We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Church Green

The Church Green
Higher Lane, Lymm WA13 0AP, England
0192575 2068
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 26 Restaurants in Lymm
Price range: $15 - $53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited as a small group. We had a voucher for the 5 course taster menu but decided to upgrade to the full taster menu. Staff were very obliging and were happy to offer an option for a course if a dish was not fancied. Very enjoyable night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiden b, Manager at The Church Green, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you it was a pleasure to look after you. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    99
    90
    77
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went mid week on a specials voucher bought as a present by our daughter.
Maybe the cheaper price means poorer quality (and quantity ). We were really disappointed both by the food itself and the amount you get. We had the 5 course tasting menu,which consisted of small quantities (served beautifully on large plates!). As it was a gift we didn't complain, but i would have been very annoyed had we payed the full £60. A real rip off!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

From the moment we walked into the restaurant we were really impressed with the service from all members of staff.
The place itself is warm and welcoming and for an establishment that serves such "high class" food it did not have the slightest air of pretentiousness at all.

Now to the important bit. The food. Every course was modem art on a plate with tastes that exploded on the tongue. Of the 8 courses only 1 fell short of our expectations. For a set tasting menus that is really exceptional.

Finally we just have to mention a staff member called Adrian. He went out of his way to help with the selection of wines and overall friendless that made our visit memorable. So much so that we stayed over in the bar after to sample the different brands gins he recommended we try.

10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Third visit and sadly probably the last. The food was ok but not as good as we have previously eaten. Size of the portions varied greatly between dishes. The service was disappointing - the waiter was pleasant and friendly but not very efficient. The waitress who took our orders etc certainly did not provide anything like the type of service I would expect in this sort or restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Overall ... disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Perhaps you need to go with lower expectations; but because Aidan Byrne was the youngest chef to win a Michelin Star you go in hope. I left disappointed.

The restaurant is a converted pub in Lymm and as others have said it is more Chef and Brewer than fine dining. At these prices you should expect that the building, staff, ambience, food and drink all deliver an excellent experience. (Hope this doesn't sound too snooty, but if they charge fine dining prices then that is the yardstick to judge them by ... and they aren't even close).

We were lucky to go with an offer from Living Social which was for a 4-course tasting-menu. We were immediately offered an upgrade to a 7-course menu which we went went for, along with the dearer of their accompanying wine selections. The food was ok without anything offering any wow factor at all ... and if you're adding 3 courses then why was one of them soup when there was another soup included ... so we had 2 x soups. Bizarre menu building really.
The 7 courses would cost £75

At £45 for 4 accompanying wines I expected quite a lot. Servings were meagre, and wines were only ok ... again nothing exceptional. Do not go for the accompanying wines. VERY POOR VALUE ... some might sat they felt ripped off.

We won't go again.

My advice. Save your money and book in with Simon Rogan at Midland French or L'Enclume for a far better, more memorable experience

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Green also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Church Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Church Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.