We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, but not a serene place any more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Highlands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron Highlands Resort to your Saves list
Cameron Highlands Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free WiFi & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, but not a serene place any more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The resort itself is a remarkable property and very well maintained, though quite pricey. It has a very nice ambience and does feel like old colonial place with all the decor, nice music around and very well trained and attentive staff. A must visit in the Cameron Highlands.

The rooms and beds are what you would expect from a world class 5-star hotel - excellent. View from the window is outright stunning. However, enjoying it with the open window, as one should in such a beautiful place, is hardly an option. Road in front of the hotel is quite busy day and night, with very noisy traffic. I felt very strange: picture outside (trees, hills and serene golf course) was a total disconnect with the traffic noise as good as in the city at times! I understand there is nothing hotel can do about it, but it was a real turn down for me. The whole area is being developed and a lot of big scale construction is going on around, so expect the noise and traffic to get only worse ;(

Food served in the hotel is okay at best and definitely too pricey for what you get, definitely not recommended. Except for desserts - those where good.

Spa is quite nice, with the local touch of tea bath, and a good choice after a day of jungle trekking!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really sorry to have not furfill your expectations concerning your dining experience in our restaurants. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario Botta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    251
    102
    24
    19
See reviews for
173
372
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here again in December 2011. This has always been my choice of hotel whenever I am there. The price is on the higher side BUT the service is second to NONE as far as I am concerned. I love all YTL hotels. We had 3 rooms and all the rooms were very well maintained, we were very well looked after. Their attention to details was superb. We ate their afternoon tea sets which we loved. Had dinner at their Japanese restaurant, did have a little tummy upset but not sure if its from there. The next morning, their head Captain asked casually about our dinner and I mentioned it briefly (but I didnt complained). The next thing we had their Resort Manager attending to us on this issue and have a discounted bill on the dinner, which we really did appreciate. All in all, its your way above average hotel. Every YTL hotel I stayed lived up to their own standard. First class in service. Great food. Flawless rooms. Detailed attention to every guest's needs. At the end of every trip, you will feel happy, contented and wanting to return to their resort in the next trip.

The resort itself is beautiful and classic. I have been to many beautiful hotels but sometimes, service fail them. Here, service is at it's top class all the way.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are really pleased we furfill your expectation by delivering our personlaized service during your holiday. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are spacious, nice bed, good light. Common areas are quite inviting, two fireplaces, library, full size snooker table at the bar area (although a bit warped at one end). 2 restaurants, the Japanese is a bit disappointing. The main dining is very good. Not 5 star, but nothing disappointed. A little pricey. Wine list, on the surface, looked adequate, but a quarter of the selections were out of stock. Breakfast was good, but erratic with regard to when things would come out. Staff were extremely pleasant, but undertrained. Restaurant manager was a stand out, very good. On the other hand service was hit or miss - one could die of thirst tring to get a drink from the bar. Spa services a bit disappointing.

The only negatives are that rooms look out over parking lot and main road, the latter is noisy at night with motorcycles passing. No wifi in rooms.

With regard to area, there isn't much besides hiking. The strawberry farms are abundant and equally boring. The boh tea tour is 5 min long and took 45 min to get back from in traffic. Golf course is ok, but nothing special.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really sorry to have not furfill your expectations 100%. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and family arrived at CHR on 25th, we spent 4 nights there.

Prior to the arrival, I’ve read many reviews of this resort and hence had high expectations on it.

Upon arrival, I tried my luck for early check-in at 930am and was quite surprised that the room was ready as I was told 24th night was fully booked.
There was a short introduction about the facilities in the resort before we were usher to our room.

Deluxe room - The room is spacious and clean with a balcony, except for 1 day, it wasn’t properly cleaned. Before we were out in the morning, the floor was dusty and when we were back in the afternoon, it was still dusty on the same spot. The room is make up in the morning and turn down in the evening. On the 1st evening, we were out with the bin full of waste and we expected it to be cleared when the housekeeper turn down the room but it wasn’t. The noise level from road is quite bad as me and hubby were awoke by the vehicles DAILY during our stay, as all rooms are facing the main road hence, there’s nothing could be done. The back of the resort is forest, the resort should at least install mosquito net to the window. As my boy was bitten 14times on his face in 1 night and the next day the bites were worsen, it swelled. There isn’t any in-house doctor and luckily we were returning to Singapore on that day.

Bathroom - The toilet is kind of small with no more than 2 adults in it and the wall near the sink is mouldy with few dead insects on each side.The amenities provided were decent, 2 brands of Shampoo/Conditioner and Shower Gel were given (Crabtree & Evelyn and House brand), it was not replenished daily. Once, the shower gels were out and the housekeeper threw away the bottles but with no replacement. It happened to the bottled drinking water, it was not replenished all the time which I’ve to call and request.

