We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese soufflé..oh yes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel

The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel
Church Hill | Lincoln, Washingborough, Lincoln LN4 1BE, England
+44 1522 790340
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The award winning 2 AA Rosette, Dining Room is situated within Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel - a beautiful Grade 2 listed late georgian Manor House set in 3 acres of gardens and only 3 miles from the historic centre of Lincoln. The elegant, yet informal restaurant is open 7 days a week offering a la carte menu from 6pm-9pm. Lunchtime menu from 12.00-2pm weekdays and Sunday with dedicated Sunday lunch menu too. A delicious Afternoon tea menu with home made cakes and pastries and a more informal bar menu is also available 12.00-9pm. Lincolnshire favourites implemented with care and attention. and attention. Open
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cheese soufflé..oh yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

beautiful, delicately flavoured food. Try the cheese soufflé and the chocolate fondant...mmmmmmmmmmm

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for posting your review - the cheese souffle is one of my favourites as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Excellent evening event showcasing Peter Lehmann wines from Australia, lovely menu that was well served by the thoroughly drilled team. Wonderful pink lamb for the main course enhanced by the PL Shiraz! Nice selection of cheese and a delicious sweet in wonderful surroundings, surely the best that Lincolnshire has to offer.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback regarding our recent Peter Lehman wine tasting dinner. We hope to hold these wine evenings more frequently in the future - we will be heading to Chile in the autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner - friendly efficient staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Cannot believe that a year has passed since we last ate here. As ever the service and food surpassed excellent. The hotel sits in its own grounds and the interior is very tastefully decorated to a high standard. It all lends to making an evening out very special. This restaurant and hotel is certainly in a league of its own and has to be one of THE hotels in the Lincoln area.
Dan the chef continues to produce the most delicious meals and currently his apple and caramel ice cream is ambrosial! Can only recommend that if you havent eaten at the Washingborough you should!.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for posting this generous review and especially for mentioning Head Chef - although he'll be the first to admit he has a great team in Liam, Sue, Peter and Emily right behind him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Jewel in the Crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Haven't been here for many years, is a great place and location but used to be a bit tired. New owners have completely transformed this place into something this beautiful place was crying out for.
A superb, truly authentic, higher end traditional restaurant. Tastefully furnished and decorated in fine country house style. Went for dinner on Friday evening - the place was full - a good sign this place has got it right. Food - really clever - relatively conservative menu, finest quality, superbly cooked. We had ribeye steak - a good test of a restaurant since so many use poorer quality meat and can't therefore get the cooking right. This place nailed it spot on - simply the best I've ever had. All the courses were excellent. Wine list also clever - smallish but great range. Service, like all good restaurants of this type, was friendly, professional, unstuffy.
A quality restaurant experience at bistro prices.
We're already arranging to take some overseas visitors here to experience the place, service, food and know they, like us, will love it.
Well done Washingborough Hall - you have really got the recipe right.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful glowing review. We're delighted you like what we've done with the building - we continue to evolve and re-invest all the time. Who knows where we'll be in another 5 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Lunch !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I had a special 'Wedding Anniversary' Lunch today and it was just perfect!!
A beautiful country house, with tasteful decor and friendly and charming service...the food was excellent and we will definitely be returning regularly in the future...particular thanks to Jane for making the occasion so special !!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washyhall1, Owner at The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Wow, what a lovely review, thank you. Agreed, Jane is an absolute star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room at Washingborough Hall Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.