We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel not for under 65 years” 2 of 5 stars
Review of De Rijper Eilanden

Save Saved
You added De Rijper Eilanden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
De Rijper Eilanden
Zuiddijk 2a, De Rijp 1483 MA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in De Rijp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel not for under 65 years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

To be honest, a bit disappointing this hotel. Although clean, don't be surprised by the old antique "junk" scattered all over the facility. Driving in you are welcomed by a dozen old buses, in a industrial area part of the village. Not the traditional views you would expect when you book here.

The rooms are clean, but the whole place really feels like a retirement home. All rooms are just functional and set up for wheel chair access. Shower very basic and fitted out with shower chair and special rails. Tv (15"..) and radio very basic, and not from this time anymore. Breakfast buffet is in that range too.

If you are under 65 years old (or feel like that), I advise to look for a nice place in the village and prevent a stay in a somewhat depressing surrounding.

Room rates do not match the quality that is offered.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

If you have a disability problem or perhaps in a wheelchair this is the perfect hotel.
The hole area is well suited for rolling around inside and outside. The rooms are big and there is electric beds for handicaped that makes it possible to raise your head and feets as well as upp and down for good working position. The staff is really helpful and in to what they are doing, great service and good food. A big and nice + is the hotel it self that is something of a cool kind of museum with all kind of things from old ship models old cars busses engines mechanical devices old record players scales typewriters , something everywere. Really different in a nice way. Trips for wheelchairs is possible in the surrounding area and the hotel is only 17 km from Amsterdam which gives you a cheaper stay than the hotels in Amsterdam city. Great place......Thank´s Lucy. Jonas and the girls........4wheeldrive

Room Tip: For handicap all these rooms are good and the rest too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ahsa, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

There are two good sides in this hotel: Beautiful Location in the Country Side and its Friendly Staff. On the other hand, I did not like the room facilities, the bathroom quality, the Beds covers were not good at all. My room did not have any AC to heat it and the bathroom was even worse. Although this hotel is located only 30 KM from Amsterdam, you will need at least an hour to reach it in peak traffic hours.

I was really mislead by the 4 stars sign when I booked this stay on booking.com. Don't believe this ranking.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you have a disability.
The good:
- This is a matter of personal taste but the Beds are very soft
- The Continental breakfast is very good and tasty
- Reception staff knows English and is helpful

The bad:
- Cleaning was not done, and beds were thrown like they just had "fun" in them
We even found MJ buds in the drawers...
- No signs such as Do Not Disturb or others
- CERTAINLY NOT A 4* HOTEL

The weird:
- interesting sitting-area with a lot of antique and weird stuff

Room Tip: You can take away food from breakfast, there are plastic bags near the bread. Try the Heineken Oud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here for 2010 New Year's Eve and it's been a good choice. Not far from Amsterdam, you have to account a 15 minutes drive to get to the city centre, but while you stay here no one can disturb your rest.
The place is really well kept although the outside could be more welcoming.
The rooms are quite big, beautifully lit and very cozy. Unfortunately our room's heating wasn't working so good, but we had good sleep anyway.
The reception/lounge/bar/restaurant room is impressive. Big spaces lovely furnished. In the morning a really good continental breakfast was served. Exactly what you need to face a cold day outside.
If you're staying in the B building during winter be careful not to slip while passing near the little river as some ice forms with low temperatures

Room Tip: The B building is very silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We arrived to De Rijper because the hotel I've order (Golf hotel) was fully booked. The Rijper eilanden was a love story from first sight: A unique hotel with antique objects, beautiful large family room and charming Lady who assist with everything.
We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a family romm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at th De Rijper Eilanden hotel with my Scout Group. From the outside it's nothing special but when you pull up and see the vintage cars you brain starts to think. Through the entrance and into the main lobby and you think you have walked into a museum instead of a hotel. Lots of collectables tastefully displayed.

The rooms were something else. We had a three beded room, very comfortable and spacious. You will need to take your own kettle, etc for making drinks in your room. Bathrooms are fully adapted for disabled - being a wet room. The shower - well I wish I had one that powerful back home. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Lucy. We stayed full board. Breakfast was continental style with as much as you could eat. They provided us with a packed lunch which was the same thing every day - would liked a bit of variety. Dinner was buffet style with a choice of three main with side dishes, again as much as you could eat.

The only down side to the hotel is due to there being a lot of water around we were bitten to death by mozzies. Did think of that with it being October. You will need to take insect repellent and anti histamine with if you stay there.

Will definite go back again. Even though it was a little way out of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Rijper Eilanden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rijper Eilanden

Address: Zuiddijk 2a, De Rijp 1483 MA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > De Rijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in De Rijp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Rijper Eilanden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rijper Eilanden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.