We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place with lovely people and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“A beautiful place with lovely people and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My new husband and I had the most wonderful wedding here this weekend and we cannot thank you enough- it was better than anything we could have asked for. Lucy and her team were absolutely fantastic, particular mention to Rob who was so attentive throughout the entire day(and without him nobody would have known how to put on their buttonholes!) and Dan in the kitchen whom unfortunately we never had the pleasure to see as he was so busy serving us with the most delicious food imaginable! Everybody present cannot stop commenting on how fantastic the day was and how smoothly everything ran. The entire hall is decorated beautifully and each and every single bedroom is gorgeous- love all the little touches! We cannot wait to see you all again in the near future, thank you so much for giving us the most perfect day!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you very much for your kind words. Weddings are very important to us here at Washingborough Hall, we pride ourselves on 1st class service from the moment a couple make an enquiry, this is followed up with our fantastic team welcome and genuine desire to impress and look after our guests. It is an exciting time for us, we are starting our orangery extension in October for completion in April 2015 to enable us to cater for larger weddings up to 100 for next year. We wish you the very best of health and happiness for your future and hope to see you again very soon. BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    49
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
165
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked at the last minute for a one night stay in Lincoln and what a lovely surprise. I have to agree with most of the reviews on here, the hotel has been thoughtfully and tastefully restored, the food was excellent and good value but I must save my highest praise for the staff. Everyone of the staff we encountered were excellent from the person on reception to the bar staff. We will be returning to Lincoln as we have family in the area and we will definitely be staying in this hotel when we do.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Lovely review for a lovely hotel! Thank you very much! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, with being on the outskirts of Lincoln, we are sometimes a hidden secret and when our guests find us, It can feel like coming home! We are well placed for business stays, family visits, romance, all our team are a credit to us and thoroughly enjoy meeting and looking after our lovely customers. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Washingborough Hall very soon. BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Me & my husband got married here on 15/08/14 and it was truly amazing from start to finish. The hotel rooms are lovely and the food is gorgeous! Lucy and her team can't do enough for you. We couldn't have wished for any better. Thankyou for making our day perfect!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you Amy & Dan and many congratulations on your beautiful wedding. You looked stunning, beautiful flowers, delicious cake and a wonderful family made it a very memorable day. Thanks to you and your mum Sue for all your hard work organising a great day! BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here this weekend 16th 17th Aug. You must stay here!!!, there are a lovely family that own the hotel and the staff could not do enough for us. My little girl didn't want anything off the menu, so they got the head chef out to see us and arranged cooking a meal for my daughter, she could of had anything she wanted nothing was too much trouble. The room was very very clean and will decorated and had everything needed for a great stay, it was like staying in your very own country house for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review! As a family run business and with 3 little girls ourselves, it is always refreshing to have a flexible approach to the various requirments that arise when we are away from home. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Indeed our chefs too have children and understand that it is essential that children are offered home cooked food to their liking too! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon. BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What the hotel lacks in size it makes up for in quality.

It is full of old fashioned charm and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The room was pleasant and a good size with 'period' furniture which suited the room very well. The bed was large but appeared to be two singles bolted together which isn't ideal.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was very good and not too expensive.

Althogh in the country the hotel is only around 4 miles from Lincoln city centre and is ideal for visiting places in the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for your review, we like to think that we are small and well formed, that said, we are addressing the size of the hotel in October by builidng an organery style extension which will enable us to seat 100 guests! Exciting times ahead, whilst strving to keep great quality menus and also wonderful service by our fantastic team - thank you again, hope to see you soon. BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We all had a wonderful 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. We had our dog with us - a well behaved bearded collie - however, some people hate dogs... so to reassure them, we only ate in the bar area (with permission from the other guests), our room was near the steps for ease of evacuation for unexpected night visits, and none dog loving guests could easily avoid us if they needed to!

HOWEVER, as dog owners, we found that EVERY member of staff was welcoming. Our room was spotless and a good size (number 17 for those who want to avoid it) - It had lovely views over the owners garden and the church, and a humongous bed! The bathroom was spotless (bath with overhead shower), the water pressure was a little weak, but this was only to be expected in an historical building, and better than anticipated!

