We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday evening dinner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant

Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant
Market Hill | Crown and Castle Hotel, Orford IP12 2LJ, England
+44 1394 450205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Orford
Price range: $23 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Trinity is the stand-alone restaurant for the Crown and Castle. It has a lively atmosphere and the tables are close together (be aware), with one special doggie table (30) in the bar area that definitely needs to be booked, although - please note - we only take reservations generally for Sunday lunch and dinner. Our Monday-Saturday Smart Pub Lunch offers an affordable and approachable choice of British and Italian dishes. Children of all ages are welcome. In the evening our a la carte is a little more sophisticated, but not tricksy. As we believe the evening is for adult enjoyment, we do not allow children under 8 years old, and there is no children's menu. Having said that, we are ALWAYS happy to serve menu ingredients more simply, both to adults and children. Sample menus may be viewed on our website.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“sunday evening dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a disappointment! With all the excellent reviews were expecting something special, we started having doubts when handed the menu - it was very muddled, there didn't seem to be a general theme with some of the items being decidedly odd. There was no dietary advise and had to ask the waiter if items were gluten free. We made our choice - roast lamb for myself and steak for my husband, we decided not to have starter as there really wasn't anything that appealed. When the food arrived at our table I couldn't believe the portion I was served - I thought Nouveau cuisine was a thing of the past - a small portion of French beans and 1 runner bean (very stringy and inedible) 4 small cubes of roast potato with the lamb on top - at £19.50 it was a rip off. The steak didn't fare much better it was tough and gristly he'd had much better for half the cost. At no point were we asked if we were enjoying our meal. I decided against better judgement to have a desert as I was still starving after my meagre portion - again the choice was limited but ok. We left quickly after this very dissatisfied with our evening and definitely won't be going back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your report and, of course, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your evening. I am sorry too that you did not like the menu which offers either British dishes (around the sides) or italian dishes (clearly labelled as so).

I think though, it's fair to say that apart from chain restaurants where the menus do not change, it is really unusual for menus to specify whether dishes are gluten-free or not. Our menu changes daily and what normally happens is that guests advise us in advance of any special dietary needs. We are more than delighted to talk them through the 'normal' menu, make different suggestions, or even create a special menu if the needs are extreme.

I am not going to defend every single point you make but I will say one thing: I have just finished filming a new series for C4 where business owners and online reviewers meet to discuss various issues that have occurred, good and bad. The one single thing that every single business owner despairs of is guests who do not say anything at the time, eat every scrap on the plate, and then go online to complain. Had you voiced any of the issues raised in your review we would have been more than pleased to offer replacement dishes, or refunds, or whatever would have made you feel happier. As it is, no one gains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    24
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Called in for lunch and would highly recommend. The food was delicious in a really relaxed atmosphere. The service was excellent and all staff we encountered seemed genuinely interested in customer care. A lovely friendly feeling about the hotel and would love to go back and stay. It wasn't the cheapest place for lunch but wouldn't hesitate to recommend if you would like something a little special!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
As I said in another response, I am afraid our site suffered some IT breakdown which prevented management responses showing. But thank you so much for the very nice report about the quality of our food and service. We really appreciate it, and hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Scrummy food & top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our cousins had flown over from America and we met up with them at the Crown & Castle for supper. We had our own little dining room which was lovely (and probably just as well for everyone else as we were a little noisy!). From the moment we walked in everyone was polite and friendly. Drinks arrived quickly, the staff were very knowledgeable about the menu, were extremely accommodating about altering dishes to suit us and making something different for the children. All seven of us thoroughly enjoyed every single course. The waiters we had were nice & cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for a lovely evening; we'll definitely be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this lovely report. However, I have asked TripAdvisor to move it over to our restaurant site, The Trinity, as you didn't stay with us. Hopefully you will next time! But, thank you so much - we really appreciate the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willingham, Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch, Great Location, Relaxing Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Popped in after a visit to the Castle. Absolutely gorgeous lunch in relaxed atmosphere. No pressure to eat up or order more! Not a pint and a sandwich place but there are plenty of those elsewhere. This is top quality food, top quality service where everyone seems to be focussed on you the customer. Not cheap but worth every penny. Go and experience it for yourself. Served by Ruth herself which made the lunch even more special. Will definitely be returning to try the rooms and dinner options. Just fabulous.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your extremely generous review. We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch. I particularly like the fact you note we try to merge casual style with good quality ingredients and service. Very perceptive, she said fawningly! Please do come back and try a room - hopefully you won't be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

After a fantastic day sailing on the river Alde we pulled into Orford and booked in overnight. The restaurant is superb - the service is second to none and the food is divine!! Someone is doing something right!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Props3, Owner at Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
I am using this report as an overall apology to guests who have posted reviews to which we appear not to have replied (i.e. all those that say NO response.) In fact, I reply - and have replied - to every single review but there has been glitsch on our site that has taken ages to resolve. The consequence is that almost every review from 2008 to summer 2013 indicates that we have not replied. We do apologise for what appears to be rudeness on our part as we are always grateful for guests taking the time to post reports.

And to you, Gilliancrantock, thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your dinner. Next time you come sailing by, we hope you still stop off again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown and Castle – Trinity Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.