Food & Beverages:-

English High Tea @ Jim Thompson – The varieties weren’t much (3tiers of 2 types of sandwiches, 4 tarts and 3 scones & strawberries), scone was good. Tea was diluted (should have 2 teabags with that teapot size).

Breakfast – Food was ok but lack of varieties if guest was to stay more days.

Dinner @ Dining Room – Lobster bisque was too salty, we couldn’t drink without having it with plain bread. In between our meal, Ong (the staffer) asked if everything was ok so we feedback that the soup was too salty. Awhile later, he returned and informed us the soups ordered will be removed from the bill which caught our surprise. We had steaks and with that price tag, we were disappointed with the kind of quality. The meat doesn’t taste fresh. For dessert, we had chocolate lava cake and it was fantastic. It was crowded on that day, perhaps the servers were overwhelmed. The service wasn’t as good as breakfast. We had ran out of water and had to inform the waiter couple of times and also every table was given a basket of bread but ours was left out. We had to request couple of times too as we couldn’t drink the soup without it.

Spa Village – We had the couple treatment, was told tea bath 15mins, body massage 80mins and scalp massage 20mins. However, me and hubby had the same sentiment that the body and scalp massage were shorter by 10mins each treatment than the mentioned duration especially during the back massage, it was slip short. We do like the tea bath and the after treatment service (hot tea and oatmeal biscuit were served) but with the pricey treatment, we expected better.

Laundry – We went forest trekking and the shoes were covered with mud, we sent it for cleaning and it were F.O.C and it came back squeaky clean. However, on the next day hubby sent his White sweater for cleaning, it came back with patches of blue stains. We were offered compensation thou but it’s useless as that was a gift from me for Xmas and it is no longer available. Although the laundry service is provided by external party, the resort should ensure professional service at all times.

Overall, I would say thumbs up for all staffs (bellhop to Manager) in CHR for their attitude as each and every one is willing to go the extra miles to provide their best service. During our stay, we felt like a family and the warmth in them. We will definately return to this resort, even my 9yrs old boy enjoyed his stay. However, the cleaning/serving part could be better with consistency. Hopefully, the management could do something to the noise from the main road and install wifi in all rooms at the soonest. At the moment, guest could only access in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really pleased you enjoie your staying in our resort. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This resort and it's staff gave us one of the best Christmases that we have ever had. Family was a long way away and so we travelled with good friends to this wonderful area to seek out some pampering and relaxation. Illario Botta and his staff went out of their way to treat us like we were the only guests there. This resort is beautiful, has a great ambience and the added touches of gingerbread house, open fires and mulled wine made this visit unforgettable. We stayed in the junior suite which was superb, especially the added touches of fresh fruit and the staff all greeted us by name. A visit from Santa and stockings was a thrill that was thoughtful and given with such joy. The dining room delivered excellent meals, the wine list is excellent and again the staff were at their finest. Best part? Everything! Thank you one and all for excelling at your jobs and making us feel like part of your family. Bravo

Room Tip: Take a suite if you want luxury but the regular rooms are very comfortable and the service is of a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your excellent review, we are really pleased we furfill your expectation by delivering our personlaized service during your holiday. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The YTL Group's five-star Cameron Highlands Resort is one of the most elegant hotels in the region, and it was here that I spent a couple of nights. A 56 room boutique hotel, it was rebuilt in 1976 in the style of an English colonial home, and recreates life when the empire was at the height of its pomp. Named among the "Five Best Tea Plantation Hotels in the World" by The Independent (UK) in 2007, it has dark wood panelling, plain white walls, green-coloured lighting, and impressive log fireplaces along with a games room, cocktail bar and afternoon tearooms. It is situated in front of a massive golf course which is open to residents, and has two restaurants and a spa village.

I enjoyed the restrained elegance and refinement of my room. It was decorated in white, cream and dark brown tones, with a wood latticed ceiling, a rotating ceiling fan, and furnished with a king-size four poster bed. It was a tastefully simple evocation of a bygone age and place, and for me as interesting an experience as some of the most luxurious hotels I have visited.

The main foyer, where the tea room was also located, had a grand piano, oriental rugs on polished wood floors, rattan chairs, pot plants and antiques like a wind-up gramophone befitting the hotel's colonial style. This is a fitting place to soak up the hotel's atmosphere, and for the afternoon tea we enjoyed after a long jungle walk, or the wagyu beef burger I had with chunky fries on my last day there.

The library has free Wifi for guests, extensive dark wood panelling and crackling log fires as the evening chill sets in.

Breakfast is served in The Dining Room, the hotel's main restaurant, and was in my opinion one of the best meals we had at the resort. On our first day, I went for a large portion of fried noodles, while Dr G opted for the house waffles - filled with banana butterscotch, topped with strawberry compote and cream and a cinnamon battered, deep-fried mango, it was delicious.

