We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Retreat Among Charming Villagers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat to your Saves list
Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat
Calle P. Rosa, Las Salinas 10541, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Las Salinas B&B and Inns
Moscow, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Retreat Among Charming Villagers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I just got back from a wonderful stay at Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat. It combines modern conveniences with a truly out in the selva feel. The casitas have large screened openings on 3 sides for a view of the native birds, plants, and butterflies while also furnishing a modern, enclosed bathroom and dressing room. The totally private open air shower has hot water. The "Hangatorium" available for gatherings and meals is truly unique with a high conical ceiling of thatch. There are guitars and drums for those so inclined as well as a high stage for groups wishing for drama. A yoga floor is on this lush property for early morning yoga as well as other times of the day. I participated in a beach yoga session on the fishing beach where 3 locals also joined in. Lying on the warm sand was truly relaxing. Other sessions were held on the nearby beach where the sunsets were spectacular. Horseback riding and massages are other activities offered. Canoes and kayaks are also available for another access to the beach. The meals were all delicious, and there was plenty of safe drinking water and refrescos (fruit drinks). For those interested in Nicaraguan culture, the nearby village is a delight to visit with many friendly, family oriented people. Since I was involved in a service trip, we had ample opportunity to meet villagers and help furnish books for their library, build gardens, build solar ovens, help with school music and craft projects, and teach English. However, I could also see my husband and I going there for a quiet retreat to enjoy the rainforest surroundings and the beach. After meeting the villagers and their beautiful children, I would also still want to do something of use to them. The selection between family and friends is difficult, as my husband and I went with part of our family as well as some friends.

Room Tip: All of the casitas are similar, so any would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I recently returned from Las Salinas with 19 others from our church for a week of service. Jaime, Gabriella, Katie, Petra and a host of other helpful and friendly staff provided us with a most remarkable week. The other reviewers correctly describe the incredible surroundings, food, architecture, and character of Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat. What I will always remember is the great love and passion Jaime and Gabriella have for the community of Las Salinas and how they orchestrated (with a large cast!) each step of our service work, meals, transportation, materials, and more. We all worked hard building gardens, teaching children and adults, building solar ovens and much more. It was wonderful to return to Equilibrio at the end of the day to relax, head to the beach, enjoy great food and or rest in our lovely rooms. Thank you, Jamie and Gabriella.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Hat's off to Jaime and Gabriella for creating such a wonderful place!
Some yogi friends had recommend this place to us, but being how they are, we weren't entirely sure what to expect... Let's just say we were pleasantly surprised by just about everything, but the huts (rooms) stole the show. They were spacious, well ventilated, and had a huge outdoor shower garden.
Highly recommend this place to anyone looking to visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend a few nights at Equilibrio as part of a short yoga retreat and couldn't have been more impressed. Everything from the lodges to the landscaping has clearly been a labour of love and you can just feel how James & Gabriella have put their heart & soul into their project. I particularly love the range of things to do and experience with nature trails, a river, the ocean and artistic stimulus (they have a full range of acoustic and amplified musical instruments available!) all close at hand. Coming up to the imposing front gate gives the impression you're about to enter a jungle theme park and in a way that's what it is. I can't remember when I last spent so much time just playing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

James and Gabriella, the owner/operators, have built something that reflects their unique personalities and passions. I particularly loved the accommodation with each cabin in its own compound area, secluded and private. The communal space with its facilities for performance art took our stay the several higher levels, on several nights. Tranquil and exhilarating, its a great combination driven by the great customer care of the owners. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

visiting this place might have been one of the best experiences of my life. to preface this review; i am part of a living yoga immersion program in which i will be earning my 200 hour 'degree' lol. i was one of about 10 people. i was also in class from 7 am untill about 6 or 830pm each day. we were there for two nights.
James is one of the most awesOMe people i have ever had the chance to spend time with. aside from the beautiful expansive accommodations, he is very friendly, multi lingual and has some experience and knowledge in many topics and talents. the staff was super nice and wanted to please us. extremely clean (considering being in the jungle lol), totally natural setting, and anything you could ask for. the yoga studio is huge and incredibly surreal and gorgeous, watching the butterflies copulate in downward dog may very well be my favorite memory. each 'room' is more like a unique suite, multiple bathrooms showers and many paths in which you can slowly meditate your way through.
the food was incredible EVERY meal, the beaches are extremely easy to get to, the locals and tourists were only exceptional. sorry for gushing, but the only thing i could have asked for , was MORE TIME!!! my priorities were studying and practice, but the in-between time was spent superbly.
highly recommend this establishment

Room Tip: who needs a swimming pool when you can dive a well, jump into the river or take a small boat to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place is beautiful! You really are immersed in nature (with all the comforts to make that a truly enjoyable adventure for a slightly squeamish city dweller like me!!!) The farm is stunning – a lush green, tranquil oasis. The casitas (guest houses) are beautiful and comfortable, spacious, light and airy with 360-degree views of the glorious nature surrounding you, and there is so much attention to detail – the casitas are a real work of art in their own right.

The people here are so friendly and helpful and go out of their way for you in so many little ways that you feel completely taken care of. And Gabriela is the most beautiful yoga teacher – gentle, encouraging and inspiring. There is so much to do here (yoga, arts, beach, nature walks, surfing, visiting the local village, etc.) – and yet it’s so easy to just kick back and do nothing (which has been a rare treat for me!)

I have loved everything about this place. And it’s more than just the beauty and attention to detail. I have been to various retreats and there is something special about this place. James and Gabriela and their team have created an environment that is intimate and personal, tranquil and relaxing, and just simply inspiring. It has been such a pleasure staying here. I’ve loved it so much being here as a guest that I don’t want to leave and now I’m even thinking about staying on to work here for a while!!! I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat

Address: Calle P. Rosa, Las Salinas 10541, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Las Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Equilibrio is located in Salinas de Nagualapa, on the Pacific Coast of Nicargua. Equilibrio welcomes those with passions for yoga, art, and nature (and adventure) to make the most of their vacation while enjoying a unique setting: a 15-acre organic fruit-and-vegetable farm retreat, which borders a salt-water river and is a short paddle upstream from the lagoon and beaches of the pacific ocean at the Popoyo Surf Break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equilibrio Yoga Art Nature Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.