We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Badachro Inn

Badachro Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Badachro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badachro Inn
Save
You added Badachro Inn to your Saves list
Badachro, Gairloch IV21 2AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Badachro B&B and Inns
Hastings
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

It's worth a visit to the Badachro Inn for the view, if nothing else. Fortunately however the food is good too. We popped in for lunch but ended up staying for a few hours as we couldn't tear ourselves away from the view of the bay and we were even lucky enough to see seals, porpoise and an otter!
If you've made it this far along the remote road you might as well carry on a few miles further and take a walk along the beaches at Red Point. Completely unspoilt.
Watch out for the midgies though!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    20
    5
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
macclesfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

Drove miles out of the way to visit this Pub (Rough Guide recommendation). It's in a lovely location with real Ale but the food - oh dear. I don't know if it was the chef's day-off but food was a real let down. Go for a drink and the location but not the food.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Renfrewshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

Didn't stay in the hotel but had lunch. The lunch was standard pub lunch fair- no better. The burger I had was home made (somewhere) and not one of those frozen jobs that start out at 8 ounces and end up nearer two ounces. It is an outdoor persons' pub so don't expect anything more than ordinary furniture and fittings. Its location on the shore in a sheltered inlet makes it ideal for yacht people. The views, like most places in the West Highlands are typically West Highland. Service was nothing special. It took the best part of 15 minutes to order and receive 4 drinks on a quiet Wednesday afternoon. Staff were unkempt and the place had a feel of complacency about it- sticky table tops and a generally unkempt ambience. It wasn't dirty or anything but...you just got that feeling. Then we had the four cappuccinos- or rather we didn't- they couldn't do them because at 2.00 on a midweek afternoon they did not have enough milk left to do them- how shoddy! Having walked in the high alps of Europe and climbed up to mountain huts at 2000 metres and been able to get a cappuccino at any time of the day I think this was pretty poor and symptomatic of the complacency that pervaded this place. Would I go again? Of course I would but with no high expectations of course.

Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

The Badachro inn is a pub & restaurant rather than a hotel. Having not eaten there since 2004 I read with some surprise a disappointed review on this site. It may be that the owners have changed. However, all I can go on is how it was when we were last there and that was excellent.

It has a small conservatory which is dedicated to dining (only 5 or 6 tables) and the view is stunning over the Badachro bay. You can also eat in the bar or try and eat outside (but the midges will surely get you).

The food has always been fantastic when we have visited with a wide range of local produce cooked fresh, meaning a regularly changing menu. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the bar is a pleasant place for a drink after dinner (although as it is small you may have be as well to keep hold of your seat in the conservatory area).

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Badachro Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badachro Inn

Address: Badachro, Gairloch IV21 2AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch > Badachro
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Badachro
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Badachro Hotel Badachro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Badachro Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.