We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Harp Inn

The New Harp Inn
Hoarwithy Hereford, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QH, England
+44 1432 840900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hoarwithy
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: British, Grill, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Herefordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The owners put on a free-entry New Year's Eve "James Bond" themed party including disco and fireworks which was great fun and it was so nice to see plenty of other people had also dressed up for the occasion. To complete our evening four of us also pre-booked for the 'a la carte' special NYE menu at £27.50 per head ... SOoo glad we did ... every dish was amazing and cooked to perfection ... here's what was on offer:

Starter -
• Poached Plaice fillet with Prawn Mousse and a lemon sherbet sauce Or
• Stilton Port & Walnut Pate, Port Poached Pear, Toast & Candied Walnuts Or
•Smoked Chicken with Mango Salsa Celeriac Slaw, & Redcurrant & Orange dressing

Main Course -
• Celebration of Pork "Mangelitsa Pork Overnight Roasted with Ginger Cider & Sautéed in Butter, presented with Homemade Wild Boar & Black Pudding Sausage, Savoyard Potatoes, Cider Sauce & Crackling. Or
• Ribeye Steak Glazed with Blue Cheese, on a Potato & Red Onion Rosti with Broccoli Polonaise, & Mushroom Cream Sauce Or
• Homemade Gnocchi with Roast Vegetables in a rich Italian Tomato Sauce with Parmesan Tuiles, Cherry Infused Balsamic reduction Or
• Cod pan fried in butter with a Fennel Ratatouille, Rissole Potatoes & Tomato Coulis

Dessert -
• Chocoholics Anonymous Chocolate dessert: Chef's Signature dessert of 5 homemade Miniature Chocolate desserts (contains alcohol) Or
• Sticky Toffee Pudding with Toffee Sauce, Butterscotch Ice cream Or
• Blueberry & Elderflower Jelly with Salted Caramel & Hazelnut Shortbread

If you missed out on this amazing meal this year, we really recommend you don't miss the next one! Our thanks to Belinda and Adrian for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newharpinn, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
A great time was had by all on NYE, thank you for joing us and we hope to see you next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    39
    19
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoarwithy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Christmas meal and great value too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

At a price comparable to other restaurants' Christmas menu, we and the members of our badminton club enjoyed a fabulous 3-course Christmas dinner. A good choice of 4 options for each course; so hard to choose! The traditional Christmas fare was superb, the turkey delicious and beautifully presented, for example. I had the fish as Adrian's fish is always so good. It was an absolute delight. The sherry trifle was the best I've ever tasted, with generous quantities of fresh fruit and real sherry.

We're also going there for my husband's works Christmas 'do'. I'm so looking forward to it.

If you haven't booked your Christmas outing yet, consider the Harp, it lives up to its website, it's all the things I'd want an English pub to be. So glad it's my local ;-))

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newharpinn, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thankyou for your kind words, the team will be pleased
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb food at perfect canoeing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I recently had a meal here with four companions after a day of canoeing on the river Wye.

The pub is within two minutes walk of the Tresseck Farm camp site with its direct access onto the river, and we arrived tired and hungry after a day spent paddling down from Hereford. The beer was good, the food superb, the service prompt and cheerful.

What more could you ask?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newharpinn, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review us, and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Staff eve out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great night out / great food with attention to detail and the service was very good
We will vist again soon

Strongly suggest that you make a visit and see what you have been missing

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newharpinn, Owner at The New Harp Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to review us, your comments are appreciated, it is always nice to have somebody say something nice and appreciate our efforfts
Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch at The new harp inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The menu was attractive but-----
I ordered the Working Lunch, a steak sandwich. The accessories were good, but the steak was inedible with grisstle etc. I complained and was referred to the manager. No luck there. She explained that she couldnt do anything because everybody else had eaten theirs. Hardly helpful when I was the only person there. A message to all. Complain if you are not happy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Harp Inn also viewed

Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
Kilpeck, Herefordshire
 

Been to The New Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Harp Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.