We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Save Saved
You added Cha Wan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cha Wan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 hotels in Ao Nang
Madrid
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marvellous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. we were celebrating our anniversary and the bed was decorated with flowers and towels in swan shape. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and the hotel is good value for money. Very good location. Clean and new. Maybe, one thing to improve is the water pressure in the bath and the shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
89
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Well I loved Cha Wan. It's a small village of gorgeous little Thai houses floating on Koi ponds around a small pool, with a tropical hillside around. Rooms are beautiful to look at and be in, with wood floors and paneling, spotlessly clean. They have covered terraces, and every comfor, including super nice beds and bedding too. Cha Wan is only a few minutes walk down to the main drag and worth the walk. I extended my stay and came back again. The cozy terrace restaurant had the best food in Ao Nang in my opinion. It was just hard to go out. In my 6 weeks travelling Thailand from Burma to Malaysia I never had such a nice stay. Cha Wan is a home-like refuge. You will find Pena, the manager, and Mai at the front desk to be instantly ready to do anything to make your stay super nice. In fact Cha Wan is one of those magical places where all the employees are like family and love their jobs. Qui, and Noina, Bao, Gaup and in fact everyone there were so nice. If you want a warm personal Thai experience vs. the big hotel feel, Cha Wan cannot be beat. With much apprciation, Frank

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay for a few nights as we are travelling Thailand it was very cheap for what you get.with the little villas feeling like home no wonder they have won excellence award 3 years to date. We got a scooter for 200 baht thanks to the lovely receptionist who sorted it out for us, she ring the shop who bring it down to you, but later on we ended up having a minor accident, when we came back to the hotel the receptionist helped us and cleaned my wound and even questioned the man about the pricing up the damage. They were great help the whole stay. And the hotel is very clean and cozy. Great location. Great design of the hotel also.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel only has ten rooms. We would recommend the upper rooms as lower ones a bit dark. Rooms are very spacious and bathroom is lovely. Nice big terrace for each room, they could improve these with better furniture. Only one comfy chair on each which is no good if you are two adults. If they put two on each that would be perfect. Staff were super nice. Breakfast was massive, couldnt eat it all, again restaurant staff very sweet. Would not recommend this hotel to people with babies or small children. Lots of stairs, small adult pool etc, ponds and a ten minute walk to main shops. We would stay again a perfect break.

Room Tip: Rooms 6, 8 or 10 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked two hotels during our stay in AoNang. We went straight to Cha Wan (mainly to have a look on the hotel condition) after checking in the first hotel. We were skeptical…

BUT our perception changed 360°C upon checking in as we fall in love with the boutique hotel immediately. From the front desk, you can see a very clean and cute pool and 10 units of villas around. In front of each villa, there’s a fishpond with little fountain. As for the room, apart from the musty smell, everything was great. The furniture such as wardrobe may be a bit old, but not a problem at all.

We were thrilled to see the very nice bed decorations with fresh rose petals for the honeymooners. Bathroom is huge, with a separate W.C. We love the big bath-tub, which gave us lots of soothing, relaxing time after an exciting yet tired rock climbing trip. Water heater worked perfectly!

We like the patio but not the mosquitoes. Nevertheless, you can always ask for the mosquitoes repellent from the front desk. Without the mosquitoes, it would be a nice spot to enjoy the natural breeze.

You have 3 options for the breakfast – American, continental or local breakfast. Local breakfasts are our favorite, which comes with yummy Pad Thai (one of the best that we have tasted in Krabi).

We rented a bike to explore Krabi via the resort, at a very reasonable price, along with some kind advice from Mai (the helpful front desk lady) on the where to go and how to go – which made our entire journey memorable.

Worth mentioning, Cha Wan has been awarded 4.5 stars from Trip Advisor for 2011, 2013 and even 2013!

Room Tip: Room 7,8,9 and 10 are away from the main room..very peaceful unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We found Cha Wan on agoda.com and after checking reviews on other sites, took the plunge. We were not disappointed. The rooms are incredibly spacious - the bathroom is like a palace and there is a separate toilet room and shower room. The private verandah with table and chairs was great for lounging around , and food at the restaurant tasty though more expensive, of course, than what you pay for the same at one of the cheaper eateries in town or the dirt cheap street vendors.

Thumbs up to free, unrestricted WiFi (we did our research well, as many other places only allow one device per room) and staff were always friendly and helpful. In response to other reviewers complaining about the distance to the beach, it's an easy walk and we enjoyed browsing in the shops and getting some exercise after all that delicious thai food!

Only drawback is the hot water system which literally runs hot and cold...it did make bath time a bit of a chore so if Cha Wan could fix that I'd give it five stars. BTW fish ponds commented on in earlier reviews have been cleaned beautifully!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I liked my stay here. Unfortunately we came during a time with bad weather and the rooms and verandah were good enough to sit at without going stir crazy. We also had to eat at the restaurant a couple of times because weather was so bad we couldn't walk into town. Not the best Thai foodie had but pretty good. The room size was quite big. Bathroom was huge although hot water was a bit hit and miss. I would also suggest asking for a room away from the road as bikes and cars going up the hill were quite noisy through the night.

They have also obviously listened to reviews about cleaning the koi ponds as they were redoing and cleaning the front ones during our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Hotel
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang
Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#15 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Wan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.