We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gave it another go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Fleece

Golden Fleece
41, The Cross, Lymm WA13 0HR, England
01925 755 538
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 26 Restaurants in Lymm
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manchester
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“gave it another go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

went for meal again,month later to see if its improved.sadly its not.was first in with wife,to order 2 steaks.also peplercorn sauce.took 30 mins to get meal,and no peppercorn sauce.got offered tomato ketchup instead.mentioned peppercorn sauce,and she remembered.not once did they ask about meal or new drinks..biggest gripe was thin barmaid that also works in kitchen,shouted out what we had eaten and drank.when i paid.not good idea.doubt we go back...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Fleece, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JohnandJaki

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Golden Fleece with regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    7
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You won't be fleeced here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Only visited by chance, very lucky to do so. The many was quite varied and different from usual pub fare. We chose a "sharing platter" which comprised several tasty items including Korean chicken wings, ham croquettes, and churros with two dips. Quite adequate for lunch and far better than average. The decor was lovely, the staff were welcoming, helpful and efficient; moreover, the cost was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place, wonderful food, drink and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Never been before though lived in the area for 27+ years. Good atmosphere, excellent meal and wonderful service from all and especially from the 'troll' (see review below), who is in fact an extremely personable and delightful young lady who served us with a smile and a laugh and made sure our glasses were never empty! Have recommended to several people since.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely decor - food below average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Visited after recommendation by friend. The pub has been refurbished and the decor is lovely. The beer garden outside is also very pleasant overlooking the canal. However, the food is decidedly average. Steak was supposed to be medium but was so well done it was hard to cut. Staff were very nice and helpful on the whole. Some new staff who were learning, so a little slow but understandably so. Will go back for drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“New Golden Fleece but a poor experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The old Golden Fleece was without doubt the worst pub in Lymm. We were pleased to see the Fleece recently refurbished and decided to give it a try on the recently glorious sunny Bank Holiday Monday.

The weather had brought what seemed like the whole of Lymm out and the new Golden Fleece was packed. We had wanted to sit outside in the lovely beer garden but couldn't find a table. We found one inside near the huge Sky television, which seems at odds with the clean modern feel of the place and reminds me of the old Fleece.

When it came to place our food order we waited ten minutes at the busy bar. When it was quieter the staff ignored us until we asked them if we could place an order.

We ordered the Hunters Chicken and Fish and Chips. I expected it to be served in about 20 minutes but after 50 minutes it still hadn't arrived. When we asked a waitress what the delay was we were told it would be another ten minutes before the food arrived. The couple on the table next to us got their food after a similar wait. We overheard the gentleman voice his opinion that the food wasn't worth the wait.

We decided we weren't happy to wait any longer, and together with the other diners feeback asked for a refund forthe food, having pre-paid at the bar earlier. The waitress sent the manageress over who didn't question our decision. Unfortunately there was a problem with the card machine which lead us to be credited for the drinks, and then the whole bill taken again, together with a number of voided transactions. She did say if there was a problem to give them a call and they would sort it out.

We walked over the road to Elmas and had starters and drinks on our table in 5 minutes and main courses in 20 minutes. The food was delicious as ever.

I do hope they were suffering from teething problems as the new Fleece does have potential, particularly the stunning beer garden.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Fleece also viewed

 

Been to Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Fleece, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.