We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well kept, small and great staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Wan Resort

Save Saved
You added Cha Wan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cha Wan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get More When Book Direct
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Ao Nang
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well kept, small and great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This resort with only 10 rooms makes you feel very important. Nothing is too much trouble for the ever smiling staff. The rooms are very spacious each with its own large bath and separate shower.

Because of the size, there is no breakfast buffet but you can order from the menu the night before and it will be delivered to your large balcony at a time of your choosing.

It is located 5 mins from the beach road but the walk can be difficult because there is no footpath. Some of the rooms are located near to a busy road and can be very noisy but they gave us another room as soon as we mentioned it.

I highly recommend this place. You will never want to leave

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    45
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
96
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Cha Wan resort was a welcome oasis from the gaudy touristy hustle and bustle from the Main Street and only 5 minutes walk to the beach. Great place for us as a couple as we were happy to get away from the town. Staff extremely friendly and package deal very good value

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When the mini van arrived at the resort porch, we thought it was a mistake as it was almost un-hotel like. It looked small and almost unnoticeable.

Check in was a breeze and the lady brought us to room 10, and gave a short brief of the facilities etc to us. She was polite and helpful. The room is quite big and it comes with a veranda. The bathroom is huge and the toilet is in a separate 'room' just beside it.

Breakfast was good I must say, and you get to choose from 3 menus. I opted for the local menu which included fruits, phad Thai, coffee, porridge and juice. You can also choose from american and continental menu which I thought was straight forward, with toasts and cereals etc.

The only gripe i had was the heater. The hot water was pretty erratic and you need constant adjusting to get the temperature constant. So if you go there, do test the heater and change the room if it ain't working too well. We were too lazy to make changes and thus didn't bother.

It is quite a walk to the amenities but i dont mind walking. From Cha Wan you get to walk past Ley lei Grill and Carnivore Grill and Steak, which were highly acclaimed. The hotel is quiet and clean and during my stay, there wasn't many other dwellers, so i did enjoy the exclusivity. But as it is rather close to vegetation, mosquitoes are a plenty.

I wont mind staying there again. Its a good choice if you do not want a typical hotel kinda lodging.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

In some respects we have to agree with the previous reviewer.

To be fair to this hotel, the room was nice, large and clean (we stayed in room 6 on top floor). There is not much around the hotel so you could say the surrounds are very peaceful and well suited for a couple wanting a romantic, quiet break. Although the occupancy was low during our visit so this may have accounted for the peace and quiet.

We travelled with small children, so we found the 20 minute walk each way to the shops and the beach quite difficult, especially as it was monsoon-raining every day. Tuk tuk is THB20 per person each way. The hotel did have a courtesy shuttle which wasn't mentioned. However once we asked, the manager said they could take us to the shops but only if the driver was available.

As it was low season, management said they could not deliver our breakfast to our room as they were low on staff. Also the restaurant was supposed to close at 9pm but on our first night closed at 8pm.

The breakfast was quite OK. Only three choices - American, Continental or Local.

Overall the large room was wonderful. The tranquility would have been perfect had we been a couple with no children wanting a chill out. But having small children, next time we would stay closer to Krabi beach and the shops.

Room Tip: Room 6 upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Based on the number of positive reviews, I had high expectations for Cha Wan, but it inevitably, fell short. Cha Wan is a small hotel with 10 units. Odd numbered units are on the ground floor; even numbered, on the 2nd. We stayed in Unit #7. If possible, ask for an even numbered room.

First the pros: Large room and a bathroom w/ a shower and a separate tub-for-two. There's even a private patio where a delicious breakfast is delivered every morning at a time of your choice (try the Pad Thai). And they threw in a free dinner for two with our booking.

Now the cons: The room smelt a little musty and felt rundown. TV was sad with spotty reception and limited channels in English. Internet was also iffy (both of these wouldn't have mattered if we weren't there during the the rainy season). The hotel is about a 15-20 min walk from the beach. Also, hot water didn't work the first night and the a/c kept on freezing.

