We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krabi Trip from 6/9 - 9/9/2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aree Tara Resort

Save Saved
You added Aree Tara Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aree Tara Resort
3.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   177 Moo 3 | Aonang Soi 8 Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 67 Specialty lodging in Ao Nang
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Krabi Trip from 6/9 - 9/9/2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Family trip to Krabi for a short holidays.We arrived early in the morning on 6/9/2013 and was indeed very happy that they allow us to check in early.The rooms facing the swimming pool was indeed an incredible view.Breakfast provided was just a perfect match for us.Arrangement by the hotel staff for night market tour and usual Kayaking tour and 5 islands tour by speed boat and snorkeling.Pick up time at 8.30 A.M was punctual.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    166
    48
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
117
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived at 8.45am and we were allowed to check-in with no questions asked. Speedy check-in and the staff were very attentive. It's about 15min walk to the beach though Pranang and Railey beaches have finer sand to walk on but it's fine if you prefer quietness. Beach towels are available foc near the front desk. Breakfast selection was adequate and nicely presented. Rental of motorbikes is at 200 bahts/day and there's a self-service petrol kiosk 5 mins away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel a week ago. I would not return. We were not impressed with one female staff member, in particular, who worked at the front desk during our stay. She was condescending, disinterested and unhelpful. Our check in took a ridiculously long time. We had booked the hotel a couple days before online and didn't have a printed confirmation paper. We told this female staff member so. She asked for our names, which we gave her. She then proceeded to give us a blank stare, type something into her computer, give us another blank stare and then ask us our names again. We repeated this process several times. She seemed to speak and understand English just fine. Finally, she decided to look in a drawer, found our booking confirmation the hotel had printed off and checked us in.

Our room was nicely decorated. There was 3 of us sharing it. The bed was made into one super sized bed (a queen and single put together), which was comical. We found hair in our sheets that was not ours. Unsure if the sheets were not cleaned or it was from the maids making the beds.

The pool was nice and refreshing. Breakfast was good.

You have to pay for internet use on their computer, but wifi is free. I found this to be ridiculous and a money grab. However, some of the staff members were quite pleasant. When the computer wasn't working one morning, a staff member kindly allowed my friend to use her phone to access the internet and send an email.

The staff, in particular that certain female staff member, was once again very unhelpful and rude when we were trying to transfer to another island. When I asked about booking transportation to Koh Lanta, I received a blank stare and a sarcastic smile, then the female staff member turned her back to me. I had to repeat myself several times, before I was finally told that I had to go to an outside travel agency to book a bus. Our bus was an hour late the next day. We had asked the front desk staff to call the bus agency, after our pick up time had come and gone, to make sure we were indeed on this bus and were told that we would have to pay them to make a simple, local call. Instead, one of us had to walk to where we had originally booked the tickets to have them call for us.

Overall, I would not come back to this resort based on the quality of staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were due to stay for 4 nights but left after two. Our room smelled really foisty and on closer inspection we found that there was mould coming out of the Air Con system, after two nights we left with coughs and bad chests from sleeping there. The staff were really unhelpful and were playing on their phones when we were trying to get help.

The swimming pool was green with grime and algae and the whole place smelled of paint. We were woken up by hammering at 7am while they were renovating. The only plus point was that it isn't far from the beach front but I would avoid staying here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 5 day stay in Krabi based on several reviews. Its a Good Clean Hotel with excellent breakfast. A little away approx 10 -15 minutes from the hustle bustle of Ao Nang town. Staff is very polite and helpful at all times. A good hotel to stay when with family and friends. Price-wise Aree tara Resort is more reasonable with these better-class hotels. Aree tara Resort is not a luxury place. Yet, in ten years from now, I’m sure we will still fondly remember the vacation we had there.
The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the beach is limited. The only draw back is no free wi fi in the rooms.

Aree tara Resort is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

Room Tip: Choose the Pool Facing Rooms... All the attraction is there..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Cozy resort slightly away from the hustle bustle of Ao Nang town, yet not too far away from it. Pretty easy to get a tuk tuk if you're lazy to walk. Room is tidy and staff are helpful. I needed help to arrange a taxi to the airport which cost something like 600baht, but the staff was nice enough to tell me that I could take the van since I was travelling solo. It only cost 150baht for the van.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We love this hotel, all the staffs are friendly, kind and polite. The room is spacious, nice pool but small, breakfast is nice. it takes around 15 minutes walk to aonang centre. The room is clean, well designed, and the air-con is cool. This hotel is recommended, will come back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aree Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aree Tara Resort

Address: 177 Moo 3 | Aonang Soi 8 Road, Ao Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Ao Nang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 67 Specialty lodging in Ao Nang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aree Tara Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Aree Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aree Tara Hotel Ao Nang
Aree Tara Resort Krabi/Ao Nang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aree Tara Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.