We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jinnie's Place

Save Saved
You added Jinnie's Place to your Saves list
Jinnie's Place
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jinnie's Place
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   100/1 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 84 hotels in Ao Nang
Leverkusen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We spent a night at Jinnies Place middle of March 2012 and it was totally disappointing.

The bungalow itself and the pool were ok.
But service was not even existing. It was like we (as guests) did not exist and are more a burden than something positive. No one spoke English. The simplest questions could not be answered.
Wireless was not working. Breakfast (we paid for it) was not provided. The "restaurant" was not even manned. There is no shop in the direct neighbourhood. So we went to the restaurant and hoped for someone to sell us at least a bottle of water. No one came although they saw us waiting there (reception is only a few meters away from the restaurant).
We booked 2 nights but left frustrated after one day. When we left they just took the keys and did not ask for a reason or said Goodbye.

We changed hotels and locations in Thailand a couple if times. But we have never experienced such a poor service! That was absolutely uncommon for the very obliging and friendly people in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

on the jinnies place website it boasts 'our comfortbale bungalows are all fitted with Aircon, hotwater, mini bar,safe, satellite TV and WiFi' this is simply not true in the room that we were paying B1600 or £32 for there was no safe and no Wi-Fi.

The staff were generaly unhelpful and the food was poor. The staff seemed as if they could not be bothered when we made requests as a customer, this was illustrated when we asked for lunch on our final day and we asked if we just wanted what was left over from breakfast. The cook seemed to act if we were being unreasonable when we said no and that we would like a fresh sandwich.

The manager was not particularly friendly, on the last day after I paid I was given a reciept but threw it away when returning to the room to make a final check that I hadn't left anything. It turned out the manager stated that she needed it and seemed very angry with me for throwing it away.

In conclusion for the amount the bungalows cost the facilities and the staff to not do not live up to expectations!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

Arriving at Jinnies place perhaps i was expecting too much. However i was only expecting what Id seen on the pamphlet! The rooms were basic for the price and did not include wifi as advertised.

The swimming pool was lovely. That was the one positive.

What really ruined the stay was the service. Frankly there wasn't any! The staff were miserable and didn't even smile! The breakfast was included but id rather it hadn't been as it was very disappointing and barely edible. When trying to order something off the menu for lunch on the first day, the lazy staff couldn't be bothered and presented us with two random dishes that had been sitting on the bar for hours!

Definitely not worth the price and disappointing when we were looking forward to a little luxury at the end of our holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We stayed in Jinnies Place during our honeymoon in February 2009. We really liked this little hotel. There are about 15 Thai style bungalows there, a decent size pool with Jacuzzi, the area is very green with orchids growing everywhere. The bathrooms are quite unique – the bath and toilet are under the roof while about half of the room is open air with little trees and orchids growing there. The rooms are big and clean, each rooms has TV, refrigerator and aircon; room service is great. The hotel is managed by Swiss guy Roland – special thanks to him and Ban for their help during our stay.

We really liked that the hotel is small, quite often we would swim in the pool and there would be nobody else around. Overall the hotel is quiet and relaxed. The only disadvantage of the hotel is distance to the beach – it is about 10 minutes walk. And the beach itself (like most of beaches in Krabi) is not quite what we had expected. The sand is not white and the water is not very clear, during low tide swimming is impossible. On the other hand there are very few people on the beach and nobody will bother you when you come. Local boats can take you to beautiful islands nearby for the cost of 300 THB round trip per person. These islands are idyllic with white sand and crystal clear water. Daily tours to Phi Phi are also available starting from 1000 THB including lunch.

Overall Jinnies Place is a great hotel for people who want to escape crowds and noise and looking for good service at affordable cost.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

We specially appreciated the quiet place, the tropical garden, the nature... The big swimming pool with jacuzzi was great after a day touring and discovering the islands.
The bungalows - Thai-rustical style are all with AirCon, and TV + beautiful bathroom with open roof! It's like taking a bath or shower in the garden - great and VERY romantic.

The familiar atmosphere, very easy going and taking care of everything. They organized for us a barbecue Party we all will never forget.
We enjoyed the late evenings at the Bar sipping delicious cocktails and watching concerts on the big screen... Fun, Dance...
Well really a quality time with quiet relaxation and great discoveries around the area...

  • Liked — Atmosphere and hospitality
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinnie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinnie's Place

Address: 100/1 Moo 3, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinnie's Place 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Jinnie's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinnie's Place Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinnie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.