We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hard to leave” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnific Rock Popoyo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Salinas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnific Rock Popoyo
End of the road to Playa Popoyo, Las Salinas, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very hard to leave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This place feels like home, perched up on the hill overlooking two great beaches with some of the best sunsets you can imagine, it will be very sad times leaving tomorrow. You need to stay more than a day or two to fully soak it up. Unlike hostels you can chill in this place for days on end without feeling like you ever have to go anywhere or do anything. Everything is at your finger tips, the bar, great meals, hammocks, surf breaks - it has been blissful. The staff are really cool, Jackson the owner is a good sort (even though he is an aussie) who is very helpful, laid back and welcoming to everyone.

There is some construction ongoing and I read another review with negative comments about this, however it is minimal and wouldn't bother you unless you are precious. This is a magic spot that will be very popular soon, get here while it's still in the early days and you can have the place to yourself.

I heard of this place from a friend and I will spread the word to those I meet in my travels too. I already plan to come back when I can surf properly to chill on my next vacation.

Room Tip: You have a choice of dorms, apartments or penthouse. The apartments have incredible views - we enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
17
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

I highly reccomend staying here if you're passing through Nicaragua! If you're thinking about coming for a few days, pack for a week or more because you are very likely to extend your stay! The hospitality is excelent and if you love surfing, look no further! Perfect for a party or relaxing. Get in!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you go to Nicaragua GO HERE But you probably will not want to leave! Jackson thanks for the hospitality and Peter for the great time. We will see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We really wanted to like this place. But, we left fuming. We booked the “penthouse” for 2 nights over the holidays, and thought that it would be a nice way to spend a few nights of our otherwise frugal vacation relaxing and having a good time. To be fair, the owner of Magnific Rock, Jackson, did organize transportation and was on premise in case we needed to talk to him, or had any questions. Moreover, the view was amazing. But you don’t see the view when you sleep, and a sunset can be enjoyed over an afternoon cocktail.

However, the room was—by no means—a penthouse room. Rather, it was a sparse, double room, with walls that did no go up to the ceiling and no mosquito netting on the large window in the common space. This meant that I left the place (after 2 nights!) with over 200 mosquito bites. Not fun—actually more like freaking horribly painful.

Moreover, the place is awful construction. So, that means that it’s very, very, VERY noisy, and that it feels unsafe. My roommate stayed up half the night because our windows (which didn’t have curtains!!!!) faced an unlocked stairwell that anyone could crawl up, wall around to the window and climb in. Also, an endless stream of people had apparently become accustomed to using the penthouse space for yoga, phone calls, etc., meaning eternally slamming doors and noisy conversations.

All of this would have been fine if we had been staying in a hostel, with hostel prices. But, at $100 a night, in Nicaragua—a very inexpensive country— it doesn’t seem too unreasonable to expect a fairly high level of comfort, not to mention a few window curtains. Maybe these are just some issues that still need to get ironed out at a new hotel—we hope so—the view is amazing, but at this point we’d have to recommend saving your money and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Magnific rock is easily the most central place in popoyo short walk to at least 5 different waves. stunning views from the restaurant and the rooms. food was simple, not much choice but very fresh and tasty. good job guys.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Great place! a bit hard to get to but once your there you don't want to leave. i don't surf and i still had fun. see you soon mag rock team.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

If your a surfer, its a no-brainer as to why you would want to stay at Magnific Rock. From the vantage point of the hotel you can check EVERY wave in the popoyo area. If your not a surfer, its still obvious that this is the place to be. The restaurant and bar hang out over 80ft bluff, offering a 270degree ocean view. You can sit and have a Toña while watching 30ft waves barrel at the outer reef. Look in the other direction and you can watch the countless beach breaks between there and Rancho Santana. All waves are within walking distance.

The dining area and bar is a large, relaxing space and is newly renovated with gorgeous hardwoods. The food is amazing! We enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner there each day. Fresh fruit in the morning, sandwiches or burgers for lunch, and the local catch of the day for dinner. (and peanuts to accompany your beers!)

The rooms range from family-style rooms to double and triple occupancy rooms with private baths. There are also apartment style efficiencies that are soon to be renovated. These look directly out over the water and will surely be amazing.

Popoyo is a great area, and Magnific Rock is literally at the center of it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnific Rock Popoyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnific Rock Popoyo

Address: End of the road to Playa Popoyo, Las Salinas, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > Las Salinas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Las Salinas
Also Known As:
Magnific Rock Popoyo Nicaragua/Las Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnific Rock Popoyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Magnific Rock Popoyo to your Saves list