We were able to have our meals with the dog in the bar area (as none of the other guest's minded...) and, the best bit was that as we had notified the hotel that we were 'vegetarians' when we booked, so we were provided with different menu's on both of the evenings that we dined at the hotel.

All our meals were delicious! Sample; (but the menu had better names): Starter's: Cheese soufflé (I nearly had it 2 days running it was that good), halloumi salad, roasted tomato soup (even tastier than it sounded), Mains: vegetable stir fry, vegetarian sausage and mash, Roasted butternut squash stuffed with beetroot and goats cheese, and spinach and vegetable dahl... all of which were gorgeous. Desert: triple lemon assi...erm..something... (amazing possett, with lemon bakewell and the most refreshing lemon sorbet ever (!)), cheese biscuits, and a caramelised apple sponge with ginger... An indicator of the quality of the food is that none of our plates returned to the kitchen with ANYTHING on them (and, no, we didn't feed the dog!)

We had a lovely relaxing time... we arrived during a Christening party on the Sunday, and we left during 2 work conventions on the Tuesday, but it wasn't obvious, and we felt as if we didn't impose.

The breakfast's were a little uninspired compared to the evening menu (if veg sausage available on the evening.. why couldn't a Veg Breakfast be offered? (Halloumi, baked beans, & veg sausage in addition to the rest of your breakfast menu?)- BUT, having said that, the scrambled egg and mushroom on toast was lovely)

NB: The railway walk into Lincoln is under 3 miles and very flat with only cycles to avoid. We had a lovely day walking into Lincoln, then reading/relaxing on the sofa's upon our return. The car didn't move. :o)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
The team at Washingborough Hall are delighted to have read your review, we love both vegetarians and dogs! To the point of the sucessful catering for a vegan wedding for 50 guests last week! They also included their dogs for the day! All our bedrooms have been refurbished and allow flexibility with our guests requirments, be that dogs or children! We have a chef team of 5, all super talented and very flexible in being able to offer alternatives for guests staying longer than 1 night. I will certainly be looking into the vegetarian offering for breakfast and hope that you will visit again to sample this improvement! BW Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Having first visited a few years ago for lunch, we decided it was time for a return visit and this time we stayed over. All I can say is WOW !

We were given a room with a gorgeously scrumptious BIG four poster bed and a roll top bath big enough to two ! The room itself was stylishly furnished and the linens and drapes were of an outstanding quality. This room was larger than I'd expected and it was very clean and comfortable - the homemade biscuits were delicious.

The hotel itself has a wonderfully warm feel about it - you really do feel at home. The bar area is so relaxing and the reception area is so welcoming especially with the pictures above the fire place. The hotel was quiet and in such a quiet area it really was a world away from our busy, stressful everyday lives.

The restaurant is exceptional. We had steak and duck, followed by the best dessert I have ever eaten - chocolate orange torte with cider toffee and honey cream. It was absolutely delicious. We finished with cheese and homemade fudge. Breakfast the next day was very nice but maybe an extra Boston sausage would have really made it fabulous.

The staff were very friendly and special mention to Beth who served our dinner. She was lovely and friendly and we wish her well with her A level results. From arrival to departure, all the staff seemed to go out of their way to help you.

Our trip was a special treat organised by my man and it was simply out of this world. The room, the food and the service was all beyond excellent. It's an expensive treat but worth every penny.

I have told him I'd very much like to return for longer next time .....

Can't wait.

PS - I loved the little touches - the fact that the table flowers were changed between dinner and breakfast the next morning. It shows real quality and attention to detail. I like that.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muzballs, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
WOW - a huge thank you to 'your man' for a start for organising your trip and also to you for taking the time to write this fantastic review! Beth has been with us several years and I am delighted to be able to tell you, that she excelled in her results and has achieved her prefered choice of LIncoln uni for this coming year. great news for her and also for us too. Sue is our pudding queen, the choc torte is delicious, Sue is also responsible for the Lincolnshire breakfast, I will be having the sausage converstaion later today, Boston Sausage are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.