We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shambles” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jahan - Lymm

Jahan - Lymm
6 Pepper Street, Lymm WA13 0JB, England
01925 759 776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 26 Restaurants in Lymm
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“A shambles”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

If first impressions were relied on then I would not have eaten here! Before ordering food we selected a bottle of House Red. The waiter brought a totally different wine muttering something about they had changed it. We then ordered a Chilean white - he brought an Australian white! We then settled for a French white which wasn't even on the list! If a place can't be bothered to update it's wine list what chance do you have with the food? With proper management you sense this place could do well as the food is actually very good, albeit overpriced. Over £12 for a main with rice or chips extra. Time for a rethink and then the place might be full and higher up the TA list. It wouldn't take much imagination to get it right, but as mentioned if they can't be bothered with the wine list why would they care about anything else? A pity.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Give up with this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Simple review have been twice and never again
I understand why its always so empty, the food and service are awful, you'd expect the gents to be happy that someone has come in, but no its the opposite. how its still in business i don't know as no one ever goes in, must be a front is all i can think

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I hadn't read any reviews before I went to this place so it is an unbiased review. I have been dining in Indian restaurants for most of my life but this place has to be the worst. The food is terrible, you can do better if you go to the supermarket and buy a jar of sauce to put over the meat, and it is really expensive as well. I did complain to the waiter but he seemed to be more concerned that other customers did not hear me. Out of curiosity I looked through the kitchen window, and guess what? jars of supermarket curry on the shelf. Thats not fair when you are paying top dollar for them to make proper Asian food

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant in lymm status unfair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Have been for curry to Jahan many times over the last year as a couple and as a foursome a few times. The food is always top notch and the staff always come across friendly whenever I have been in there. It has always been empty when I have been in which takes a lot of atmosphere away. They need to get more patrons in somehow to get the atmosphere going, perhaps run some promotions or offers and put on some entertainment. The food is great so give it a chance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Been to better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Visited Jahan a few days ago as a group of four. I am a real curry lover and have visited curry houses throughout the world. This one was exceedingly average .
The place was pretty empty when we visited, and to be honest I can understand why.
We thought the service was fairly poor, particularly given the high (ish) price.
There is an indian takeaway in Lymm called Bhajis.....The food there is far far better !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jahan - Lymm also viewed

 

Been to Jahan - Lymm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jahan - Lymm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.