We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner and helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
100 St. John's Road, Swalecliffe CT5 2RN, England
01227 792428
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly owner and helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went here for dinner, and it was very friendly, the owner helpful and the food great! We had a chilli and it was very hot, so the chap kindly got me some sour cream to cool it!!! :)

Really nice atmosphere, clean and friendly. We will be going back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
thorney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value. Great food! Great atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited the Plough Inn on Saturday. The place was fairly busy which is always a good sign. Lovely welcome on entering and soon shown into the restaurant area. The waitresses were working hard, but remained cheerful. Food food arrived hot and well cooked and extremely tasty. Fantastic value. We will visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited The Plough with my work colleagues after completing the Race For Life in Herne Bay. My friends wanted to take their dogs on the walk with them, so they were all very happy that this pub allowed dogs into the bar. The bar staff were attentive and friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere. Some of my friends had food but I didn't, so I can't comment on it although they all said it was great.

Glad we found this place and I shall definitely be visiting it more often!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

One of the nicest pub that you can get it!!! The food its amazing, you can enjoy the best home made food in Kent, and the prices are affordable. You can enjoy Karaoke Night, Quiz or just one cold beer. Friendly place with nice people, you won`t regret it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sharon J could not be more wrong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Words can not describe how much i disagree with the most recent review of The Plough Inn. I have been visiting the Plough Inn for over ten years, be it with my family, my friends or my partner and have never been disappointed with the food or level of service received. The Plough Inn is a friendly, welcoming pub with hard-working, polite staff that manage to create a great atmosphere! The food is always delicious and there is a wide variety of dishes to choose from. As for expensive? I would hardly call £5.95 for good quality, home-cooked food expensive! The Plough inn aims to please, they always have some sort of offer going on be it on their drinks or their food! They offer home-cooked carvery on a sunday and during the week lunch club in the restaurant offers one course from as little as £4.25! If pre-packed, processed, cook-from-frozen food is what you consider as 'great' then by all means head down to the Hungry Horse as the previous reviewer states! If your taste is somewhat more refined then do not hesitate to visit this hidden gem in Swalecliffe, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 
Whitstable, Kent
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.