty good.

The staff here are very friendly and always have a smile and the food is good value. The wifi signal was very good and reliable.

Be aware, the shops around here are expensive compared to 7-11 at Ao Nang Beach. Some things are nearly double the price.

All in all, Swiss Chalet was very good value for money and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had booked two rooms for two nights here which were both clean, spacious and had good facilities (shower, tv, comfy bed, closet space). We ended up staying 5 nights and they were very flexible with us. In our room the safe broke and locked all our things in for a whole day - but the owners sorted it as quickly as possible and even offered to lend us money until we could access our cards etc. Once they opened it and we were out for the day, they kept our things in their personal safe.
We were always greeted with smiles when leaving or arriving, the place is quiet and is not open all night so is quiet - but the atmosphere is good - the food is yummy, Rosti with bacon and eggs was a favorite with us!!

A bit of a walk to the strip and the beach with the longboats, if you go right out the hotel to the end of the road then turn left that will take you there. But if you go right at the end of the road there is a much quieter beach down the road which you can also get longboats over to Railay from.

All in all a very pleasant stay, would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: my friends had a room on the front and they had the bright sign outside their balcony - not a massiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Excellent place when you are not a fan of big hotels with huge lobbies and hundreds of hotel rooms.:) There are few rooms in the upper floors of the restaurant, but rooms are clean and good for simple stay in Krabi. The owner was spending a lot of time at the restaurant and it has a nice European feel of doing business :) (You will miss it once you spend a lot of time in Thailand).
The continetal breakfast (for 120 baht) was excellent! And you could see many people from surrounding huge hotels visiting the place for food!
For the room for 2 persons, we payed ca 1000 baht.

Room Tip: the one on the upper floor has nice balcony and good views to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet

Address: 153/6 Moo 3, Soi 8, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Chalet 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let your dreams come true... ... at one of the most beautiful places in the world. ... in our familial home, which has been repeatedly awarded worldwide as one of the best establishments of its category. ... whether single, couple, family or group. ... whether for a short or long stay. ... in our modern and functional rooms, include all the amenities do you need. ... in our restaurant with excellent Thai, Swiss and International cuisine. ... with warranty you will feel comfortable very well in the Swiss Chalet. The Guest House & Restaurant Swiss Chalet was opened in 2009 with 4 bedrooms and has since been regularly extended. Currently we have 16 rooms. Four of them are brand new and the rest have all been renovated. The Swiss Chalet is situated on the edge of the center of Ao Nang. In a quiet and safe street. Surrounded by new 4 and 5 star hotels. The center of Ao Nang, the beaches and boat landings (which you bring to the surrounding beautiful islands) are within easy walking distance. The nearest beach (Nopparat Thara Beach) is only 200 meters away. Many shops, restaurants and massages are located in the immediate vicinity. Short distances: 200m to beach / 150m to the nearest boat jetty / 100m to the main street with many restaurants and shops / 5m to the next massage / Tourdesk in house / 200m, 1km or 3km to the various Bar centers In our restaurant we serve you in the morning as of 7:30 clock. In the evening, depending on the season, up to 10 or 11 clock. Our travel agency organizes trips, booked and confirmed your flights and much more. We offer you excellent value for money. Swiss quality at Thai prices! We speak English, German and Thai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Swiss Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Chalet Hotel Ao Nang
Swiss Chalet Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.