We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golfer's Cafe

Golfer's Cafe
Kelab Golf Sultan Ahmad Shah, Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Restaurants in Tanah Rata
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ate here several times while staying at the Cameron Highlands Resort across the road. The food is excellent quality and value. There is a good selection of western and local dishes. Many of the customers were local people. Service is very friendly and staff will go out of their way to accommodate requests. The beer is also not overpriced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My chicken soup was full of goodness and flavor and extremely fresh. Overlooking the golf course, it was lovely. Worth checking out for value and good tasting food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Malaysian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hari was a great waiter. He recommended some amazing food. We stayed at the Cameron Highland Resort Hotel, this was across the road. The food at the hotel was extremely expensive. We ate at this restaurant every evening and the prices are great, without letting quality go. I'd recommend letting Hari know if you do not like spicy food and it will be made more mild, as Malaysian food is usually spicy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Cameron Highland Resort, and after a very disappointing and overpriced meal at the resort on our first night, we spotted the restaurant sign at the Golfer's Cafe whilst sitting on our balcony the next day. We went across the road to investigate, and found out that it was open to the public, and subsequently ate there that evening.
The food was good and the freshly squeezed orange juice was excellent (not watered down and very sweet naturally). The prices were very reasonable - less than a quarter of the price we paid for our meal the previous night!
The restaurant was not very busy when we went, just some locals having a 'Steamboat', which appeared to be a very interesting experience.
Would have re-visited if we had more time on the highland.
This restaurant is definitely worth a try, so do not miss out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“You are missing out if you go not go here- its the best of Cameron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the cameron Highlands Resort and thanks to the lone reviewer who made comment on this fantastic cafe/restaurant
Its open for lunch and dinner every day all day and afternoon teas as well
It is peaceful and has amazing views over the golf course the service is spot on , dishes done for you how you like them the menu is varied and tasty the produce fresh and prices and value excellent
its casual not formal you need to go into the golf course building and upstairs and it is on the right hand side,
we went 4 nights running as nothing beat the views of the mountains and bungalows and the mist rolling in
you can drink there is you like they serve beer soft drinks juices etc there are golfers around and the place has a really comfortable atmosphere \
we loved all the vege dishes like cabbage with anchovy and dry chilli chicken , the malaysian chicken curry was unreal as you would expect
sweet and sour fish was my favourite
The place is spotlessly clean and they are very service orientated
the resorts serve western food and this cafe offers just the right mix of dishes at amazing value
Its worth going to have a look through the day if you are unsure but seriously its a hidden gem

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golfer's Cafe also viewed

Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands
 

Been to Golfer's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golfer's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.