We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great scenery but overcrowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phra Nang Beach

Phra Nang Beach
Ao Nang, Krabi Town, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 47 things to do in Ao Nang
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great scenery but overcrowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

the limestone rock faces are v beautifuland it is fun to watch the climbers falling off them,but really there are too many people in high season

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    712
    482
    177
    44
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London ON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We jumped on a longtail at Ao Nang beach for the the 15 minute ride to Phra Nang that is only accessible by water (100 baht each no bargaining). We were fairly early so there was lots of room on the beach when we arrived and we managed to find a shady spot. However, soon after the beach began to get quite busy. This is a beautiful stretch of white sand wedged between two dramatic cliff headlands that are used by rock climbers. The water is shallow with a sandy bottom that makes it perfect for swimming (watch out for longtails) with some limited snorkelling at either end near the rocks. Be sure to explore the caves. There were half a dozen beached longtails equipped with kitchens that were serving a good variety of hot Thai dishes at reasonable prices along with cold alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages which made for a very enjoyable picnic. When we had had enough sun, there was no problem jumping a longtail back to Ao Nang. All in all a great day at a beautiful but busy beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful but busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The cave and the climbing walls around are not only beautiful but also interesting site. The traffic there was like on a busy motorway -a constant stream of long tail boats with tourists filled the whole beach so you could hardly see the sand!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lovely beach - but a bit crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

After many years visiting Ao Nang we spent the last 3 days of our most recent trip sitting under the same tree on Phra Nang beach. Either we lack any imagination - or we truly believe that it's the best spot on that bit of the coast. Get there early a nab a spot in the shade - but don't expect to be sat on your own!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

wow this beach is really beautiful!! i will def go back again and i told all my friends to not miss it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phra Nang Beach also viewed

Railay Beach, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Phra Nang Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phra Nang Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.