We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“groupon deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Lymm Hotel to your Saves list
The Lymm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Leigh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“groupon deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I got a groupon or it could have been wowcher, deal for a 2 night stay at lymm, turns out it would have been cheeper to book direct, room was £79 with £10 credit on the account for extras (used mine at the bar).
I stay in a lot of hotels with Work so its hard for a hotel to stand out and impress me, what I can say is that the bed was large and firm, to my wife's delight, the room and ensuit were clean but decor a little dated but thats what you expect of a hotel of this age, the breakfast buffet had ample choice to select from, over all we enjoyed our short stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very positive review. I don't know what deal you were on but it is true that there is a worthwhile offer that if you book using our Macdonald Hotels website directly then you get a £10 voucher off additional spend items such as food or drinks, which adds to the attraction at no cost to you.
The original part of the Lymm Hotel dates from the end of nineteeth century when it was the Plough Inn, next to the station serving Lymm on the Mancheste to Widnes railway and therefore entitled to have its own charm. I'm glad that your wife enjoyed her stay and that you would not hesitate to return.
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    88
    79
    30
    18
See reviews for
58
91
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Was whisked away with my partner and his daughter and her partner for Valentines weekend. The hotel itself was charming. The staff very obliging and helpful.
We ate here and really enjoyed our three course meal in the restaurant. Crisp linen and a lovely atmosphere. The bathroom a little dated, but very clean warm, and more that adequate for our needs. Had a restful nights sleep,bedrooms very clean. All in all feeling very spoilt and would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel.
It was great to read that your Valentines weekend was a real treat and that you found the hotel clean and charming. As you say our team here is one of our strongest points and its good to see that this came through clearly to you. I look forward to your next weekend away when you can have a further chance to see all that this area of Cheshire has got to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here on 15th feb 2014, a very professional yet friendly welcome as we checked in. Our room was clean and had all the basics, tv,hair dryer,iron,trouser press etc. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely and not over priced
Plus points: clean,friendly,reasonably priced,great food,location
Bad points: felt rushed at meal times as soon as one course finished the next one was there.

Would we stay here again ? Most definitely YES

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks you very much for your excellent review. It was great to hear that you found everything that you were expecting and more, and would have every intention to return.
We do get a lot of very good comments about the quality of our food. It is all responsibly sourced, very often traced down to the farm where the ingediaents came from, carefully prepared by our team of chefs and best of all... reasonalby priced.
Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a nice hotel with very nice staff, in the very nice village of Lymm, But i am afraid i would never stop at this hotel again, and i would not recommend it to anyone,
100% the worst shower i have ever had, I was booked in three nights, on the evening of arriving i had a shower, but the water pressure was very low, the following morning i had another shower and still the water pressure was very poor, i spoke to reception about the problem and a gentleman came and replaced the shower head... this has made no difference at all.
I am not a fan of baths and i would never have a bath in a hotel. So i will never use this hotel again.
If you like a refreshing shower do not stop at this hotel, Dreadful

Room Tip: Room number six at the Statham Lodge,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. Goes to show how much a detail such as the power of the water has undone what apart for that was a great stay. Your comments have been taken on board and the shower mechanism in that particular room has been replaced. When you are back in the area, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed for 1 weekend night in January : Our third visit. We like Lymm as a venue, simply because the village centre is mainly Georgian, and Victorian, and has an attractive selection of shops and businesses to look around as a change from the normal......Hotel is tucked away in a quiet peaceful location, within strolling distance of the village. Large free parking area. We were on a dinner, B & B deal, and were well looked after. Convenient for motorway access for North West (M6) and North Wales (M56) due to Motorway intersections within easy reach. A MacDonalds Hotel and we booked through their web-site.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in January. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms pleasant and comfortable. It's not a hugely modern hotel, but everything works as it should! Plenty of parking and easy to find.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

booked a meal for my husbands birthday and our children booked us a room as a suprise,
From entering the hotel we were made to feel very welcome, they had our room ready for us and we were made to feel very special. Our room, was clean and welcoming, the bed was huge and so comfortable, the food was lovely, the staff were extremely polite and helpful, our room was beautiful and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. would highly recommend, in fact looking to book our works xmas do there, just fab. thank you.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 111, it was above a large room downstairs where there was a do going on , the musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Address: Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel Provides ideal location for exploring the northwest, being only 20 minutes away from Manchester and Liverpool and only 5 minutes away from the main motorway network being M6 and M56. There are also two train stations within 10 minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lymm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.