We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pine Bungalow to your Saves list
Pine Bungalow
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great food and wonderful location! The bungalow was just in the near of the beach and the food was delicious! The people were friendly but the 'architecture' of the place is awful! I would go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I spent 3 days in this place because of the price and the review in Tripadvisor but still not so sure until we arrive. We were quite surprise when we arrived and saw the pickup van and the time travelled from airport to the Bunglow (approx 45 min).
When we arrived, the driver brought us straight to our bunglow without any registration, they handed over the key to us and the room is lock by a padlock, Once they handed over the key to us, they will just leave you alone until you check out.
I have booked a bunglow with aircon and near the beach, it is very near the beach (3 meter away)The room is very basic, double bed, a low pressure shower, a pill. No TV, no wi-fi. but that didn't bother us, the place is quiet, hammocks are all over the place, and we enjoy our stay there vey much, just lying under the sun, on the beach whole day, reading books, doing nothing for 2 full days.
This beach is beautiful but with a lot of rocks, the only time one can swing in the sea is in the morning till noon, when the tide is high,which is about 4-5 meter from my door step.
SHould have stay a bit longer if not because we are going to Bangkok after this.
The food in the restaurent is fantastic, and this is the only place with wi-fi and the signal is very good.
The staff are friendly, very helpful, and speak good English. They can help you to arrange tour and anything. though during my stay I did not get out of this place at all.
A truely nice place, if you do not mind the above and hang around to enjoy the surrounding. definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place was great. It's on an uncrowded part of Ao Nang, has a really nice, relaxed staff, is inexpensive relative to the quality of the experience, and has really delicious food. I would love to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We came here for 3 nights based on the good reviews and it didn't disappoint. It's literally on the beach and the food is amazing! Best food we have had in Thailand yet. The only disappointing factor was the bed, I have never experienced such a horrible bed, could pretty much feel the springs. If the bed was better we prob would have stayed longer. But over all a pleasant experience. The staff were lovely and helpful too!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Luckily stayed at this place in December of 2012. Initially we booked for two nights, but decided to stay for another two based off of how great everything was. The restaurant and beach area are both amazing. Uncrowded beach with hammocks, great swimming and scenery. The food at the restaurant is some of the best we had in Thailand. Rooms are relatively cheap and and are clean. Went on one of the snorkeling expeditions ran by Pine Bungalow to Kho Hong and a few other islands. The snorkeling and scenery were both great. Would recommend this place to anybody, and we definitely hope to go again.

Room Tip: Some rooms near the beach have the same price as rooms away from the beach, when booking ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We decided to stay in Ao Nang on our way to Koh Lanta and stayed here based on its rating here. We're so glad we did! We had no idea how to get there so we phoned the resort from a store on the main strip and someone came to pick us up. On the ride there we realized we were pretty far from the action and got a little nervous. Upon arrival though, all our doubts were set aside. My first thought was "We found paradise."

There weren't very many people there and it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The rooms were basic with a bedroom and separate bathroom. It was clean and outside each place is a hammock. Our bungalow was also just steps from the beach, a beach all to ourselves! No one else was swimming in it because we were so far away from the main strip. It was amazing!

The staff were also extremely friendly and we really enjoyed the food. It felt like it was made from love. Definitely try out their soups! There are also a few dogs and cats roaming around that are super friendly and fun. There was a golden retriever puppy there but he was shy. Oh and there was free wi-fi in the restaurant! We learned later on in our trips to different islands in Thailand that this was a luxury.

The only problem with this place is how far it is from the main town. A staff member dropped us off into town one night and left us with a map to give a tuk tuk driver to get us back. This proved to be a lot more difficult. We got lost for about a half an hour in complete darkness in the middle of nowhere. Thankfully after a lot of searching our tuk tuk driver found the place! To be honest, there's not much happening in the main town so if you're just looking for a place to relax, this is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am amazed that there are so few reviews of this place! I have only good things to say about Pine Bungalow. It's off the beaten track, right on a beautiful beach with great views!
You couldn't wish for nicer staff! They are so friendly and accommodating!
I the rooms are just lovely and clean and they have options to suit everyone.
The restaurant is great, very reasonable and good food. They also have free wifi in the restaurant which is really good - best connection I have had in Thailand so far!
It's not a party destination as there is not much nearby. It's a great spot for a group, a family or a couple. I was solo and it was so nice to have a break from the party spots!

Room Tip: The rooms right on the beach are great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Bungalow

Address: 99 Moo 2, Nongtalay | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ao Nang
#11 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Bungalow Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.