We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-Notch Service ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top-Notch Service ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a hidden treasure! Wonderful, elegant yet quirky country house with super food, good rooms, a decent selection of wines and beautiful grounds. The icing on our cake however was the quality of service from all the staff. Friendly, efficient, thoughtful and cheerful, our family party of 12 were all made to feel so welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and we can't thank them enough for making our sad funeral occasion that much easier to handle. Highly recommended - we hope to return in happier times. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    49
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
165
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We booked this hotel for a quiet "away from it all" birthday celebration/getaway. We received a genuine welcoming reception even though we arrived early in the morning. We had booked a 2 day dinner, bed and breakfast deal in a classic double room. However we were immediately given a free upgrade to a 4 poster bedroom (Room 21) which was a charming surprise.
The room was lovely and clean, with a choice of both bath or shower.The food was superb, with a good choice of menu and wines, the dinners in particular were delicious, our sincere compliments to the chefs.We would certainly recommend this hotel to others and we hope to stay again one day .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had our wedding here on the 14th December last year and we cannot express highly enough of Lucy and her team. All our family and friends fell in love with Washingbrough Hall. It was our perfect wedding, small and intimate. Everything was A* from food to service. A big thank you to Lucy and her team for making our day so special in your beautiful Hall. Hoping to make a visit with my husband before harvest this year :) see you soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for your great review, I'm delighted you and your guests enjoyed your wedding celebrations here. How about a late Spring Break after Easter ? Please see our website for some super Spring deals! - To celebrate the end of drilling?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Checked into the hotel for a birthday night away. Welcoming reception, without the corporate veneer...(i.e a genuine welcome!). Quirky layout which was quintessentially english, a little crooked in the corners but full of charm. Booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the dinner was delicious and looked beautiful!. Super barman / dinner host who was charming, yet unassuming and was a great host. We were given an upgrade to the room, which was a welcome surprise and the room was lovely!. Only downside was the rather underpowered shower, but not a deal breaker. Breakfast was nice, home made jam and the toast was hand cut delicious loaf. PLEASE don't add so much rock salt to the tomatoes and mushrooms (I had to scrap it off!) but otherwise delicious. Local freshly brewed coffee and fresh fruit selection. Really great, fresh breakfast. Would recommend this hotel and we will be staying again, thanks for a super night away (romantic couples take note, this is THE place to stay...room 20 is a delight!)

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a four poster, room 20 which I would pay the extra for next time, gorgeous compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our Four Poster Bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Late review - stayed there several months ago - July 2013 - but can't rate it highly enough.
Wonderful staff - charming, friendly and accommodating. Fabulous food. Lovely location.
Owner and wife live just close by and are warm and "listening" people.
A little difficult to find if travelling from the North with no satnav. - but worth the time taken to find it.
Sadly, we were in the area to attend the funeral of a very close friend - but the calm and peaceful atmosphere made our stay as comfortable as it could possibly have been.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us despite the circumstances of your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Room 20 is a fantastic treat, traditional furniture, window seats and the grand four poster bed. The restaurant was a lovely experience, food and service top notch. For myself breakfast can be a second thought in some establishments but not this hotel, from the waitress who took great pride in her job to the homemade bread & marmalade that accompanied a very tasty cooked breakfast, made for a great end to the stay. I'm looking forward to a return visit in the summer. Love the creaky floorboards.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, even the undulating floorboards in Room 20!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Would agree with most of the other positive reviews ie friendly staff, very clean and comfortable, lovely cosy welcoming bar area, good position and quiet.

Only downsides was in the restaurant - good menu and good food so all fine in that area. Service was patchy - a private party was taking place in the room opposite and I think this is where all the attention was given (also very noisy). We poured our own wine all evening (no-one offered to do this) and normally in a good restaurant you would expect a canapé before the starter, or even an olive or something with your pre dinner drink - nothing at all. £235 DBB would not expect to pour my own wine. Staff conspicuous by their absence.

Cooked breakfast very nice - excellent ingredients well cooked. Very good coffee, but the most awful orange juice.

Nice stay but with a little more attention to detail could have been excellent.

Also extractor fan noise, which was turned off before bedtime, but was on again at 6:30 in the morning

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. It certainly does sound like our normal levels of service were distracted by the private party in a neighbouring room - I'm extremely sorry about this and will contact you directly to discuss this further. We also take on board your comments about the orange juice and will look into improving this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Church Hill, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln > Washingborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washingborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former Georgian Country House now one of East Midlands premier Country House Hotels. Situated in 3 acres of private grounds and just 2 miles from the historic heart of the City of Lincoln. Privately owned and managed by Lucy and Edward Herring, the Hall is a stylish, relaxed hotel renowned for its friendly atmosphere, great food and personal service. There are 12 individually designed bedrooms including 2 four poster rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and luxury toiletries. Elegant, yet informal, the Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant is renowned for producing delicious home-made dishes using local ingredients where possible. Bar meals are available all day and the Restaurant is open every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.