We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendliest hotel in the Netherlands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Rijper Eilanden

Save Saved
You added De Rijper Eilanden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
De Rijper Eilanden
Zuiddijk 2a, De Rijp 1483 MA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in De Rijp
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“friendliest hotel in the Netherlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We arrived to De Rijper because the hotel I've order (Golf hotel) was fully booked. The Rijper eilanden was a love story from first sight: A unique hotel with antique objects, beautiful large family room and charming Lady who assist with everything.
We will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a family romm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed at th De Rijper Eilanden hotel with my Scout Group. From the outside it's nothing special but when you pull up and see the vintage cars you brain starts to think. Through the entrance and into the main lobby and you think you have walked into a museum instead of a hotel. Lots of collectables tastefully displayed.

The rooms were something else. We had a three beded room, very comfortable and spacious. You will need to take your own kettle, etc for making drinks in your room. Bathrooms are fully adapted for disabled - being a wet room. The shower - well I wish I had one that powerful back home. Staff very friendly and helpful especially Lucy. We stayed full board. Breakfast was continental style with as much as you could eat. They provided us with a packed lunch which was the same thing every day - would liked a bit of variety. Dinner was buffet style with a choice of three main with side dishes, again as much as you could eat.

The only down side to the hotel is due to there being a lot of water around we were bitten to death by mozzies. Did think of that with it being October. You will need to take insect repellent and anti histamine with if you stay there.

Will definite go back again. Even though it was a little way out of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a coach trip visiting Amsterdam. It is a fair way out of the city centre (around an hour's drive but 40-45mins on the public transport, bus 100, which is about a 5 min walk from the hotel). The hotel looks quite small from the outside but the inside is very big. It's very cosy and 'olde worlde,' with lots of clogs and vintage decor in the lobby. The rooms are very big and all are adapted for disabled guests, with raised toilets, rails, shower room and lots of room etc.

The staff are very friendly and the hotel owner's wife is very helpful and will give you bus times etc. I didn't eat dinner there but breakfast was lovely - a selection of cheese and cold meats, fruit, yoghurt, bread, crackers, waffles, jam and spreads etc, tea, coffee etc.

There's not much to see from what I can tell in De Rijp but the hotel is very cosy and comfortable with lovely staff and good food. Not an ideal choice if you want to be central and see lots of Amsterdam but if you feel confident with tackling the dutch public transport or have access to transport then it's easy to get into the city and see all you want! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

This hotel is pretty new and a bit of a hidden gem .It is situated about an hours drive from the centre of Amsterdam but it may be quicker and easier to use the local bus service, number 100 bus stops very close to the hotel, as the public transport has designated buslanes it takes 40 mins to reach Amsterdam central station.
Back to the hotel, its own webpage does not do it justice. The friendly and helpful staff and fresh and tasty food make it a comfortable stay.Try the hot chocolate with cream or big selection of teas.
Wheelchair users should have few difficulties as there is a large lift and plenty of ground floor rooms with patio doors onto the terraces. The whole ground floor is open plan and on one level and the lounge has comfortable seating and plenty of room to move.The bedrooms have wide doors, are themselves roomy 35x40m2, with walk in showers, handrails and adjustable beds from which you can if you so wish, watch BBC1!
The village of De Rijp is a 10 minute stroll and is very "olde worlde".
The owners wife is British and will be only too keen tohelpyou with getting around the area and things to see and do locally.
I stayed with my 12 year old and she thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would gladly travel there again.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Rijper Eilanden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rijper Eilanden

Address: Zuiddijk 2a, De Rijp 1483 MA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > De Rijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in De Rijp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Rijper Eilanden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rijper Eilanden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.