We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Standards Maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown & Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Crown & Castle to your Saves list
The Crown & Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“High Standards Maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Revisited the Crown after a 3 year break and can confirm that the high standards are being maintained. Though only one night this time we were welcomed back on a D.B,&B basis. All lovely, the room was clean and well equipped, the food was as lovely as ever and we particularly like NOT having to get up from our table to fight at the breakfast buffet. (waitress service!) The weather was glorious during the time of our stay (a Thursday night) and I think others had the same idea as us, for the service was somewhat "stretched". I put this down to an unexpectedly busy evening and it would not prejudice our return.

Room Tip: Room 7 is a "better" room; not huge but window overlooks the estuary and the bathroom over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind report. We can't take any credit for the weather (just as well seeing today it is windy, grey, wet and cold) but are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry if the service seemed "stretched". It is true we are (gratefully) experiencing the busiest June for three years but I have to be honest and say I am not entirely sure what it means. All I can do is apologise if we did or did not do something that spoiled your dinner - and if you would like to email me with more detail I would be grateful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    87
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
34
392
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring,England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Returned following an absence of a couple of years for a four night stay over the recent bank holiday weekend. The overall experience was extremely relaxing and enjoyable with high standards in both accomodation and cuisine.The latter was very good the last time around but on this showing has moved further up the gastronomic scale.These remarks apply to dinner and breakfast as our lunch time experience on the final day was less satistactory (owing to mushy tasteless cod and an oversweet sticky toffee pudding that needed a little lemon lift). Breakfasts were uniformly excellent both in terms of the quality on offer and the good service, other than a 25 minute delay for the cooked breakfast on one day. Wide choice at dinner on a daily changing menu. The desserts are more fixed and do not reach quite the same high standard as rest of the offerings.Great blackcurrant and cassis jelly however.Imaginative choice of wine on an interesting list.
Our rooms were very well appointed with particularly comfortable and spacious beds. Preferred the terrace room to the one in the house on the grounds of a better bathroom although an item of furniture to store luggage-we travel heavy not light- in the former would have been appreciated.Not that we used it much but the new TV was a major improvement on the old models still extant.No body lotion or conditioner might be seen as penny pinching especially if you are paying full whack but these are trifling matters in comparison to the very high overall standard.One slight downside of our room was that we inevitably got a good view of a few staff and kitchen employees in particular indulging their nicotine habits from time to time. Good quality furnishings other than a table which wobbled precariously and had to be replaced.Pristine housekeeping. On one evening(Sunday) no one seemingly responsible for greeting and guest coordination when we arrived for dinner-soon sorted out -but nothing like the well oiled efficiency displayed on all the other evenings.Comfortable welcoming atmosphere throughout. Staff helpful and enthusiastic.An oasis of excellence in an area which, in my opinion at least, is not well served at this level. Reasonably good value for money if you like the style which we certainly do!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
First, thank you so much for giving us a 5-star rating, despite your having some reservations about aspects of your stay. Thank you, too, for the very full report.

In response to just a couple of things, the sticky toffee pudding should not even have been on the menu as I (RW) banned it a couple of years ago as being too ubiquitous and boring, so I am sorry you had to endure eating it.

Breakfast service is incredibly difficult when the whole hotel, i.e. 42 guests can all arrive in a 15-minute period. Guests, quite reasonably, do not want to book a slot (as they do dinner) but the pressure on the kitchen is immense as all our food is cooked to order. The result is that there can be longueurs for which we apologise but, frankly, have no solution to.

We do supply body lotion and conditioner on request but gave up putting it in the rooms as standard because hardly anyone uses it, most people bringing their own, favoured products.

We are taking steps to change the view from the new terrace rooms and hopefully something more sightly than smoking chefs (mmm, not quite what I mean), will be in place shortly.

Yes, the table was wobbly but replacing it within an hour on a Sunday afternoon surely rates some Brownie points!!

