We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really LOVELY surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waiwera Motel

Waiwera Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waiwera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waiwera Motel
25 Weranui Road, Waiwera 0950, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Waiwera
Bay Of Plenty
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A really LOVELY surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

OK so we had a 1 night stay at this Motel Good friday (April 6th 2012) and after booking, paying by credit card we were looking forward to our little break away.
BUT then for some reason --weeks later I decided to do some trip advisor research and looked at this motel for the reviews----SO with 24 hours to go ---I am sitting staring at my comp screen in "äwe"and thinking Öh crikey, what have I done booking this place??.
The reviews (before this one) made it sound like a right mess and could very well be correct---so with some trepidation we rock on in to the carpark and confirm our booking to the nice man in reception.
The exterior of the motel looked great and I took a DEEP breathe and unlocked the door to our 2 brm unit on the ground floor--hoping it wasnt gonna be too bad as I had read on here.

PHEW, the unit was excellent and so far ABOVE our expectations!!!---Hooray!
Yes it is compact and a little small -- but it was very clean, comfortable and had everything we ever needed or wanted in a motel. There were NO broken furniture as others had experienced and there were not even any purple people on our flat screen TV either?

There was a swmming pool=but we did not use that as we were there to enjoy waiwera hot springs it self.
A BONUS was the awesome discount we got to go to the Springs resort from the motel reception as a guest and this as a family saved us $34.00.

Overall a lovely time in a lovely motel, we can only think that due to the previous bad reviews they may have smartened up their act? and we would definately not hesitate to stay again if ever in this region. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
10
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We wanted to stay in Orewa for two nights but a lot of the accomodation was booked. Driving round Orewa nothing really jumped out at us. We drove on to Wairwera and as it was getting into the afternoon we thought we would stay there. We called in. Alice the manager was very friendly and showed us a room. It was only ok but we decided that at that time of day it was the best we were going to do. The room was a bit tired but we did find it clean. Alice has only been here a couple of months having had to leave Christchurch because of the earthquake. Much of the matters referred to in other comments appear to longstanding.
Well we decided to make the most of it
and do you know we had a great time despite the room being only ok.
We got discount vouchers for the nearby thermal pools and we enjoyed them tremendously . We then 'dined' each evening in Woodys pub just a couple of hundred yards from the motel, nice pub grub, very friendly and welcoming.
Plenty of nice walks, beaches nearby .
Just a few minutes from Orewa .
Our TV was fine but the whole place needs a bit of tender loving care, there is no excuse for broken furniture to be left on the balcony.
The swimming pool was available in fact two men came and serviced it whilst we were there.
We paid 110 dollars per night and at that price that was all it was worth.
We had two great nights sleep here , now whether that was down to the thermal springs effect or not who knows ?
There appears to be one or two long term residents.
Had a great time but would I recommend this place?
Yes if you must stay in Waiwera but then again there are only two or three places to choose from!
Our stay to be fair wasn't like those described above, it was ok for somewhere to get your head down for a couple of nights

Room Tip: They are probably all the same. Inspection is essential beforehand as it may not be what you expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This MOTEL is 100% FALSELY ADVERTISED!

The Spa CANNOT be used! .. The Internet is NOT able to be used Period! .. The furniture is Broken! .. The swimming pool is still under repairs! .. The utensils in the units are slim pickings .. The units are NOT cleaned properly! .. The Kyaks both have HOLES in them and NO Life Jackets given, (Yet Alice, manager) gives the oars to customers knowning that these KYAKS ARE NOT SAFE to be use! ..
THIS MOTEL IS BADLY MANAGED & FALSELY ADVERTISED!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We booked for 2 nights using Wotif - half way through first night, we demanded our money back for the second. This place was revolting! Room had not been vacummed for several visits....furniture broken......bathroom door wouldnt shut........you had to wash any dishes/cutlery before use as all covered in marks and god knows what......felt dirty just sitting on the couch looking at the stains on the carpet. Definately no attempt to provide good service here, they just take your money and that's it. Luckily we demanded our money back and successfuly got it, for the second night at least.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

$160 for a tiny 2 bedroom unit. Cracked, broken falling apart furniture. A tele which turned everyone into purple aliens. In the middle of winter - no electric blankets, no extra blankets or extra pillows. Really poor - we would've left and gone somewhere else but had booked via wotif. Run down and poorly managed this should've been an $80 room at most.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I paid $160 for a 2 bedroom place with a kitchenette, reasonable price and I didn't have huge expectations. For a 2 bedroom place the room was very very small, we had a kitchen but very little of the things in the room to cook with. We had the basics such as knifes and forks but not much more.

The pool had the cover on it with no explanation as to why it wasn't open. We didn't ask but this was one of the reasons we selected this property, there was also mention of swings and a spa. The room that looked like it had a spa was locked and the swings were very old and looked like they could fall apart.

There is no service at this property apart from giving of the keys for the rooms.

In saying all of this we had a good time as purpose was to spend some time in Orewa at the beach and the next day at Waiwera pools. If you don't have high expectations then this place will do for a night!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waiwera Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiwera Motel

Address: 25 Weranui Road, Waiwera 0950, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiwera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Waiwera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waiwera Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Waiwera Motel to your Saves list