We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful Manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport to your Saves list
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   842 Negombo Road, Katunayake, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Katunayake
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unhelpful Manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Srilanka Airlines had put us up at this hotel during a 12 hour layover. Per their contract with the airline b/f and lunch was to provided at their restaurant.


Our son was sick and was unable to come down for breakfast. When we explained the situation to the hotel's Manager,he said that if our son wanted b/f he would have to come down or order from room service. He was not at all helpful.

We left our son and went down for the buffet b/f. At the end we inquired with the waiter whether we could pack something for our sick son. We handed over our son's b/f "coupon" to him. Without hesitation in no time, he packed some sandwiches in a nice take out box.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    69
    41
    19
See reviews for
49
72
28
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here for one night before flying home as I had a 10 a.m. flight and wanted to avoid leaving my holiday hotel in the early hours of the morning. I was a little worried about some of the negative comments posted but my experience was very positve. It was a convenient place to stay being only about 20 minutes from the airport and the hotel ran a shuttle bus there for Rs 1,500 (about £7). The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms were of a good standard, clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower and bath with plenty of hot water. I had a problem with the TV on arrival but reception sent maintenance to see to it immediately and it was repaired within 10 minutes. There was tea/coffee making facilities and there were two bottles of water provided in the fridge. Although there was officially no free Wi-Fi, reception did give me a card for 1 hour's free connection and it was possible to buy more time if you needed it.
There was a nice outdoor swimming pool and gym facilities.
I ate in the dining room during the evening. It provides a buffet style dinner (about Rs 1,500). It was fine as long as you understood it would serve Sri Lankan food and no European menu was available. If you aren't fond of spicy food you could use Room Service.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here for a week, dont bother move to another. Really you cannot trust the staff, my clothes were stolen from the wardrobe. Ok for one night before you fly out but really dont stay any longer. I would suggest you stay at Negombo beach 10 mins down the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Katunayake hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a no frills, basic hotel near the Colombo hotel that one can use for stop gap journey. The airconditioning in the room went kaput and thus had to change rooms in the middle of the night. The extra bed was given a single pillow as they were short of pillows. The hot items in the hotel were cold and we had request for freshly made hot dishes. Will stay here only if there is no other choice the next time around.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport

Address: 842 Negombo Road, Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Katunayake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Katunayake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ramada Katuanayake is located just 7KM miles from Bandaranaike Airport. It features a fitness center, an outdoor swimming pool, and offers spa facilities. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with cable TV, minibar and a work desk. In-room breakfast is available. Guests can sunbathe at the pool area, and make use of the fully equipped fitness center. The hotel's restaurant overlooks the pool and serves a wide variety of both Eastern and Western cuisine. Guests of Ramada Katuanayake are also welcome to enjoy an exotic cocktail at the Pinnacolada Lounge Bar. Hotel Ramada Katuanayake is 14KM from Negombo Beach and 3KM from the Birds Sanctuary at Muturajawela, which is also accessible by boat. The city of Colombo is 30KM away. Free on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport Hotel Katunayake
Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport Sri Lanka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Katunayake Colombo International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.