We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ham in Suffolk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jolly Sailor

The Jolly Sailor
Quay Street, Orford | Woodbridge, Orford IP12 2NL, England
01394450243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, English
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best ham in Suffolk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A great pub with good, wholesome food. Lovely couple and probably the best ham I have tasted. The Moules were nice too!
Very welcoming in the bar to our dog, even got him a biscuit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    50
    21
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thurrock, Essex
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Snug & tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We popped in here after a long, sunny, muddy walk around the Quay. Fortunately they managed to find us a table in the back - only negative was that they needed it back in an hour.

I had beef wellington - cooked to perfection with delicious duxelles (always a point of interest for me - duxelles or pate or both!?!), my OH had the sea bream which was huge and so fresh!

Great food and I would recommend with ease - perhaps call ahead and book

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Jolly Sailor serves good food, very cosy inside, can be a bit crowded. The outside seating area is great for families, service always good, just the job after a long walk in Orford.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Jolly Good Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

On our arrival to Orford we popped in here to have lunch, very welcoming place, friendly bar staff, Owner and locals, roaring fire on the go and good old suffolk beer. Two of us had skate, one scallop and one fish and chips ....absolutely gorgeous...... a must place to visit if you're ever in the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice and Friendly with local characters thrown in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We hadnt booked but they found us a table. The pub rambles on through several room and we were in the end one. The foods that was being served to the other diners looked fab and when ours turned up it was a really good meal. The guy serving ws friendly and helpful, the atmosphere a little lacking but when we finished our meal and went to the bar area it was mush more fun. The locals gather here and the landlord seems to spend time sitting at the bar so it flelt more like a real pub than a touristy place. If you are lucky, steve the smoke will be around to add his special charm to the evening. Definately worth another visit. Good food, good fun, and prics wer keen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Sailor also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jolly Sailor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.