We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bye and Thank you.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tirimoana House to your Saves list
Tirimoana House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   257 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Dinner served 7 Nights
Ranked #3 of 4 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Bye and Thank you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

After 6 amazing years in the Marlborough Sounds at Tirimoana House John and Michelle have answered the call of family and returned to Auckland.
We wanted to say thank you to all the guests who stayed at Tirimoana House and made us part of their holiday. We really enjoyed all the stories and looking after everyone. In May 2012 we will open a bed and breakfast on the north shore of Auckland. The web site will be live January 2012. www.charcoalbay.com
We wish the new owners Bev and Dave all the best and hope they enjoy Tirimoana as much as we did
Many Thanks Michelle and John Hotham

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Michelle and John really make you feel at home and totally cared for...and Michelle is an awesome cook. I cannot fault this place save to say fingers crossed you get on with the other guests as you take all meals together.
We were lucky and had lovely people staying when we did, and John does a marvellous job greasing the wheels of conversation. He joins for dinner and showed up on Easter morning dressed as a leprechaun for the Irish guest! They gave us all cream eggs too.
Shug, the dog is a bonkers poodle who barks without bite.
The rooms are gorgeous, with amazing views over the bay. We had the Pelorus room which is all white and opulent and lovely, although bathroom is very dinky. Not a problem at all, but maybe go for a different room if you're fat!
If you're going to this area stay here, before it's sold. John and Michelle are the best.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

Perfect location with views from your private balcony of the sunrise that will encourage you to be an early riser. Scrumptious choice for breakfast and the chance to sample Michelle's excellent cooking in the evening too. A very comfortable place to relax, read and admire all the art work and even if it turns cold and wet there's always the log fire to cheer you. An interesting house and very interesting hosts too with always something stimulating to discuss.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Tirimoana house is a great place to relax and enjoy a most magical of surroundings. Being a 4-star B and B we also had the opportunity to meet and got to know other travellers and first time visitors to New Zealand, which was a treat for us being Kiwis. Our hosts John and Michelle are fantastic! Nothing was ever too much trouble, and the gourmet dinners and breakfasts that Michelle prepared are sumptuous! Our room (The Sunrise Room) was clean, spacious and with expansive views of the sound. Every detail had been thought of, right down to providing each room with a pair of binoculars so you could enjoy the ever changing mood of the sound, and also enjoy the wildlife such as Royal Spoonbills feeding on the sands. We highly recommend that any traveler wanting to spend time in the beautiful Queen Charlotte Sound definitely check out Tirimoana house as a place to stay. (Joy & Nick Pearce, Hamilton, NZ)

Room Tip: Ask for their package deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Out of all of the accommodations that we stayed at during our 2 week trip, this was our favorite. We stayed in the Queen Charlotte suite which was very large with an attached den with sofa, bathroom and large balcony with a gorgeous view of the Sounds. Michelle was kind enough to make us a special dinner on the chefs night off and delivered it to our room. We were tired from traveling from Wellington and really did not feel like driving the very windy 25 minute drive to Picton for dinner so we really appreciated the wonderful meal and enjoyed it on our balcony. John and Michelle were ideal hosts, they made us feel very welcome and were very helpful with planning activities. We went on a green mussel cruise out of Havelock which was a lot of fun and also did a short hike on the Queen Charlotte track. The best part of our stay was enjoying the company of the other guests at dinner with John and Michelle. It was interesting to meet people from other countries and hear about their travel experiences. I highly recommend Tirimoana House!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

After 4 days walking in spectacular Queen Charlotte Sound we were looking forward to a day's rest in comfort. Tirimoana House provided this and more. We had a beautiful room with great views across the Sound. The meals were excellent - tasty, satisfying and well presented without being pretentious. The opportunity to meet other guests over pre-dinner nibbles and then eat together made meals a great social experience. The highlight though was the warmth, care and attention of the hosts John and Michelle. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always available to provide advice and assistance. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We took a 3 night package break at Tirimoana House in late Feb. Our room (suite) was absolutely wonderful; clean, elegant, comfortable, spacious, beautifully furnished and equipped. The room had the most incredible view - it opened out onto a big balcony with a table and chairs which looked directly down the Sound. The hotel is at the end of the lovely Queen Charlotte track, near the end of the Sound. I can't say enough to thank the owners, John and Michelle; they were delightful and so helpful. All the guests are given a pre-dinner drink then all eat together on the outdoor terrace (under the grape vine). The food was wonderful, cooked by Michelle. Breakfast was similarly excellent.. We chose to spend our days walking the track, kayaking (John lent us his kayak) or cycling (their bikes). John picked us up from Picton, took us in his boat to a Bay, dropped us back in Picton. Michelle made us packed lunches, treated us like old friends. There is a nice garden, a pool and a hot tub - really, this is a wonderful place to stay. It's very, very quiet and peaceful; if that's what you want, this is perfect. We were lucky and had fabulous weather. Realistically you need a car to get here or explore the area further. We were on a 7 week trip and Tirimoana House was the best experence we had. We absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirimoana House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.