Please accept our apologies for any shortcomings but we are glad that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Crown and Castle for a couple of days as they were doing a special deal. We loved it; the accommodation was spacious, comfortable and very well-appointed (though curiously you had to provide your own hair conditioner - I've found this is normally one of the standard little bottles in the bathroom). My only complaint is that I now need to go on a strict diet to lose the pounds gained by the delicious food! All the staff were friendly and attentive and the decor was stylish and sometimes also nicely quirky - do have a look at the chandelier in the parlour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely report - we are very grateful to have your endorsement for our food and service. I do understand why you might think it odd that we don't supply hair conditioner (fab Arran grapefruit soap bar, though, I'd hope you agree!). It's simply because it was so rarely used when we did offer it. I think most women pack their own favourite brand. I know I do: Jo Hansford's Everyday Conditioner since you didn't ask! - it's fantastic. BUT we do have hair conditioner and lots of other bathroom products in stock, all available on request. It does say in Guest Information, but I quite understand this is not necessarily obvious. So my apologies on this point. Anyway, thank you again for a very welcome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went for this hotel because it was best placed for our needs while we were on a walking tour. We were impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, quiet, comfortable and well appointed.
The owners certainly seem to be aiming for a high quality dining experience and we were pleasantly surprised with the ambiance of the atmospheric restaurant and the food quality along with the wine selection.
Adnam's Copper House Distillery Gin was available, I'd like to see a bigger selection of bottled beers.
Definitely a destination hotel when in the area and will stay again when we return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the C&C and enjoyed the food and ambience of The Trinity. Glad, too, that you found your room comfortable.. I am sorry we don't have a more extensive beer selection but we are so short of space - there just isn't room for more stock in the bar. We'd love more public space as would our guests, I'm sure. I hope we can welcome you back on another occasion but, in the meantime, thank you so much for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our 4th trip to The Crown and Castle. This time it was to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary (the first time we stayed was our 1st anniversary). As usual we had an amazing time. The rooms are lovely (we have stayed in both the house and garden rooms), the restaurant wonderful and the standard of service second to none. I canno recommend this hotel highly enough. We left feeling rejuvenated, completely relaxed and vowing to return again very seen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your (4th) stay at the C&C. Thank you so much for your praise of the rooms, restaurant and service - it really is appreciated. Orford is a wonderfully relaxing place and I am glad we were able to play our part. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed and ate at this very welcoming, unpretentious hotel on a Monday night. Despite being a Monday the hotel seemed almost full and can now understand why. The room was lovely, clean, quiet, and had all you need for a comfortable night. The food and service was very good especially the breakfast. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room which is outside the main hotel but still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We are really grateful for your very kind review and delighted you found everything up to snuff. Thank you so much - and we look forward to your promised return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We took one of the three night, two dinner specials and were fortunate to have the Penthouse which is magnificent. It comprises a living room with large TV, a bathroom with a shower large enough for two or possibly three, the bedroom has a large TV and a private balcony overlooking the river and sea. There is also a huge mirror with a purple frame outside the bathroom much to my wifes delight! Luxury! As usual the welcome is genuine and warm, the staff attentive and charming, the meals are excellent and the menu changes slightly each night. The wine list is interesting and affordable, my wife found the Bellini's very satisfying. Unfortunately the weather was very cold, windy and not very sunny however this did not affect our stay, so lots of healthy walks. We hope to return again later this year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at The Crown & Castle, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
What a wonderful review - thank you so much. (In case other guests fall in love with the idea of the 'Penthouse' I must just say that it is our 'Suite' - otherwise there might be an expectation that it's 10 floors up!! Thank you for describing it so admiringly though, not to mention the praise for the staff, food and wine list. I am only sorry we couldn't sort out the weather for you. May is turning out to be every bit as unreliable as the last 18 months have been. But we do hope you will return on a sunnier, warmer occasion. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown & Castle

Address: Market Hill, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown & Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown & Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown & Castle Hotel Orford
The Crown And Castle
Crown Castle Woodbridge
The Crown & Castle Orford, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.