We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sounds Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sounds Retreat to your Saves list
The Sounds Retreat
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   215 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Words are not strong enough to describe and comment the amazing experience we had.
All was more than perfect, the place is so calm, quiet and beautiful, you can just stay for hours sitting on the deck or relaxing in the spa, starring endlessly at the sounds. The room is a delight, all has been thought for your comfort, all is tastefully arranged and decorated.
Above all, there was the warm welcome from our guests, their prompt attention to our well-being.
They cook and serve fabulous food, promoting all the great products (salmon, blue cod, scallops, lamb, veal...) and the best wines of the Marlborough region. You can't believe that you have a Michelin-star restaurant just for you, in your private dinner room, with an incredible seaview.
And at night you have the beautiful starry sky of the southern hemisphere.
To summarize, just the paradise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. That sunrise was something else and we're so glad you managed to take some great photos. Autumn and Winter produce the most spectacular sunrises imaginable! Hope you enjoyed your private wine tasting and that you'll be back to sample more soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The best retreat ever. We only had one night and the care and attention that was shown to us and the absolute detail of the everything meant that after 24 hours we felt pampered and refreshed. The magic of the views is well and truly matched by the presentation of the suite and of the meals. I loved eveything about our time and think that Anne and Tony are great hosts that just add the icing to the cake

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and your excellent company. We had a lot of fun chatting with you both over wine and look forward to doing it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

How UNIQUE a stay can be??!! Magnificent views over the bay, perfectly located in this extraordinary area. The best hosts imaginable (always present when needed, but never too present either, just perfect!) Not only a nicely large, very neat and fully 'dressed' suite, but also the best bathroom ever, a very 'welcome' laundry room and lots of space all around. Very good food, prepared by a communicative chef (Tony) and served to perfection by his lovely wife Anne. On top of all this you have access their (very large) professional fitness room. And you also get a car at your disposal for the whole duration of your stay; not just a car, but a very fancy Mini convertible, making it an even greater pleasure to tour around this lovely Marlborough area. And before touring, Anne & Tony provide you with the best detailed travel itineraries, making all the bookings you want in advance, so no worries, no searching,... Just sit back and relax, apparently their aim for their guests, both in and outside of their wonderful property. Having traveled a lot already, my husband and I have already been to quite some luxurious, top of the bill places, and we have to admit that the Sounds Retreat is now very high on our list after having stayed there a couple of weeks ago. At a certain moment I thought: 'there has to be something that is missing or not all that perfect', but I could not come up with one single detail, and for me, that means it all. Undoubtedly highly recommendable, especially if you like to stay at the best places possible, not having to worry about whatsoever...!! And really unique in its concept! Worth more than a detour, and next time we are in the (even far) neighborhood, we will definitely go back to the Sounds Retreat, for us being the PERFECT RETREAT! Martine & Yves De Somere / Ghent (Belgium).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We're so thrilled that you found our lodge UNIQUE and the PERFECT RETREAT! Anne and I were delighted to pamper you and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. The Mini awaits you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I are experienced 5star travellers and we well know about the slightest differences in top notch hospitality. So just for fun we developped a scoring system many years ago to remember the nicest places we've been to. With the maximum of 100 everything above 90 is just incredible - here in The Sounds Retreat we have the rare and perfect 100 ! Why ?
First of all, Tony and Anne are the perfect hosts to pamper you with all the amenities you could think of, they really go every extramile just to see you smile, of course the food is delicious, having your private dinner with a view is extraordinary.
Secondly, the view is stunning - I mean STUNNING !, imagine sitting in the best whirlpool I ever saw under the stars overlooking the whole sound - Tony and Anne were lucky enough to find such a masterpiece of land on a hill at the very end of the Marlborough Sounds, so what a location !
Then the lodge itself is just amazing, it is spacious and modern, and you are the only guests enjoying your privacy - that's really exclusive.
It's just the perfect 100. We couldn't recommend higher.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many thanks for such a wonderful compliment. Anne and I thoroughly enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back to our "stunning" view soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Sounds Retreat is over & above any other luxury accommodation we stayed at during our New Zealand vacation. The location is drop-dead gorgeous with a vista of the bay & countryside. The level of care for every detail was exceptional from the lovely & comfortable room, the wonderfully appointed bathroom, the fabulous outdoor spa tub, and the great gym. Every breakfast & dinner we were treated to the excellent culinary skills of host Tony Brooker and the charm of his lovely wife Anne. Additionally we were provided site seeing assistance for the Marlborough area including use of a Mini car convertible. We are already planning for our return visit in 2014 because it was such an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: There's only one room at this exclusive retreat and it's the very best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSoundsRetreat, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It was our pleasure to host you both and we're so glad you enjoyed the retreat but really happy that you enjoyed Marlborough and it's untouched beauty. We're looking forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

What a warm welcome by the owners Anne and Tony! Grateful that we found this awesome place where we spent a great time with our kids - enjoying the cordial hospitality, excellent food and wine (Tony is an incredible cook & sommelier), the amazing view, the jacuzzi and terrace. Unbelievable beauty! Situated close to the start of the Queen Charlotte Trail, not far from the wine region of Marlborough and surrounded by a peaceful, untouched nature. With the help of Anne we found much more to do than we expected: we had a nice, little challenging bike ride on the trail (the bikes are provided for free), some very nice recommendations for lunch, a session in the house-own gym and a relaxing massage on the terrace. We loved it. Auf Wiedersehen, Anne & Tony!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony B, Owner at The Sounds Retreat, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review! We're so pleased you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. And thanks for being our first TripAdvisor reviewer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
0.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
16.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#14 of 29 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
4.4 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#1 of 1 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sounds Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sounds Retreat

Address: 215 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sounds Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the stunning Marlborough Sounds on New Zealand's South Island, The Sounds Retreat is a spectacular paradise showcasing nature and luxury living at its finest. With a focus on unparalleled service and exquisite creature comforts, this award-winning private lodge is an ideal way to vacation in a most marvellous destination. Located just 5 minutes from the famous 70km long Queen Charlotte Track. Spend plenty of time outdoors discovering the incredible Marlborough Sounds terrain, hiking or biking the Queen Charlotte Track, kayaking around placid waters, private fishing trip or venturing on a local wine tasting excursion. Whether you are looking to relax and opt for an art gallery crawl and trip to the spa, or you are seeking adrenaline-filled adventure and choose quad biking, zip lining, horseback riding, or eco tours - this destination has something for every interest and pursuit. With just a single bedroom suite, your time here is a private escape, and every amenity and facility is yours to enjoy in blissful exclusivity. The open-plan suite has private access or can be entered through the main property, and features picture windows and glass doors leading to spacious decks with private hot tub. All the thoughtful touches you could imagine are present and accounted for, including turndown service, heated bathroom flooring, heated cabana with stocked bar fridge, espresso maker, plasma television, iPod dock with iPod, and complimentary wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Sounds Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sounds Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.