We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with less memorable experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Century Pines Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Century Pines Resort to your Saves list
Century Pines Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hotel with less memorable experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room on March 2013. Location wise, its a 5-10 mins walking distance to Tanah Rata town. There were ample of car parking bays.

The waiting time during checking-in should be improved. When we checked-in, the bed spread was dirty and did not look fresh and we requested it to be changed. The housekeeping staff changed it an hour later.

Room was generally clean and had a forest looking view.

The morning breakfast was average and consist mainly of asian cuisines.
Will not be our primary choice during out next visit to Cameron Highlands.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    151
    175
    61
    42
See reviews for
144
186
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Suitable for family with young kids who loves the nature and its cold during Dec. We visited twice.
The pasar malam only happens during school holidays and certain days only.
We loved Century Pines Resort for its serenity. Our first visit was just us, while the second holidays was with my family.
The weather was between 8• to about 20• during night while daytime hits a max of 25• if you travel during December.
Theres some tasty food around.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times. An updates, when we were in the restaurant/cafe, there were certificate of JAKIM & Pahang halal authorities.

Though it is just a certificate, it carries a lot of relief. Halal by words from the staffs is ok, but if the cafe is certified, no more worries.

Its near to a mosque, for Jumaat and jemaah prayer for those who wish to.

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The only positive about this place is the location. It is near to Mary Brown, Starbucks n shopping area. Restaurant staff expect you to get your own seat and eat burnt omelete. The room is dated and the toilet leaks. Be warn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

To call this a resort is very misleading, it has a magnificent foyer which belies the terrible rooms, very poor cafe and the advertised "English Pub" that no longer exists. The general attitude of the staff was appalling as they went from guest problem to guest problem throughout our shortened stay. The few guests that were staying ALL seemed to have issues with the hotel. The rooms were of very poor quality, old and in need of serious maintenance and updating.

This was a very disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Avoid block B and C
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Manager at Century Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Century Pines Resort . In regards to your complaints , we are indeed taking it seriously and will be doing the upgrading and touch up phase to phase . We have already completed all the garden rooms and even put up flat screen TV .
Please specify which internet search engine that advertise that we have ENGLISH PUB .As far as we are concerned , we have never put up such facility before .
As for the staffs attitude issue , we will be seriously looking into this and take action with immediate effect . May I know which category of room were you staying ?I need to know it specifically to check thorough on the condition of the room .
Thank again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Century Pines resort at the end of February and were surprised how poor the service was an how aged the rooms looked.
When we arrived we were surprised to find a bathroom with no shower curtain, a TV was SO old and had a broken plug so didn't work (Didn't want to watch it anyway, but besides the point) and a hair dryer that was a fire hazard!
The hotel looks like it would have been lovely about 25-30 years ago and hasn't really been touched since. The hotel lobby i thought was particularly beautiful but just didn't encompass the rooms.

The one redeeming factor of Century Pines is Breakfast - There is a good selection and food was good quality and the local dishes were really quite tasty!

Service was pretty slow and unattentive - Nobody really appeared to care if you had a problem and when we left, we said goodbye and got nothing in response - The girl at reception with crazy contact lenses didn't even lookup!! We shouted goodbye again and got nothing still... we laughed and left.

We had a good time in the highlands but couldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele L, Manager at Century Pines Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for the complaints and choosing to stay with us .
Regarding the hot water issue , most of the highlands hotels and city hotels are different situation .
We did not do the centralise hot water system is due to getting the mechanics up at the highlands is rather inconvenient , if there is anything out of order , it may takes weeks or days to repair which we are trying to avoid this to happen , therefore we prefer to fix individual system which requires guest to switch on the hot water manually( there is sign indication ).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Despite being a decent hotel the place is just tired and in need of a fresh lick of paint amongst other things. The beds were clean and the rooms had ok facilities it just wasnt what I'd normally go for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Century Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Pines Resort

Address: | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Pines Resort is located at the Heart of Tanah Rata . The biggest children playground in Cameron Highlands is just opposite the hotel . 3 minutes walk to bus station , to F & B outlets ,hair salon, shops , 24 clinic and etc. 5 min drive to Golf Course , 8 min drive to Bringchang , Night Market , Strawberry farm , Rose Garden , 15 min drive to Boh Plantation .The hotel has 153 room , with 99 Deluxe room , 11 Deluxe with Garden , 11 Superior with garden , 10 Duplex Suites , 1 Pahang Suuite , 1 Perak suite and 20 Superior rooms.The hotel guest is entitled for a 10% discount at the Thera Spa and 10% discount to shop at the souvenir shop .All rooms have balcony and the Suites have both kitchenette and balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Century Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Pines Hotel Cameron Highlands
Century Pines Cameron Highlands
Century Pines Resort Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.