We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2+ average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aree BaBa

Aree BaBa
18 Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 169 Restaurants in Ao Nang
3.5 of 5 stars 131 Reviews
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“2+ average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stopped in to avoid the rain on a cloudy Sunday. Service was OK, with only about 4 other tables of customers. Had 4 dishes & sticky rice: roast pork, chicken larb, shrimp papaya salad, and stir fried rice with laem sausage. The latter 3 dishes were good, and the laem sausage is perfect with beer. However, the 30 baht sticky rice is overpriced and was quite hard, while the "grilled" pork looked like it came out of a microwave and was especially boring.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    28
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Slow service, low quality cheap food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Walking along the main strip of ao nang we stumbled across this place.
Nice look decked out in bamboo which was a little different. Clearly family run which is good in a way but the staff speak extremely limited English which is definitely required in an establishment in such a prominent location.
Food was extremely cheap but not for a good reason. One dish we ordered was crispy pork but clearly its been recooked as it was overly chewy and rubber like.
I ordered vegetables and noodles whichever weren't bad but were drowned in oyster sauce.
In saying that.. 3 dishes and 2 drinks were 280bht.
Also, plenty of stray cats in the restaurant which isnt good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Restaurant near Ao Nang Cliff beach resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visited in June. Arrived hotel in the afternoon, after check in, we just crossed the road to eat here. Not many people. Ordered pineapple rice, tom yum soup, clear tofu soup, phad thai, baby clam, strawberry milkshake and lemon juice. The food is decent but nothing to shout about. Especially the stir fry baby clam, was quite plain. The pineapple rice and drink were good. Only thing my girl doesn't like the insects flies which is bothering her.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Went during June which is the off peak season for krabi so it really was like a dead town with very few people. Went to Aree baba for lunch one day and we were the only customers. However the staff were slow to attend, but I attribute it to their relaxed pace of life because everything seems slower in krabi!

Food was decent. Coconut was not ice cold, would have been better if it was ice cold. This iced milk and black tea was to sweet but still good. Mains were decent, nothing to complain about, but nothing really stands out. Price was decent but more expensive than esan which I have reviewed in another post. Feel free to take a look at it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had a very good Thai Red Curry and also Sticky rice with mango...both dishes were very tasty.
Also the Coconut shake served ina coconut was very nice.
The service was good and we will go back there...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aree BaBa also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Aree BaBa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aree BaBa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.