We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool access villas are supreme!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Orchid Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Orchid Resort to your Saves list
Aonang Orchid Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   141 Moo.2, Ao Nang beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 92 Hotels in Ao Nang
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
1 review
“Pool access villas are supreme!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We came to Ao Nang from Koh Lanta, having scouted a few hotels the nite before, among these Aonang Orchid Resort. So we went there and found that all double rooms (3500 thb) were booked that nite but there were Villas with pool access available for 6000 thb.
Having a budget of 4500 per room/nite we went to the next door hotel and found that they were fully booked as well.
Then we came up with the brilliant idea that we could rent the Villa for the first nite and then move to the cheaper double room the next couple of days, as they were available then.
Said and done we got the villa and were totally blown away. High standard, nice Villa with spa bath and a very nice shower. The balcony with direct access to the nice pool and pool area sealed the deal. We went to the reception and booked 5 nites right away in the Villa, even though it was over budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    148
    66
    29
    25
See reviews for
65
112
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ao Nang Orchid resort has some great value. It is very close to the beach, the swimming pool is picture perfect. But the rooms are old, the standard is below what you may think from the pictures on the web. For the price it is 'ok' but do not expect too much. Water was running over the entire floor in the bathroom, towels were changed only on request and the warm water may take 5 minutes to come to the shower - if ever... The breakfast is decent with good variety

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Being a Muslim run hotel, there is no beer on the premise and the staff won't listen to women; my wife requested a few extra towels for our room on the third day ( they don't replenish ) and she was sneered at by the male concierge. Shortly after checking out, we asked to be let back in to the room to retrieve an IPhone only to have it to missing curtesy of the hotel cleaners.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Almost all recent reviewers seem to have it right. Ao Nang Orchid is a let down and not worthy of its 4 star TA rating. It is poor value for money compared with other places on offer in Ao Nang. Beware booking thru Agoda/Expedia et al on a 'Special'.You balcony will be facing a rendered brick wall or aging asbestos roof - absolutely awful. I just paid them to move us for the next 5 nights. The breakfast/cafe has a romantic view over the adjacent car park where you can study the motor cycles parked there. I am giving it 2 stars so TA can bring its ratings down. Absolutely not worth 4 stars, more likely a 2.5.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked this hotel for our stay at Aonang during our honeymoon for 5 nights having high expectations having seen the pictures and read the reviews. But we were a bit disappointed as it did not live up to our expectations. The check in itself was disappointing. The staff at the reception had some confusion regarding our booking and made us wait for a good half hr jus to get back and realise that the mistake was at their end. She was rude did not even bother to apologise. We were finally taken in our room on the second floor, it had a strange mould smell. We asked for a change but were told that the resort is full which we were pretty sure wasnt the case. After i insisted we get a change, we were finally given a new room right next door to the earlier one.
This was the last leg of our Thailand trip and we had stayed in other similiar priced hotels all over but this one left a very bad taste. They treated their guests as thiefs. As soon as you check in they make you check everything in the room down to the towels and ash trays making you sign a sheet saying you will be responsible for any missing item. It was a cultural shock but i guess they had some bad experience. They claim to be a 4 star hotel but dint stand up to one. I asked for a clothes iron from housekeeping but they refused sayin if i want my clothes ironed i should give it to he laundary room. Very unlike other hotels

The good points
The pool is superb and to die for. Very nice
The location is good but well there are many many other hotels in the same area
Hotel is fully wi-fi including rooms
The travel agency at the entrace of the hotel offered us the best deals in town

The negative
Overpriced for the services were not up to the mark
The rooms need big time renovation and upgradation
Very dark and dingy feel in the corridoors
Their dining staff was nice but thats it. the other staff was rude and did not care
Average Breakfast. The same dishes every single day
No gym no fitness centre
No place to sit in the lobby. Had several books but not one in english. All second hand german or swedish

All in all since Aonang is such a great place. We used to be out the whole day and came back only to sleep and use the pool for late evening swim.

Room Tip: If you can afford then go for the pool villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Worst experience in Thailand so far. Yes, the swimming pool is very nice (lagoon type) and it is close to the beach BUT there are different types of very unpleasant smells all around the ‘resort’, including in the breakfast area and the lobby. In our case, it was also in the bedroom (room 106) itself and turning the A/C on only made the matter worse. The air coming out of the machine was filthy and made all our clothes and the bed sheets damp and smelly. We complained to the staff and asked to be moved to another room. We were told by the completely unsympathetic staff that it was not possible because the hotel was full. We then asked that something be done to the A/C. A technician allegedly checked it but we noticed no improvement. The room (for which we paid extra to have the pool view) was also not up to the standard of a four star hotel. The bathroom ‘design’ dates back to the 80s, with tension shower curtain rod and vinyl curtains (!). The furniture in the room was all scratched and the walls had many stains of squashed mosquitoes. We were also woken up every morning at 6 by the noise coming out of the breakfast area (staff chatting, dragging tables and chairs, etc…).
Finally, after three days of complains we were upgraded to a pool bungalow which was indeed very nice and did not have any of the problems we encountered in the main building. The direct access to the pool is a nice feature and the bathrooms are up to date. However, this is not a resort. Except from the pool surroundings, there are no common areas where to seat and sip a cup of complementary coffee or tea, no playground, no gym, none of the features offered by any self-respecting resort.
Overall and despite the upgrade, we were not very happy with the whole experience.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor pool side and in particular room 106. Avoid also the rooms with view on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Many things happened at the beginning of our stay that didn't give us very promising start. We had booked a superior room but as adviced in Tripadvisor we asked for poolside room and agreed paying extra for it. They took us to the room and as we are travelling with our 6 year old we had ordered an extra bed. So the room was full of beds and we didn't have any place left to put our luggage. We felt also that the room is smelling of mould and there is some sewage smell coming from the aircon, also there was no hot water.! When we told them about the problem they came to check and the women from the reception stated that you have to wait 10 min for the hot water! So she put the water running and waited at the bathroom!!! When we asked to replace the room they said that the hotel is fully booked. We sayd that we want our money back and we are heading to another hotel, as it was day before Christmas we weren't quite sure could we get a better deal but definitely we wouldn't stay in the smelly room. After that they suddenly found some other rooms to offer us but they were quite as smelly as the first one. At last they offered us uprgade to the pool villa. The villa was ok but if you think that one night at the villa costs 6000 BHT it's definitely not worth that money. When we moved to villa they said that they couldn't put the extra bed to the room because the bed will ruin the floor. At last they agreed to bring two mattresses for my kid to sleep on. The villa itself is ok and its nice to go swimming strait from your own porch but it's still quite small for 3 people to stay. The pool was ok but also quite small, the pictures of the hotel give you different idea. The breakfast at the hotel was a disaster! The food itself was quite ok but the way they handled the service was as chaotic as can be. There were lots of people at the hotel during the time, so there was no enough space to eat. They were short of plates, cups etc., they couldn't clear the tables, omelettes were made by one girl who seemed doing this for the first time in her life and it took time! Better to eat some place else! Overall they couldn't ruin our vacation but I wouldn't go back there.

Room Tip: Our friends had Grand Superior rooms, they are in the building facing the street .The rooms were spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Orchid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Orchid Resort

Address: 141 Moo.2, Ao Nang beach | Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aonang Orchid Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Aonang Orchid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Orchid Hotel Ao Nang
Ao Nang Orchid Hotel
Aonang Orchid Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Orchid Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.