We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Privacy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Small, Krabi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Small, Krabi to your Saves list
The Small, Krabi
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
East London, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Privacy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked on spur of moment. This hotel designed as voyeurs paradise as absolutely no privacy anywhere! Rooms adequate at best.
First night aircon blew up at about 3.30 am. Really great with 26degrees outside,
Paid premium to be in moon deck room. Spent pleasant few hours on deck enjoying view
of hotels in front and having people from top deck pool enjoying their view of our deck.
When returned downstairs lock fell off door as trying to lock.
Credit where due aircon and lock promptly dealt with when reported.
On positive hotel well positioned but definitely no feel of beach break.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    112
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
116
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013


Customer service is awful! Power went off due to some building work so we couldnt access our room after breakfast. The staff were useless and had to wait outside the door for the cleaner to come back from lunch. had to poo in the pools toilet which was pitch black, I ask for a torch light...receptionist - the chubby one - said she had none ( knowing there is one in each room).
Then husband taught our taxi will come pick us up at 12.25 when really 2.30 pm ( our bad). 3 sec after the check out we asked if we could still go back in the room. The receptionist said : no, the cleaner is cleaning the room. My husband explained to her that the cleaner was 2 rooms away from our when we checked out. She replied no she is cleaning. I thought how does she knows that knowing she didn't go check on the floor or make any phone calls... result : we are currently sitting here at the reception full of mosquitoes waiting in a chair for 2 hours for our taxi... while the receptionist are just there standing having a great girly conversation...THANK YOU FOR BEEING SO HELPFUL THE SMALL. absolute awful service! The worse I ever had and trust me , I am not demanding.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As it was further up from Aonang town (about 10mins walking distance), and there wasn't nearby to the beach. Therefore, it is rather quiet and won't hear the bustling noise. We don't have any seaview except the hotel swimming pool which was really very small on the 1st floor, and i don't see any guest swim at it though.

The hotel provides lots of towel which is very handy should you need to bring it to the beach. The room is modern, bright and has a very big dressing table which was fantastic for me. However, it doesn't have bathtub and only standing shower. The toilet is as spacious too, and you can draw up the bind and watch TV while you shower. Remember to bring the touchlight provide by the hotel should you need to go out, because there was several black-outs in the whole town and the longest lasted almost half an hour, while it was raining heavily and blowing chilly wind. what an experience!!

June is a monsoon period, better avoid this period if you want to see the sun, sand and sea.

Room Tip: Choose third floor, as there is a stretch of balcony at the doorstep, great for chilling with group...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is actually about the stay in Apr 2011, hope they improved. For those who consider on this hotel please be careful.
We booked 4 pool access room for 3 night stay with airport transfer. However the reservation did not keep our record, put the blame on HQ in Bangkok. No pick up and end up we wasted an hour in airport, upon arrival none room ready for us. All pool access room fully taken, is big group of us 8 person, end up they upgrade us to suite room but all of us can't get together. All we want is just the pool access room and swim together in the same pool. End up we have to wait other customer to check out and only get the room on last night. So sad!! Room is comfortable but internet not really working. Location is quite far to the main Aonang street. Walk up and down is really tiring.
Our holiday just such a mess!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The rooms are big and spacious. Can get a rather comfortable night's sleep in their big cushy beds.

One bad point for me was the shower heads that didnt work well for my room. Couldnt really adjust the hot and cold water such that it is at the constant warm temperature. I ended up bathing in extreme cold and extreme hot waters depending on the mood of the shower head.

Location is pretty alright, within walking distance to eateries and the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here may 2013. The room was large and spacious, and nicely located between the two Ao Nang beaches. Unfortunately we were not informed that room service wasn't running due to low season which meant our first night had very limited food option. The breakfast ok, the area was humid so felt unclean and there were a few ants around. The staff were nice. Packed breakfast was provided when we had to catch an early bus. Travel services on site were very helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We good a good deal at the Small for adjoining rooms. They were going to upgrade us on arrival to pool rooms, but as we wanted adjoining rooms we ended up on the top floor which suited us better as it was very quiet up there.

Rooms are super clean, comfortable (beds a little hard) and have a balcony that gets sun practically all day - great to dry bathers and towels - but too hot to sit out on.

The two pools are great, The rooftop is warm and hot during the day. The pool downstairs is cool, as it doesn't get much sun, fantastic to cool off in after a hot day shopping or touring.

As mentioned in other reviews, there are some street carts accross the street and over which we ate off a lot which has fantastic food - so fresh and safe.

Do go to the walking market in Krabi Town - I went with my two daughters while my husband took himself off to the Kick boxing. Very crowded - but safe, and the food from the vendors was fantastic, with local entertainment which was a lot of fun. Lots of families, with young kids and prices are much better than in Ao Nang.

We took a private long boat tour to Hong Island for a day , which was fantastic value. Him, our skipper was great fun and couldn't do enough to make our tour enjoyable. Go very early, to get there before all the speed boats arrive. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we arranged with Him to have another day on the long boat. He arranged lunch, drinks and it was probably the highlight of our whole trip. Him even arranged for a visit from dolphins when we were making our way back from Pi Pi!!!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms look good, but not much privacy. Go upstairs. Don't hesitate to eat off the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Small, Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Small, Krabi

Address: 167 Moo 3 | Ao Nang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Small, Krabi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Asian Chic Hotel, Located on beach front road, a few steps to Noppharatthara beaches and 300 meters to Ao nang, the small hotel enveloped by the warm atmosphere of its Asian Chic architecture with a smooth blending of rustic simplicity of the furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Small, Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Small, Krabi Hotel Ao Nang
The Small, Krabi Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Small, Krabi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.