After learning about the idiosyncrasies of the a/c from the staff, we learnt to 1) turn it off whenever it froze, 2) blast it at 30 degrees centigrade for half an hour, before 3) turning it back down to 20 degrees centigrade. While this system worked, it really wasn't something we wanted to deal with on our holiday.

Also, if your balcony is on the ground floor, you might get amazing views of barb wire to accompany your daily breakfast (which may sometimes arrive cold).

For a hotel this small, the level of customer service should be high but it was sorely lacking. Noor (sp?) was lovely but I can't say the same for the other front desk lady. She always had this grumpy look on her face and didn't take a lot of initiative. One morning, a friend came by to take us to the Tiger Cave. He mentioned to the front desk we were staying in Unit #7. But instead of calling us and telling us he was here, the grumpy front desk didn't mention anything. We ended up missing him and only found out later that he was waiting for us!

Room Tip: Choose even numbered rooms away from the street. Try the drinks from "Take Away" bar, a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at cha wan in september, we got a great price online after the reviews we'd read. Everything seemed great when we first arrived, we stayed in room number 3, there were a few gaps in the door but we covered them up quite easily.

After going out on the first night we returned to the room and picked something up off the side, something ran off the side very quickly maybe a mouse or a lizard. We complained to reception the next morning and after showing a google images photo of the mouse the receptionist did her best to help. We looked at room 1 but the gaps in the door were bigger so we decided to wait until the next day to move to the upper level room 10.

The stay was perfectly fine and enjoyable until we went to check out.... On arrival we were told that the free drinking water was in the fridge (after reading other reviews about mixing up the water i made sure i asked) so each day we had been drinking the water from the fridge. On check out we were given a bill for 300 bahts for the water. This is clearly a scam they set up. Funnily enough it looked to be the owner checking us out rather than the usual pleasant receptionist and the one who had originally said the water was in the fridge. The water is twice as expensive as a can of coke on the mini bar and each day they continued to replace the water we'd been drinking in the fridge without telling us the complimentary water was on top.

I don't believe the original receptionist was at fault, we got the impression the hard faced owner forces the staff to do this as when we left the normal receptionist gave us 5 key rings to make up for the water. After an enjoyable stay here this made us leave on a very sour note and extremely annoyed at the way they conned us. Thailand is a great county but you feel like you have to watch your back and check everything everywhere you go - here is no different.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We chose to stay at the Cha Wan recently based on the reviews of Trip Advisor whilst our travelling friends stayed at a nearby resort opposite the beach. We were disappointed, and here are the reasons why.

We did our research( including checking google earth) and by all accounts, this hotel appears to be about 100m from the beach. It is not!!!! It's about as far out of town as you can get....approx 20 mins walk from the beach. That's 20 minutes in the Thai sun!!!! Not good. When we traveled to a place like Krabi we needed to be near the water. We were very very disappointed to find we were so far away....so much so that we moved hotels after only a few days. We went to the prince ville aonang which was cheaper, and opposite the beach.

The staff at Cha wan were lovely, and we cannot fault the, nor the rooms which were spacious , although not clean. The biggest drawback was the shower which ran either too hot or too cold, and no amount of tinkering could fix it. Don't have a bath....besides the poor temperature control, you could grow vegetables in the dirt between the bath and the wall.

We read and re read some of the trip advisor reviews after we arrived because we just couldn't believe that some people had written about the hotel being extremely close to the beach???? We seriously have to question the (integrity of such ) reviews"

We found the hotel to be a poor choice, and for one of the rare times in our lives, moved our booking whilst on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cha Wan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cha Wan Resort

Address: 159 Moo 3, Ao Nang Muang, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cha Wan Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cha Wan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cha Wan Hotel Ao Nang
Cha Wan Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Wan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.