We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good price friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Goodwill

Save Saved
You added Aonang Goodwill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aonang Goodwill
420 / 22 Moo 2 | Aonang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 Ao Nang B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice rooms, good price friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In Ao Nang , Krabi it is hard to find a good Hotelroom for an appropriate price in peak season. Hoever we were very lucky to find this beautiful room in the Goodwill Hotel, but we were lucky too since we got one of the most beautiful rooms. The rooms are really nice. The breakfast was good , but too expensive, so you rather not take the breakfast. Also you should not pay in advance and book on the internet, but go there on good luck, they always have free rooms even if it says on their homepage they don't . And even if they may not have a room, there are several good hotels close. For example the Bam Polaoon Hotel where we stayed first. It had also good evaluations on Trip Advisor, but we weren't satisfied, because the rooms weren't so nicely furnished, and you had to pay more for the internet than in the Goodwill Hotel. The Goodwill also offers beach mats for free, umbrellas and other things to borrow for free.

!!!!! Don't book any tour from the hotel, neither in the Goodwill, nor in the Ban Pulaoon they are far too expensive. However you should ask for a shuttlebus transfer at the end to the airport for 150 Baht, which you can't get cheaper anywhere.
The only bad thing was the distance to the beach, wich is approx. a ten minutes walk and the street nearby is dirty and stinks :(

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    103
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
170
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a nice hotel at the end of the strip. You will have to walk about 15 min through the town to get to the beach, this hotel is at the very end of the street. The rooms are spacious and nice. The service is AMAZING!! The people at the front desk are so nice and helpful. They were so great about making reservations. I had to cancel our snorkeing trip 2 separate times because I was sick and they took care of everything. I even asked them to heat up some rice for me and they brought it up on a tray with fruit, it was so nice! We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I cannot understand how most reviews on here have found the staff to be very friendly & helpful, I have found them to be indifferent at best. Maybe most reviewers have never been to Thailand before, but that certainly was not the Thai hospitality I am used to.

The room was large aI dod had a balcony overlooking the street. It was clean although the sheets had some stains and the towels were more yellow than white. There was a bathtub in the bathroom and basic toiletries were provided. Tv, refrigerator, in-room safe & hair dryer were available. 2 free bottles of water are provided every day.

Location was good, not far from the beach (15 mins walk or 5 mins by motorbike taxi (20 baht p/p).

Overall it is not worth the price they ask for. When I emailed them they asked for 1800baht p/d incl. breakfast. I got a good price on wotif.com and got it for 1200 without breaky. If you can do without fridge and tv, there are many places in the area for much less (500 baht p/d).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aonang Goodwill in July 2012. We got a great rate and were not sure what we would be getting for this low rate. We were EXTREMELY happy with the guesthouse and added 2 more nights to our stay there. Goodwill is a short walk to a beautiful beach with many restaurant choices along the away to the beach and along the beach area. The room was clean, had a balcony, and was bright and airy. I hope that I don't spoil the surprise for you but they even made towel animals that were placed on the beds-just like on cruise ships! The gentleman at the desk was funny, very helpful with all our questions and helped us plan out our days in town and visits to nearby places. We did not get breakfast here but it was available. I would definitely love to stay at Aonang Goodwill again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are very thankfull to the staff of this hotel. We don't remember the names but especially we are very thankfull to the guy that has not bad english and lady who worked almost always together with him. These great people have made our impressions about the hotel and thai people in general.
We were suprised to get lots of simple but pleasant bonuses from the budget hotel such as circlets of flowers to the holiday night, free sun matts and so on.
We'll never forget how these guys helped us to get to Krabi three on one bike :)
[--]
People that I've mentioned before were really helpfull when I felt bad on the day of departure. The owner of the hotel is very attentive and pleasant person, he was always ready to help us.
What concerns the hotel itself - rooms were clean, bedclothes was changed everyday and there were no annoying insects there. Rooms are large, quiet (back side), light and well conditioned. Bathroom is good too - clean and no problems with hot water.
[--]
[--]
Some interior items in the room and bathroom are not too new and it would be nice to replace them, but everything is functioning well without any problems. I believe that personnel will help you in case of any problems immediately.
The distance to the sea was not a problem at all for us - 10-15 minutes of walking through the lots of cafes, shops etc on the way to the sea were never annoying.
Small tip - if you want to pay with a credit card, you would be charged additional 3% of bank commission.
Summing up, I want to say that we are 100% satisfied with the hotel and we would recommend it to all of our friends.
Greetings fom Belarus :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We booked 8 nights at Aonang Goodwill 3 months before our vacation. Imagine our surprise when our driver (arranged by Goodwill) took us from the airport, right past the Aonang Goodwill, and dropped us off at a hotel called Aonang Smile!

We'd booked the hotel based on it's good reviews on TripAdvisor, but it seems the owner is using the hotel's good reputation to overbook and fill his new property down the street (which was not that great of a place to stay). Also, we had friends staying right next door, so we were unhappy that we were now so far away from them.

So be careful of booking here, because the owner might have another location in mind for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I chose this hotel for 2 nights to avoid the overpriced "New Years Eve Gala" meals that was compulsory at many hotels in the Ao Nang area, and for the fact that it has received consistently fair reviews.

This is a budget hotel and you get what you pay for: it's clean with friendly staff and all the basics. There is no lift and anyone with a problem climbing a couple flights of stairs should either ask for a room on a lower level or avoid. This was not a problem for us and welcomed a room at the back on the 4th floor where it was quiet.

Wifi was free and the connection was decent enough. We did not have any food here but used their laundry service and they stored our bags when we checked out.

Overall this is a highly recommended guesthouse for groups of friends or families travelling together. The owner even took us to our next destination in his own car when he saw that we would be walking down the road with our bags which was so kind and in keeping with the service we received.

This area of the main road to Ao Nang also has some simple but very good places to eat with prices being much less than other eateries/restaurants closer to the beach. Food is also more authentic so this is a great base for independent travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Goodwill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Goodwill

Address: 420 / 22 Moo 2 | Aonang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seek a family hotel located in a quiet area of Aonang center? Seek clean and nice room? Seek Thai hospitality? Be at Aonang Goodwill!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Aonang Goodwill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Goodwill Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Goodwill Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Goodwill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.