We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in the Cameron Highlands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Highlands Resort

Save Saved
You added Cameron Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cameron Highlands Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Tanah Rata
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weekend in the Cameron Highlands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

In March we stayed at the Cameron Highlands Resort. The staff were charming, helpful and eager to please. Public rooms lovely, bedroom, large, airy with a very comfortable bed.
Dinner and breakfast were adequate if a bit pricey ( dinner)The hotel chain must address the following issues however: Road noise from the busy road no more than 15 yards from the hotel frontage is relentless. The hotel chain MUST address the issue of noise and invest in double/triple glazing. There is no pool and, even worse, no lounging area in the grounds. If you want to relax or sunbathe you must sit on the small balcony breathing in car exhaust fumes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard J, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear scotabroad_13,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us, your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you have experienced and it is with feedback like yours that we continuously strive to improve our product.

Regards.

Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    234
    91
    22
    16
See reviews for
156
339
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We (groups of 4 ladies) booked for the hotel via their direct website for 2 deluxe and was pleasantly surprised to receive a call from the front service manager, Allan that we've been upgraded to a suite FOC. I supposed they're trying to maximize occupancy rate and hence the upgrade.

We have read about the hotel online and have chosen these over others based on the reviews. We weren't disappointed. My peers were thankful for the consistent wi-fi all around the hotel and the great views we had, with us looking out at the golf course from the balcony. There were 2 bedrooms (1 king bed, 2 twins bed), 3 washrooms as well as a living area. There were total 3 balconies in total (and we didn't had any problem with noise at all during our stay). The rooms were tastefully designed with a vintage fan in our room while the reading room (next to the dining room) were equally tasteful in its design; equipped with a fireplace and comfortable sofas. There's books on the bookshelf available but for avid reader I'd recommend bring your own readings as choice is limited.

The hotel is in between 2 towns, Tanah Rata and Brinchang. We walked to Brinchang town with a 15mins walk and from there to the famous Brinchang Nightmarket. In Brinchang you can find grocery shops and there's also many steamboat restaurants in the area using organic vegetables.For those who do not want to walk, share a cab! It's only RM8 per cab from hotel to Brinchang. You can't walk from the hotel to Tanah Rata, but a RM10 cab will do the trick. There's travel agencies, Starbucks, foot reflexology, grocery shops, coffee shops serving chicken rice etc and restaurants serving fusion cuisines.

Afternoon tea in Jim Thompson Tea Room was relaxing and good. At RM60, you get an afternoon tea for 2pax or 35RM for one. You get good sandwiches, an assortment of cakes and pastries and their freshly baked scones (ohhhh I love it with their "Devon" clotted cream!!) You can also choose from one of their Seri Songket tea selection.

We also had breakfast and dinner in the dining room. Breakfast was okay but dinner wasn't outstanding. This, I think is the only fault I can find with the hotel. There's also a Japanese restaurant in the hotel but during our short stay there it was booked for an event so we didn't have a chance to try it out.

In general, staffs were happy to serve you but if you're looking for tours I'd recommend you check out online before your trip commence or check out other options in Tanah Rata before going to the hotel for recommendations as it is going to be more expensive that way. The food was a little of a letdown for the hotel. Rooms were clean and tastefully designed while service was prompt and courteous.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is interested to go to Cameron Highlands. (P.S: I did not see a swimming pool in the hotel)

Room Tip: Rooms on the further end tends to be quieter with less human traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard J, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear crazyshoots,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort!

We are pleased to know how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for letting us know, how impressed you were with the service you receive from our associates. I note your comment about the food and have shared it with the kitchen team.

Once again, the team and I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cameron Highlands Resort.

Regards,

Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The place is quite charming and can surely act as a time machine if you are looking for a trip down memory lane. Rooms are superb, staff quite friendly, and the best of all is an excellent spa. Yet, the place is lacking a pool and air conditioned rooms for a five star experience and food can be somewhat improved. Another minor issue is the proximity to the road and the ensuing noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard J, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear louayac,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort!

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, which we value very much. We note your concerns as an opportunity for improvement. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We decided to take a detour into the Cameron highlands during our trip to Malaysia, so only booked for 1 night. I would happily have stayed longer - we had an excellent room with a balcony, overlooking the golf course. The room was spotless and the 4-poster bed very comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were both excellent - very unusually, there was as much thought put into the breakfast menu as the dinner menu. We felt this resort offered excellent service and very good value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard J, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear IMUK,

Greetings from Cameron Highlands Resort!

Thank you for taking the time to 'pen' down your experience. We are extremely pleased that you chose to stay with us and our best reward was that the both of you had a wonderful time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cameron Highlands Resort on many more occasions in the near future; delivering the precise and attentive service that remains the hallmark of the YTL Hotels brand.

