We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jolly Thresher

The Jolly Thresher
229 Higher Lane | Broomedge, Lymm WA13 0RN, England
+(44)1925 752265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Lymm
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Jolly ThresherCelebrating Fine Food , Wine and Ale The Jolly Thresher is a charming and attractive country pub of great character. As soon as you step across the threshold you’ll notice that the interior is warm and inviting and features sumptuous and stylish furniture with rustic finishes and open fireplaces throughout - The perfect haven for relaxed drinking and dining .You’ll find the atmosphere friendly, welcoming and pleasantly informal and we invite you to join us to enjoy a great range of draught and bottled beers, some terrific cask ales from our well stocked cellar, all suitably complemented by a lovely selection of wines and some caringly prepared Cocktails.Our freshly prepared menu features a mix of popular traditional British dishes alongside some modern European ideas using the best quality meats, seafood as well as some local produce.It’s been designed to offer a range of great pub food to suit your mood with large and small portions available on many dishes.Much of the restaurant overlooks a most attractive Garden and patio where you can enjoy alfresco dining in the warm Cheshire sunshine. This area can divided into private dining spaces and we can help you arrange your very own celebration, whether it’s an anniversary lunch, an evening birthday bash, a cosy family gathering we’ll be happy to look after your every need.The Jolly Thresher is easily accessible from all parts of north Cheshire and the towns of Altrincham and Warrington. You can us find on the A not far from the M56 / M6 intersection.With such ease of access, a large car park, complimentary Wi fi the Jolly Thresher is an ideal venue for you to meet with work colleagues or perhaps hold an informal meeting whilst enjoying freshly brewed coffee , maybe a bite of breakfast or brunch or indulging in one of our very special afternoon teas.Whatever the occasion come and join us at the Jolly Thresher, we think you‘ll like us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Thanks to the excellent Chris and Molly at the Jolly Thresher for a wonderful afternoon .
We had Camembert grilled with pitta etc and garlic Stilton mushrooms to start. Chicken Caesar salad with side of garlic butter and Parmesan chips , I had red Thai chicken curry.. All was perfect and very filling . Chris as a host was very friendly chatting to everyone and obviously loves his job both he and Molly never stopped the few hours we sat eating and drinking.
My new fave place , I had tried to get into La Boheme but was told closing soon and they turned us away without first asking the chef so not impressed but glad they did as this place was perfect on a sunny afternoon

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Bangkok Bill 786,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're really pleased to hear that you had such a lovely visit. Molly and Chris are both wonderful & we are very lucky to have them. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the food (the stilton mushrooms is a very popular dish and the parmesan & garlic chips are just to die for).

We serve food all day (we don't close in the afternoon) so we're always more than happy to help out the "late lunchers" who may have missed somewhere else.

I hope that we will be seeing a lot more of you now that you've found us and a sunny afternoon here in The Jolly Thresher garden never goes amiss!

Kindest regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    64
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great night with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our second time here since the refit...
Great service, great food, and a fantastic choice of real ales ...
See you soon ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Paul W,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us regarding your visit. We're really happy to hear that you've enjoyed it (and the real ales - I'm a fan of the Lowry Dispute - great pint).

We really love seeing new faces becoming regular visitors and I hope that we will be seein more of you.

Kindest regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I have had a couple of reasonable meals here in the past year after walking locally. However, last Sunday's visit will certainly be our last. The greeting and seating was done pleasantly enough considering we had not booked but we soon found we were in the restaurant from hell. There was a constant banging from the swing door to and from the kitchen. It was so loud and intrusive my husband eventually got out of his seat to investigate and when we asked if the staff could manage to be a bit quieter we were told the door was 'broken' and there was nothing they could do. Even moving elsewhere in the room would not have improved the situation, so loud was this noise.

I ordered the seared tuna which turned out to be totally overcooked and had to be returned. The waitress came and apologised and said it would be re-prepared and we would not be charged for it. Whereas this is a nice gesture when a dish has to be rejected, there is little enjoyment for either diner eating a meal on their own.

When we settled the bill, I had to point out that my meal had been charged despite the waitress's promise.

All in all this was a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Pink T,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. I'm terribly sorry that the door into the kitchen being broken caused such a bad experience for you. We had placed a call regarding the door needing to be fixed but as it was Sunday no one was able to attend until the following day. We were unable to leave it propped open as it is a fire door (the safety of our staff and customers is always our paramount concern and we cannot compromise this) and it is the only access route into the kitchen from the dining area. We tried to muffle the sound but each of these attempts failed and we were sadly left with a door that had dropped slightly and was catching its frame. You will be pleased to hear that the door is now working correctly and opening & closing smoothly.

I'm sorry that the tuna was not as pink as it should have been & I understand that it was replaced straightaway. My apologies that both meals were not recooked for you as is our usual policy but it was felt that cooking a fresh tuna for you would have been faster for you than replacing both meals from fresh. My apologies is this resolution was unsatisfactory for you.

With regards to the bill, all dishes ordered are shown on the bill with any discount shown at the bottom of the receipt as a "comp" figure. These discounts can only be added by a Manager & if they are missed we are always more than happy to remedy it for you. If it was overlooked by whoever printed your bill I am very sorry.

We would always be more than happy to discuss any issues or feedback that you have from your visit while you are here with us as we would hate for anyone to leave us unhappy. In this way we feel that we can be more proactive for you. I'm really sorry that you did not enjoy your visit and don't expect to be returning especially as you say that you have been to visit us previously.

I hope that you will accept our kindest regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just dined at the Jolly Thresher and the service and food was of very good quality.
We had fish and chips which was well presented, fish was lovely and great hand cut chips. Food is a bit pricey but it's not your every day pub food. Service from the staff was brilliant. Place has patio doors looking out into the garden and this looks a must visit for the summer months.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for us on Trip Advisor. We know that so many people check sites such as these so we are always grateful when people take time out of their day to review us.

We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food. We believe in good food and although it may not be the cheapest we know that we are serving a good quality meal that we can be proud of. We have found that are prices are comparable to the others in the area too (we check these things). We use the same good quality ingredients in our children's meals too that we use on our main menu as we believe that the little ones should eat good food too and not cheap processed food.

Our patio doors open and allow us to have the al fresco feel indoors. The rear garden is a haven for the Summer & an absolute sun trap on those long hot days (so we have lots of umbrellas for shade too).

I hope that we'll be seeing you return to see us very soon.

Thanks again for leaving a review - kind regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chris just made our night! !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been here on several occasions for a meal and have never been disappointed; the food is by far the best quality and value I've had in a very long time and the venue itself is second to none. As if all of this isnt enough on my latest visit I had the honour of having Chris as our waiter at our meal and I have never had such friendly, fast and efficient service in any resteraunt. It was an absolute delight and we will all be coming to visit again soon. Thanks to all the lovely staff that made our evening so enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear ToniJayne1985,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We always like to hear when our customers have had such a nice time & especially that you're returning again and again.

We'll be sure to make sure that Chris reads your review & I'm sure that he'll be absolutely thrilled to know that he brightened your day.

Our staff try very hard to ensure that everyone is made to feel special and that we really do value your visits to us.

Our new menu has been very well received & we're happy to hear that you enjoy our food.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Jolly Thresher again very soon,

Kindest regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Thresher also viewed

 
Lymm, Cheshire
Lymm, Cheshire
 

Been to The Jolly Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jolly Thresher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.