We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Crown & Castle to your Saves list
The Crown & Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

A remarkable attention to detail is at the heart of this very, very good restaurant/hotel. Everything has been thought through, clearly by people who know what guests (with or without dogs) want and how to provide with the maximum efficiency and minimum fuss. Two dinners and two breakfasts (no buffet,a rare treat), were all of the highest quality, local food, well prepared, innovative cooking. Daily changes to the menu. Excellent and unusual wines.

The bar area is small and perhaps overfilled with armchairs. In good weather this is not a problem but otherwise it will get crowded and cramped when busy. Some unusual contemporary art on the walls (especially Lucrezia), but also some not so interesting. No art in our garden room apart from the corridor with a rather naff reproduction print of cartoon cats. Not sure that filling the window ledges in the restaurant with empty bottles is very appealing, no matter how impressive the labels.

These are small points, overall excellent and well located for the coast, biking, walking, twitching etc. One hint, don't just go north for beaches, south is quieter and just as good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
What a nice title to your review! Thank you very much indeed. All the more generous as there were a couple of things that didn't entirely meet your approval. We are really pleased you liked the food and wines but sorry you didn't like all the artworks. (Incidentally, the 'cat cartoon' in your bedroom is a Louis Wain and, yes, it's a reproduction but an Edwardian one.) As for the bar, our lack of public space is the bane of our life and why we arrange dinner times so everyone can enjoy a pre-prandial drink in comfort. Then the bar is able to cope – just. Again, I am sorry that you don't like the wine bottles on the restaurant window ledges. They are part of our drinking history and there in lieu of (to my mind) the blinds and curtains that render many a restaurant far too formal. But we are delighted that overall you enjoyed what we do, and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    91
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
428
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My self and three friends came across The Crown & Castle hotel for lunch. We sat outside and were impressed by the surroundings and the staff that served us. The food we had was excellent. We then asked for a tour of the hotel with a view to coming back at some stage to stay.
The female member of staff who showed us a room inside the hotel and one of the garden rooms was so knowledgeable; she was polite courteous and enthusiastic. Nothing was to much trouble.
We then found out that Ruth Watson, previously from the Hotel inspector on channel 4 was a co owner.....it all made sense.
A first class establishment with first class staff. I would highly recommend a visit, and i'm sure we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you so much for coming to have lunch and for your very nice comments about your 'tour guide'! We know a lot of people who start off with a casual visit to Orford, end up eating here and quite often come back to stay. It's very satisfactory! Anyway, I do hope you will return for a longer visit and look forward to that time. Thank you again for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The room food and service were all excellent. We booked the suite it had a lounge with very comfortable armchairs large modern bathroom separate wc and bedroom with a balcony. It had a dressing table bliss! Somewhere to do my hair and makeup a rare thing in hotels these days. The bed was just so comfy we slept really well.
The food was so good breakfast was delicious good variety and all cooked to order, no congealed buffet here. Dinner was excellent great choice good flavours and all served by brilliant staff.

You may of guessed we loved the crown and castle and hope to return soon. Oh and the village and surrounding areas are beautiful too.

Room Tip: The suite is great spacious and comfortable, would recommend worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
You are very kind to post such a glowing review. Thank you very much. We do agree the suite is pretty nice but we are so pleased you were particularly delighted with the comfortable bed and armchairs, and the modern bathroom. Thank you, too, for such nice comments about the food, especially breakfast. We hope you will come back to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June for 2 nights. We chose the hotel for its coastal location, the food looked good and because it took dogs.
In the end we led the dogs behind but they would have been very welcome and catered for. The garden rooms are excellent with small verandas / patios with lawn in which are discreetly placed posts to tie up your dog.
The rooms are very comfortable, the biscuits lovely, the toiletries great - I loved the soap. The garden room we had had a table and 2 comfortable chairs inside and outside.
We had dinner both evenings... the food is lovely ... interesting locally sourced fish, meat and veg. The wine list varied and with some great reasonably priced different wines.
The breakfast is also super .. Don't miss it.

So we liked it :-) ... A lot.

I hope we return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We very much like the reasons you chose to stay at the C&C, namely our coastal location, good food and the fact we welcome dogs. Hopefully, there will be a next time and you will bring the latter with you. We are so pleased you found everything to your liking, from a comfortable room, dinner, 'super' breakfast and the Arran grapefruit soap (it's hugely - and rightly- popular). Thank you very much indeed for the marvellous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

A professionally run hotel and restaurant. Clearly a lot of thought has been put into the smallest detail, this combined with the visible and hands on management makes for an enjoyable experience. Lovely bedroom (no. 1) with a great view of the river and sea beyond. A very pleasant dinner is served in their restaurant and a good breakfast with high quality local ingredients makes for a memorable stay. The in room information about the local area was very useful.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind report - particularly welcome as you are such an experienced traveller. We are very pleased you enjoyed your room, the food and, of course, the village itself. Orford is a very special place and it is always lovely when people recognise its unique ambience. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Where to start? It almost goes without saying that the food is outstanding. The only problem was seeing the agony on my husband's face as he tried to decide between three equally tempting main courses! I'm a non- meat eater and the fish was so good that I ended up eating it twice a day - try the undyed smoked haddock. I'm sure that real veggies would be offered far better fare than usual. As they say, you only have to ask.
The rooms are very comfortable and pleasingly plain. Can't be doing with ruffles myself.
Probably the best feature is the lovely staff; all friendly and helpful without being intrusive.
I'm disabled (ambulant - probably not best suited to a wheelchair user, but always check) and met with courteous assistance which was in no way officious - fellow wobblies will know what I mean!
So will certainly come back again - highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, not least the eye-catching title! We are delighted that you enjoyed the food (especially the fish - it is something we actively promote, being on the coast), rooms and service. It was a delight to look after you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to play golf as well as visit the locality. I had tried to book other places but none looked as good or weren't available so I went with the TripAdvisor feedback despite the rather high price for B&B. Well, it was delightful! The place is charming; our garden room was comfortable with a nice terrace to soak up the evening sun with a suitable sundowner. The village of Orford is also a lovely environment. The hotel breakfast was excellent - superb fresh fruit salad and juices followed by a great cooked breakfast with breads & continental pastries. We elected to have dinner on the first night and this was good enough to return for the second evening when the menu had advanced a little to give returnees a few new choices.
The staff were excellent, making sure all your guest needs were met without being over attentive. It was this style of unpretentious attention to the most important aspects of the stay that led to my comment above. Although it cost me more than some similar places I left feeling well satisfied. Many guests appear to return and, you know what, I reckon we will too as it was so good, just like it said on the tin.

Room Tip: Our garden room was fairly large, comfortable & peaceful and faced the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
So glad you like our tin! Thank you very much indeed for taking a chance on us. We are delighted everything came up to standard, from the village itself to breakfast, dinner and our staff. I know we are not cheap but I am pleased you recognised we are good value. (It's very difficult to provide good service at low cost, because wages are the biggest overhead and we like to pay our nice staff properly!) We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future and thank you again for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
The Crown And Castle
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.