We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting and great hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tirimoana House to your Saves list
Tirimoana House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   257 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Dinner served 7 Nights
Ranked #3 of 4 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nanyuki, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A beautiful setting and great hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was our second visit to Tirimoana House our first visit was when we had walked the Queen Charlotte Track which ends about 1/2 mile away. In the 2 years since our first trip the owners had made some extensive renovations to the rooms (they all have ensuite now) and garden. We had rooms next to each other which although not huge were bright and airy and beautifully furnished with everything we needed and had access to a terrace with amazing views of the sounds. Rather than take the windy drive to Picton or Havelock we opted to spend our two evenings eating in with the owners and other guests from around the world. John and Michelle somehow managed to cook, serve wine, clear away and keep the conversation lively as we sat together on a long table under the stars enjoying good food, wine and company. Great memories of a fantastic trip to NZ.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe, Nevada, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We have stayed at a number of great B&Bs during our 5 weeks on New Zealand's south island. The Tirimoana House is tops. The setting is perfect watching the boats on the sound from your balcony. The location requires no driving to access the Queen Charlotte Track where you can walk for a day hike or get a boat taxi to somewhere along the track and walk back to your room. If you want to bike or kayak, they have first class equipment at reasonable prices. When you return to the house exhausted from your activities you can relax in the spa (with a great view) or pool with a glass of wine and prepare for a fantastic meal prepared by Michelle. The house and the location are only part of the prize. John and Michelle are both gifted artists, and the house is their personal gallery for your enjoyment. Take the time to look around. Michelle is a trained chef and John is a trained barista, so you will experience quality in everything you eat and drink. There aren't enough stars to properly rate this wonderful place!

  • Liked — location, views and hosts
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

My partner and I stayed here for five nights. His first time to NZ and my first time coming home to NZ from london in 5 years. We had the most amazing time at Tirimoana House and could not fault Michelle and John's hospitality.
Our room was beautiful and we had amazing views out to the Bay and we loved having the hot tub outside on the cold evenings. The dinners around the table with John, Michelle and the other guests was also very enjoyable and Michelle's cooking is superb.
The fact that there are kayaks and mountain bikes available makes being outdoors fun and enables you to make the most of what the Sounds have to offer.
Its a fantastic place to come and stay and with the views of the bay, the tranquility of the Sounds and John's stories - its very lovely and special place. We will defintely be coming back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of central heating - but thats NZ
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire, england
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights and greatly enjoyed our dinners with hosts and guests as we were travelling a deux and needed some different company. We took the water taxi so that we could walk the two ends of the Queen Charlotte Track; I would recommend Ship Cove in particular. The Pelorus suite was cosy and comfortable with great views and we loved the hot tub at the top of the garden. Michelle and John were very kind and helpful, their artwork is all around the house.

  • Liked — the views, comfort, friendship
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We visited here at the end of a 2 week trip round the south island as we wanted some luxury and relaxation. The location is great right by the water with fantastic views. We stayed in the Pelorus room which had a great antique bed and you could step out onto a decked area with views to the water. There is seating to enable you to sit and have a glass of sauvignon whilst marvelling at the view. The rest of the house is quite eccentric with artwork covering every inch of the walls of the lounge. Dinner is taken with the hosts and the other guests. We had great fun chatting to everyone and the food is very good. You can have your own wine which we did although you do get a sundowner included! Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

We booked this B&B as the one weekend we had in a month long trip where we'd be alone (i.e. not with family) and were hugely looking forward to it. The B&B is next to the water but there is a road inbetween the road and the accomodation which is a shame. It feels as if there is an enormous potential here but that it hasn't quite been fullfilled. The outside areas are a bit tatty which is a shame as they could be made beautiful. We had a lovely dinner and all sat around a big table with the other guests which I thought was great, really fun to hear about their trips and to chat. Michelle and John were lovely and there is a very cute dog too. You can fly in by float plane (we did, it was spectacular) but fairly pricey! All the food was yummy and home made, it felt like you were at home having lovely home cooked dinners. I don't think we would go back though, as we were looking for all out luxury and seclusion, which isn't what we found.

  • Liked — The transfer in the float plane
  • Disliked — We felt let down by the quality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

I chose this place because of the location. I wanted to stay in a nice quite place with a view of the Marlborough Sounds and as close as possible to the Charlotte track, even if we were not planning to do the whole track.

We stayed at the Queen Charlotte room, which is quite big and beautiful styled! The big veranda with the view of the Marlborough sounds is really amazing and having a cappuccino or wine admiring the view after our arrival was just perfect.

The hosts are very friendly and helpful in giving you good advices of what to do. They arrange for us a trip with an inflatable boat to a bay and we walked back the last 4 hours of the Charlotte track back to the B&B. Michelle arranged also lunch packages for our walk as there are no places to eat on the track.
During our stay, I got sick with a cold and the hosts even provided me with medicine.

In short:
The positives points are:

* Lovely rooms
* Tasteful food, good fresh breakfast. Excellent coffee!
* Jacuzzi outside for the guests
* close distance to charlotte track. [you can also do about 4 hours of the track if you want]
* beautiful views, sunsets and the nights with full moon is just amazing
* Nice hosts! Especially John who has interesting stories to tell
* Nice dinner in the veranda
* meet new people - other guests - to change trip experiences!

The only less positives points are:
*Not cheap [but good service and very nice accommodation]
* There is no restaurants close by. You have to eat at the B&B or drive to Picton (+/- 25km) for example.
* The food is good at the B&B - but they prepare a menu for the evening, e.g. Marrocco Chicken. If you are a vegetarian then you don't have options, unless, of course, you tell it beforehand. So if you stay here, consider already that you are going to stay for dinner and let the hosts knows if you have special dietary or other wishes.
We stayed 2 nights there. 1 night we eaten at the B&B, and the other night we drove to Picton. There is no problem in having dinner at Picton, at least, if you don't mind driving the very curving road [with beautiful views!]. You just need to pay extra attention if you’re driving in the dark.

For the rest, I really recommend to stay as close as possible to the Charlotte Track if that is what you want to do! And Tirimoana House is probably as close as you can get! Unless you want to stay in the Badpacker accommodation.

  • Liked — the location, the view, the room
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirimoana House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.