Regards,

Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is a comfortable colonial styled oasis within the Cameron highlands befitting being a member of the YTL luxury resort chain. (Pangkor Laut , within the same group is highly recommended)

Rooms at the Cameron Highlands Resort are elegant, large & comfortable (we had rooms with balcony) whilst the food in the main restaurant was excellent. The hotel is however very close to the main road and so the rooms with balconies can be a bit noisy. It is surprising the hotel has not taken any actions to mitigate the noise vis heavier drapes, double glazing etc.

We were also slightly disappointed in reception in that they were not too helpful in suggesting alternative options to visit the mossy forest , a must do when in the Camerons. The hotels own tours were not only expensive but did not meet our desire to spend the majority of time at the mossy forest rather than other spots included on the standard tour trip eg Boh Tea plantation & butterfly park. It was surprising a hotel of this calibre was so inflexible notwithstanding being more expensive Eg hotel cost for 4 = 800 ringitt, vs standard tour with other people (max 7 in total) of 200 ringitt or private 4wd/guide charter of 300 ringitt.

It is therefore strongly recommended to make your own travel arrangements for trips whilst in the camerons with one of the many tour companies in the Camerons & use the hotel as a comfortable base to return to.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard J, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Stuffmatters,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort!

Thank you very much for your kind feedback which we value very much. We note your concerns as an opportunity for improvement. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I booked a deluxe room for three nights to stay at Cameron Highlands Resort from 16 to 19 March 2013. The booking was done with booking.com . and confirmation was given by the agent company for a deluxe room with open balcony overlooking the golf course. The room has already been paid for via my credit card. To my disappointment l when I checked in this afternoon, I found to my disappointment that the room which I was assigned to had no open balcony! I called the front office for a check and the desk manager Mr Alan informed me that the room with balcony was assigned to guest only upon availability of the room. It is not a guarantee. I double check with him ( my 2nd call to him) that the room I have booked and paid for is a deluxe room with the indication of an open balcony facing the golf course and there is no indication that such a room will only be made available to me subject to availability. In fact, I had the confirmation number of my booking and relay the message to him. According to him, the hotel was fully booked till 20 March. He kept mentioning about the clause that the room with balcony would be given to guest booking the deluxe room subject to availability. There was no such a clause mentioned. I have also checked with the fact sheet of the said hotel. All deluxe rooms come with an open balcony. I felt so cheated. If I had known of the uncertainty or that the deluxe room comes without an open balcony, I would certainly not have booked with this hotel.!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we value very much and we take as an opportunity for improvement. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kindly regards
Ilario Botta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A lovely, atmospheric hotel with great, old-fashioned service. We had a gorgeous room with a four poster bed and a balcony (overlooking the quite busy road). We had afternoon tea there which was lovely. the restaurants are a bit pricey, but we were treating ourselves so didn't mind? Thank goodness it was a good hotel, because unfortunately the area is being ruined, and the rainforest disappearing by the day. We went on the Jim Thompson guided walk which, while fascinating, was rather depressing, as our guide talked of his ongoing battle with farmers and government to try to preserve the forest. We enjoyed our stay, the hotel is lovely. Pity the area has not been managed more carefully.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your review, we are really pleased we furfill your expectation by delivering our personlaized service during your holiday. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario Botta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cameron Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Highlands Resort

Address: By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron Highlands Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tea plantations and rolling hills, this boutique hideaway promises all the splendour, romance and nostalgia of Cameron Highlands’ grand colonial heritage.Tall French doors, timber-beamed ceilings and plantation shutters add colonial charm and a touch of nostalgia to our rooms.Enjoy a refreshing round of golf, a pink-cheeked ramble along jungle trails, or a leisurely walk through tea plantations and strawberry farms. To recover, you can have a cup of tea in the drawing room, or a tea bath at the Spa Village, or you may simply choose to spend the day curled up with a good book by the fireplace.Cameron Highlands Resort is situated on the largest hill retreat in Malaysia, surrounded by breathtaking scenery, lush greenery, rolling hills and Tudor-styled cottages. The luxurious boutique Resort features 56 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites, and fronts Cameron Highlands' 18-hole golf course. It also houses the third wellness centre of the award-winning Spa Village group, which offers exotic treatments focusing on the healing and restorative properties of tea. Located in the state of Pahang, approximately 200 kilometres north of Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands is a beautiful holiday destination and the only place where you can find tea plantations and strawberries in Malaysia. At about 1,500 metres above sea level, it is the highest area on the mainland and enjoys a cool climate and fresh air, with temperatures ranging between 15° and 25° Celsius. Much of the character of the highlands remains unchanged since colonial times. It is endearingly known to some as the 'little corner of England in Asia'. The cool climate on the picturesque plateau and its surrounding hills and forest make this a popular retreat for golfing, jungle trekking and exploration of the many plantations and gardens. Cameron Highlands Resort is ideal all year round for families, honeymooners and holidaymakers out to satiate their appetites for trails, tales and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, AsiaRooms, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cameron Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Highlands Hotel Tanah Rata
Cameron Highlands Resort Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.