We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a self-indulgent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aonang Cliff Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Aonang Cliff Beach Resort to your Saves list
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   328, Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 stars 735 Reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a self-indulgent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having read that the hotel is “on the top of a hill”, I wondered if the bus had dropped us at the right place that Wednesday: we climbed a long flight of stairs beside McDonald’s to get to the reception area (the “steep hill” in question might be the resort driveway to the right, heading away from the beach).
The 2000 THB/US$50 deposit imposed during the check-in was a surprise (less spending money… what a shame). I’m not disputing the deposit itself, but given what we’d pre-paid for the room, the amount was on the high side for me (maybe 1000 THB next time?).
Overall, the resort is a cocoon against the outside world, creating a sense of (good) isolation and serenity. Of course, it *might* have been because our stay was during the low season. Note that guests with strollers or wheelchairs might find the ramps steep.
The deluxe sea view room we got was very nice, and I especially liked how the bed was turned down each evening, a woven flower and chocolates left on the bed cover. Where can I get the same pillows? One thing I’d like to see improved is the plumbing. A questionable smell builds up overnight after the ventilation fan is switched off (it was nothing we did!), and makes the room smell musty and funky.
We also paid a reasonable price for a steady and pretty fast wifi connection throughout our 6-night stay. Again, it *might* have been because it was low season, and there was an access point near our room; we didn’t test the connection elsewhere.
The breakfast buffet is a mix of local/Asian and Western selections. The food is average, although the tom yam soup and rice soup were inspired and something I still crave. Service is attentive, but the quirk is that they insist on seating 2 people at a table that has already been set for 2, etc., never mind that the tables are all the same size.
You don’t have to travel far for a meal outside the resort either. Aonang Beach is indeed 5 minutes away, although the trip will take longer because of the shopping distractions and tourist info booths you will encounter en route. Nopparathara/Nopparattara Beach is also within walking distance: a 15-minute walk, or a 40-THB tuk tuk ride.
One of the nice touches (aside from the ever-smiling staff) was the complementary beach gear (slippers, umbrellas, woven bag, and mat) provided in the room. This was also the first time we didn’t have to request for towels from the reception for a day trip: just sign them out from the poolside and return them in the evening.
They also have 2 travel concierges if you want to book an excursion via the resort. The 2 ladies will hustle you gently to a seat even if you insist on watching out for your pick-up, and page you when it arrives.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe sea-view room if you want a quiet(er) stay without sacrificing views of the cliff a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    350
    81
    17
    10
See reviews for
127
345
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We chose Ao Nang cliff beach resort based on reviews from this site and were very much happy to say we enjoyed the stay a week back (5days). The resort is located in cliff side, and if you happen to stay in cliff view rooms, the view towards sea is picture perfect. Decent breakfast. Mcdonald's / Starbucks / 7-11 are available in same complex. Tasty local food available in carts in front of the hotel (roadside carts operate only in evenings). Good options for eating in the beach road if you walk around (within 10 mins walk). Ao-nang beach is only 5 mins walk from the hotel. Only downside is the steps u need to scale to get into the resort every time you move in/out of the hotel. On the beach front, u will get long tail boat tickets to Phranang / Railey -the most beautiful beaches in Krabi(you shouldn't miss). We found the communication towards staff bit confusing only due to language understanding problem, otherwise the staff were very warm, nice and polite and always there for a help.

I rate the stay very satisfying and would certainly stay there if we go again to Krabi.

P.S : This is family resort and stags bringing outside friends are treated differently which we observed during our stay.

Room Tip: Prefer cliff facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is on top of a hill right off the road so when walking out be prepared to walk back up the hill .very clean hotel and good service mini bar prices are fair. But if you are a single male or female and you find someone you like they charge you 45usd 1500baht for having them stay the night even if you booked for 2 people what a rip off and the same fee for 3 hour late check out which isn't too bad but there are many other hotels right around the corner that would be a better choice without all the stupid fees

