We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tirimoana House to your Saves list
Tirimoana House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   257 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 4 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Honeymoon to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

John and Michelle are wonderful Hosts at Tirimoana House.
They gave us more than we expected and the place was just beautiful.
Breakfasts on the deck over looking the bay, Drinks and nibbles before dinner was a nice touch also.
Michelle's meals were very tasty and they were just such friendly hosts.
We look forward to heading back there some day.

Thank you so much

Tania and Neil Richardson

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
62
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Tirimoana House is a wonderful, welcoming place to relax - overlooking the magnificent Marlborough Sounds.
John and Michelle are most hospitable; attentive to your needs and ensure they do everything possible to make your stay wonderful, they are genuinely lovely people.
Michelle is a fantastic cook, meals are taken at an elegant table inside, or outside under grapevines and lanterns – the hosts eat with their guests to ensure the conversation (and wine) flows – it is most convivial.
During our stay we went sea kayaking, took the mail-boat from Picton for sightseeing, and of course a little wine-tasting.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and with views to remember for the rest of our lives – the sunrise was one of the best we have ever seen.
We would recommend this accommodation without hesitation

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We had a lovely time at Tirimoana House. Michelle is a fantastic cook and so very kind and welcoming. John is a mine of information and one of those people who is interested in everyone and everything. It seems nothing is too much for them. The house is charming, has a million dollar view and we felt so very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Though the weather wasn't perfect during our brief stay at Tirimoana House, the hospitality we received certainly was. John and Michelle were delightful hosts - welcoming, interesting - and interested in everything. Michelle is a wonderful cook, John a warm and friendly host at the dinner table, and the house is a fascinating eclectic mix of treasures from their travels and their quirky artworks. The house is in a great location too. The views across the Sounds from every window and from the many balconies were stunning - lots of birds that would be real rarities in Britain (black swans and spoonbills among them) were just everywhere! Another highlight of our visit was a float plane ride from nearby Picton - a treat not to be missed (likewise, the delicious breakfast on the verandah with fresh flowers on the table). All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Michelle and John are the most wonderful hosts! Their home is spectacular and they welcomed us like we were part of their family. We were on our honeymoon and enjoyed fabulous food, breathtaking views, cozy evenings, and warm hospitality as only Michelle and John know how to do! Their dog, Shug, was delightful as well! We look forward to returning to New Zealand in the future and staying at Tirimoana House. It was truly a dream honeymoon!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Great position for touring the area, and the Queen Charlotte Walk (and Drive). Very clean with great food and wonderful friendly hosts who do everything they can to make your stay one to remember. The views from the bedrooms are spectacular, and breakfast is something to look forward to every morning - especially when the Tui bird is singing in the tree by the veranda.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

John and Michelle couldn't be make us feel more welcomed and comfortable, going above and beyond what is expected to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They made us feel like we were visiting friends rather than guests!
The rooms are luxuriously furnished with breathtaking views. I could stay all day sitting on the veranda with a book and a glass of wine, soaking in the surroundings.
Oh and the food... mom said it was the best we had in NZ. And mind you, among the contenders were some highly recommended Michelin restaurants. You must must must have dinner there to sample Michelle's extraordinary talent for cooking. Oh, and of course, John's (the professionally certified barrister's) coffee with an oomph. ;)
But hurry, you gotta catch them before they go on their Australian Adventure very soon. We're thankful we did, the stay at Tirimoana house completed our NZ holiday :)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
0.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
8.2 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#2 of 4 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#1 of 4 in Anakiwa
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirimoana House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.