It is hard to think of a more European setting in Malaysia than this, and judging by the number of Malaysian visitors, it is clear that it has become a favourite place for those seeking a refuge from the heat and humidity of the rest of the country.

Another legacy of the British in Cameron Highlands is the tradition of afternoon tea. I can think of few more appropriate spots for this in Malaysia, given the enormous tea plantations in the area.

Following a visit to Boh's tea plantation (see 'What to Do' section below), we headed back to the resort for our 5pm afternoon tea, which included a selection of yummy finger sandwiches and delicate cakes, with local teas.

Having trekked high and low in the nearby forest, we were looking forward to lunch. Cameron Highlands Resorts' cocktail bar serves a selection of European bar snacks, including some British favourites like fish and chips, and club sandwiches.

I opted for a classic American burger with a 250g patty of wagyu beef in a double decker stack served with cheesy fries, homemade coleslaw, pineapple fritters and highland chutney (£12), which I enjoyed.

Fish & Chips was too much of a temptation for Dr G after all the belacan I inflicted on him in Penang, and happily it was as good as that on offer in the UK. The fish was firm and succulent, the batter crisp, and the chips chunky and freshly made (£9).

The Cameron Highlands Resort's Spa Village offers a range of different treatments which make use of a variety of local products, primarily tea, but also including flowers and herbs. There are indoor and outdoor treatment rooms, tea bath rooms and a fully-equipped gymnasium.

I had the three hour Jungle Secrets experience, which started with a soak in a warm tea bath with lemon grass and lemon, followed by a relaxing Malay massage, and a tea-based exfoliating scrub. It was an utterly relaxing experience, and a great thing to do after a day of jungle trekking.

For a more detailed review of Cameron Highlands, places of interest, where to eat and what to do, visit my website at www.thelondonfoodie.co.uk

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your detail review, we are really pleased we furfill your expectation by making your staying with us a memorable one. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I just spent my Christmas holidays at the CHR last week. The room was very nice. It was spacious and elegantly furnished. My wife loved the bed. Both the Christmas Eve western dinner and the Christmas Malaysian dinner were great. I had a good time and enjoyed my holidays over there.

The staff were eager to help and the overall service level was good. Some of the waiters in the dinner room may need more training.

I also had high tea in the Jim Thompson Tea Room. The tea bag was not enough for the tea pot. I prefer stronger tea. It might be better to make it with tea leaves.

There was no Internet in the room. The wifi in the reading room was slow. It took many trials to post to a blog. The hotel is close to the road. I got woken up by cars passing by many times.

Cameron highlands is nice and cool compared to the majority of Malaysia. It is a nice place to get away from the cities and the heat. The fishes from the rivers nearby were delicious. I also found many vegetables and fruits at the market which I haven't heard of. One example is a purple apple which looks like an eggplant to me.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback which we do take them very serious as opportunity for improuvment, we are really pleased you enjoie your staying in our resort. We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kindly regards
Ilario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Highlands Resort

Address: By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron Highlands Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tea plantations and rolling hills, this boutique hideaway promises all the splendour, romance and nostalgia of Cameron Highlands’ grand colonial heritage.Tall French doors, timber-beamed ceilings and plantation shutters add colonial charm and a touch of nostalgia to our rooms.Enjoy a refreshing round of golf, a pink-cheeked ramble along jungle trails, or a leisurely walk through tea plantations and strawberry farms. To recover, you can have a cup of tea in the drawing room, or a tea bath at the Spa Village, or you may simply choose to spend the day curled up with a good book by the fireplace.Cameron Highlands Resort is situated on the largest hill retreat in Malaysia, surrounded by breathtaking scenery, lush greenery, rolling hills and Tudor-styled cottages. The luxurious boutique Resort features 56 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites, and fronts Cameron Highlands' 18-hole golf course. It also houses the third wellness centre of the award-winning Spa Village group, which offers exotic treatments focusing on the healing and restorative properties of tea. Located in the state of Pahang, approximately 200 kilometres north of Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands is a beautiful holiday destination and the only place where you can find tea plantations and strawberries in Malaysia. At about 1,500 metres above sea level, it is the highest area on the mainland and enjoys a cool climate and fresh air, with temperatures ranging between 15° and 25° Celsius. Much of the character of the highlands remains unchanged since colonial times. It is endearingly known to some as the 'little corner of England in Asia'. The cool climate on the picturesque plateau and its surrounding hills and forest make this a popular retreat for golfing, jungle trekking and exploration of the many plantations and gardens. Cameron Highlands Resort is ideal all year round for families, honeymooners and holidaymakers out to satiate their appetites for trails, tales and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cameron Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Highlands Hotel Tanah Rata
Cameron Highlands Resort Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Highlands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.