We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet spot away from the crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pine Bungalow to your Saves list
Pine Bungalow
99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
Fredensborg, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sweet spot away from the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at this little slice of paradise far away from the tourist traps of Ao Nang on a lovely beach with coconut palms, hammocks, great food and very few people. A big plus was the baskeball court and pingpong table which our children loved as a nice alternative to swimming and snorkelling.
We can also recommend the day trips they arrange at very reasonable prices.
The only downside is that you can't swim at low tide.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front hut - they are literally a stone's throw from the water! (we needed a fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
35
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very basic accommodation but great secluded beach with plenty of hammocks to relax.

The airport pick up for 600 baht was in pickup trucks which was fun for us.

Food in the restaurant was OK, expensive for Thailand but nice enough. Breakfast was all western food though which was a shame.

There was an old lady doing massage for 200 baht for 1.5 hours but she was not very good as the massage so more like stroking. However, she was nice and needed to make a living.

We went on a mangrove kayaking tour they arranged for us, it was fun but hard work.

All in all, a great romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pine for a week and we liked it so much we came back ten days later after we had explored some of the islands. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I loved the laid back, homely atmosphere.
The place is very clean. There are always people going around cleaning the pathes and beach. If you need your room cleaned or new towels you just have to ask. The bed was harder like most of the beds in Thailand. My only complaint is that the pillows were lumpy. The bathroom was clean but sometime you had to shuffle stuff to get the water to drain. We had a room with a fan and cold water which was just fine for us. There is also a nice veranda with chairs and a clothesline on each of the bungalows.

The food was excellent! Make sure you try the massaman curry. It is one of the best I have ever tasted but you have to order it that morning because it takes all day to make. On our last day they even made us little takeout boxes for our bus ride.

The beach is great at high tide but rocky at low tide. It's just a short walk into town where there are restaurants, shops, and a market on Mondays and Fridays. The mangoes are excellent.

I would highly recommend Pine Bungalows! I hope we can visit again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place, we came back for more time we liked it so much. Stayed in 600baht room with cold water and fan and that's what you get, pillow a bit clumpy but minor details. Beach is lovely at high tide as all beaches around here are poor at low tide. Great fast wifi and computer available!

Must try the mussaman curry is is fantastic and perhaps one of the best meals of my life, have to order morning you want it though cuz they cook it all day. Well priced trips to Koh hong and chicken island at 450baht each.

Very reasonable taxi service at 100baht each for a half hour ride to krabi or Ao nang or rent a scooter and enjoy it, we went and did tiger temple once with scooter and Ao nang a few times. Can also do huay to water falls by scooter or taxi which is meant to be good.

Little local market on Monday and Friday's and small one Sundays just 1km walk away has awesome local food and fruit like mango's and cooked meats etc great!

Last of all these people are honest and caring, quite a family environment they remember your name and room number and re very friendly. Any help you need booking they will book on your behalf if you like with no commission taken.

Have read the last few poor reviews and cannot see how they are deserved at all, this place is great fun and our favourite place in Thailand so far so check it out and get a scooter!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

we stayed there 2 nights, the staff not nice at all, at the restaurant one of the employees is so rude that we didn't want to eat there again but we had no choice because taxi to ao nang cost 300 baht one way...any way the place is in middle of nowhere...the beach is nice but only when there's tide...we go to one of their trips to close islnads and it was nice but a bit expensive...the matress is horrible, and besides that the rooms are ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Make sure you have one room 4 your stay. We arrived at Pine Bungalow late aftrernoon after informing them via a phone call from the Thai owner of the hotel that we were staying in the night previous,that we would be arriving via the ferry. We were told by a rude member of the staff that as we arrived late are room had been given to some1 else. The treatment we recieved from the staff was very poor!! we were told we could stay in 1 room 4 one night and then change to another room 4 two nights at a extra cost. We did not agree to this and left to stay next door in a far better accomadation right on the beach owned by a German fella called Heiz.. We did eat at Pine but the service was slow and the staff were not intersted in any of the customers, so all in all if i were you i would look at booking next door.

Room Tip: Stay next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Arrived by minivan from Hat Yai, and the hotel picked us up in the city (for a fee). We stayed in the 600B rooms which had no A/C and only a fan, but it was just 3 bungalows in from the beach. The bungalow is well worn, isn't cleaned daily, linens aren't changed, and even though we removed shoes before entering, sand just kept getting in to the unit. If you needed more toilet paper or soap, you had to ask for it. We were only given one bath towel each. The bathroom had small ants and an occasional gecko. The bathroom is very small and there is no hot water. The shower and toilet are combined, so water gets everywhere in the bathroom. The vanity shelf by the sink was beginning to fall off, and the mirror was too high up that I had trouble trying to put my contacts in. Electrical outlets weren't very convenient. Mattress was too firm and the pillow uncomfortable. I would normally not want to stay in a place like this for more than a day, but the beach (and resort) is quite breathtaking making up for the shortcomings and we stayed for 4 days. Free WiFi was available in the restaurant area. The food was also excellent and several cats roam the grounds making for good entertainment for a cat lover like me. Scooter rentals were for a 24 hour period and recommend going in to Ao Nang for a day to see what a crazy beach town you're NOT staying in.

Room Tip: Having spoken to the other guest, I don't think the A/C rooms are that much better in terms of c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalow

Address: 99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pine Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.