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Very well located, this resort offers views of the cliff and the sea. With access to many amenities, just downhill at the entrance of the hotel, there are a couple of banks nearby. Several restaurants are on the doorstep, not to mention the usual outfits such as Starbucks, 7-11. The beach is just 5 minute walk away. We were recommended this resort by Andaman Sky Adventures, who organized very flawlessly the rest of our holiday. But we decided not to book this particular hotel with them though, because after we compared prices on agoda, booking.com and expedia, the prices were all relatively the same, but there was a special deal being offered on the hotel’s own website, so we booked with the hotel directly instead.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed at this resort for one night after staying in Railay for 4 and waiting for our evening flight back to bangkok. Have to say, this hotel is very pretty. The balcony view and bath on the balcony were very nice. Close to the beach and the walk there is pleasant. You get a chance to see all the shops and eating spots (Tandoori nights is A MUST). There's something... I don't know...a little off with the staff. It's weird and I can't explain it. We left for dinner that night and came back to find chocolates on our pillows! That was a nice touch. Breakfast was alright but pretty average. Ordered omeletes but got them very raw...which after an earlier incident with food poisoning from raw eggs meant we didnt risk eating them. We asked for them well done but i guess there was some confusion. I would, however, recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay in Ao Nang. Loved the location and the rooms were very clean.

Thank you! See you next year!

Room Tip: get a deluxe cliff view. so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, Lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

From the minute we arrived, to leaving 5 nights later, my wife and I enjoyed an excellent hotel stay with a level of service and attention lacking in many other places.We had booked a Cliff View room which had a bath on the balcony, and perhaps because this was the low season, whilst quite busy, it was a peaceful and restful break. I remember our first breakfast where our "waiter" was very helpful, good english, polite and very pleasant.We met him again a couple of times when I discovered he was in fact the Hotel's General Manager, Mike Peeravudhi! Working without a badge he was a shining example of top quality management.This became even more specific when my wife developed a nasty batch of food poisoning from a restaurant across the road. Mr Peeravudhi arranged a Doctor very promptly and stayed throughout the consultation offering helpful advice.
The girls on reception were cheerful, if lacking extensive English, but this was compensated by the Room Division Manager, Mr Sonthiwa Loothong who was extemely helpful with any requests we had. A nice pleasant fellow!
The siting of the hotel was good, close to the amenities and the seafront, with a clean, big room with an excellent view of the Cliff and the Sea. The Hotel restaurant was good value for money , and the cocktails, whilst a little slow in coming were always very tasty.
I would strongly recommend this hotel for a visit to Aonang, we had come here from a superb 3 day stay at Railay Beach where our son and his young lady got married on the beach. This is another review!

Room Tip: Cliff view, and if possible on the third floor. I can imagine in high season the road ouside could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Visted may 2012.Resort is very well mentained.Staff is very helpfull and friendly.Stayed at this resort for 3 days.Rooms are of good size king size bed bedroom is sunken.unit also has a balcony.Resort provides 2 bottles of drinking water every day ,mini fridge,cofee and tea facilities,umbrella,slipers and gowns.Pool is of medium size.There is a mc Donalds ,seven 11 and starbucks downstairs.Lots of eating places outside the resort.Beach is 10 minutes walk.Free internet at the lobby for 15 minutes if someone else is waiting otherwise you can carry on as long as you wish.Breakfast was average .Overall a very good resort and will stay here again.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view of the cliff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aonang Cliff Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonang Cliff Beach Resort

Address: 328, Moo 2, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ao Nang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ao Nang
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ao Nang
#9 Family Hotel in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aonang Cliff Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort is Krabi's 4 star boutique resort with spectacular views of the cliff and Andaman Sea. Located in the center of Aonang, with easy access to the beach, shopping, Dining and night life. 97 Newly refurbished, spacious guest rooms offer comfortable accommodation in Superior , Deluxe and Ocean View categories. The Ocean wing features sunset balcony for romantics and honeymooners. The resort offers a unique Thai restaurant and a boulevard cafe in Aonang's most versatile and lively shopping plaza. Around the resort pool you will find a Bar & Bistro, wellness center complete with Thai Spa, Gym, Muay Thai, Yoga and Tai Chi classes. Social and business events are celebrated in style for up to 180 guests in the new event center and on the Cliff Panorama Terrace. Coupled with grace of our Thai service memories are made of this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aonang Cliff Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonang Cliff Beach Hotel Ao Nang
Aonang Cliff Beach Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aonang Cliff Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.