We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask For More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rising Sun Inn
Calstock Road | Gunnislake, Gunnislake PL18 9BX, England
01822832201
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Gunnislake
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Postcode: PL18 9BX
Gorseinon, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't Ask For More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Arrived in the middle of a storm having had the sat nav takes down single track roads with the grass growing down the middle joy of joys walked through the door here laughing and plenty of banter (most coming from the guy taking the orders you couldn't call him a waiter he was so much more) ordered drinks from the bar good selection of local brews and a good selection of wines back at the table we ordered the fish pie,the navrin of venison, salmon steaks in a sauce,and the rising sun chicken all with various types of potatoes boiled.chipped saute.and duchess could have had mashed or jacket as well a good selection of veg and fresh baguettes with Cornish butter rounded of the meal everyone agreed it was an excellent even my fussy son in law who is a nightmare to please all in all with a very good starter and desert menu I would recommend to anyone wanting a good evening out even if the weather had tried to kill us 5 star evening

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A proper pub serving proper pub food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

On a stormy evening mid week this was a very welcoming pub.
3 real ales, the otter was excellent. Dinner was cooked fresh, hearty and very well presented.
Just what one wanted for a pub supper!
many thanks landlord you deserve to be highly commended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Charming Pub with Great Homemade Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family and I visited the Rising Sun Inn, Gunnislake, for lunch last Tuesday as we had been recommended it by a friend. We thought the pub was charming, cosy, and had amazing views of the Tamar Valley. We were pleasantly surprised to discover that vegetarians were well catered for and my husband and I ordered the vegetarian lasagne which was very tasty indeed. The Landlord was very friendly and bent over backwards to make sure we were well looked after, offering to heat up baby food etc. All in all, great service and atmosphere, highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Traditional pub with a beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came here twice on a recent trip and sat outside in the autumn sunshine. Good beer/drinks and varied menu. We had traditional Sunday lunch with varied and creative veg followed by hearty puds. Definitely the best pub in the village and worth the hilly walk!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent light lunch with attentive and friendly service from a waitress who refrained from the imperative "Enjoy!". Curry meaty and rich; pannini generoulsy full of raisted vegetables. B&B pudding very rich, and with an excellent jam crust. Beer and cider fine. The interior i9s as a pub should be - comfortable, quirky, and with decor more or less timeless, especvially the ceiling. We always like this place, evening or lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Inn also viewed

Gunnislake, Cornwall
 
Callington, Cornwall
 

Been to The Rising Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.