We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean Room, Nice view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Gereja, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean Room, Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had been there for 2D1N trip last weekend after visit parent’s hometown. After check in, first thing I want to do is taking shower for refreshment but no bath towel. After dingdong bell with reception and housekeeping was told that they run out of towel only available around 4pm.

Room was comfortable and clean, nice view from balcony surrounded with tropical forest. Typical Malaysia hotel breakfast with no surprise.

Overall is a pleasant stay but not so great on the service. First time I need to ask for receipt after check out and they call me at 1pm whether I done my check out when on the way back home, it was done at 9am....

Room Tip: Room at new wing is better. Room check in time 3pm Having breakfast at rainforest restaurant open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    118
    143
    42
    41
See reviews for
76
153
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel looked great on the website, but it become obvious from first checking in our room. Food was left on trays outside rooms, after room service. It sat there for over 24hrs. Rooms felt dingy and dated and needed a freshen up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here during October 2012 for a short 2 days holidays. Its probably is one of the best located hotels close to Tanah Rata town. Ther newer wing is a better choice as the rooms were recently reburbished and its clean. The weather was cool and and many of the good restaurants is about 5 mins drive from the hotel.

We got a steamboat dinner as a part of the package. Steamboat was just okay and there are better ones in the town.

Customer service was reasonably good and we got a forest facing view. Its definately our choice if we're visting Cameron Highlands again.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

we been there for our honeymoon vacation, the hotel is beautiful and clean and all equipment is well prepared and organized, very comfortable rooms have a beautiful view . The hotel staff also very friendly and helpful. extremely interesting, and we will come back to stay there for our next vacation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Hotel located at on top of a hill and it is very close to restaurant. We stayed at deluxe room , the room is big n clean. The bathroom has shower n tub separately. We love the environment there with fresh air n the small garden. For those traveler with transport you have to walked a distance to reach the hotel or town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we been there during Chines new year and i was with my wife & 5 childern and 2 maid with out any booking,we reach there at 5 pm and very lucky to know someone has cancel his booking ,we been there befor and we like the hotel location on top of the hill as well as very close to the restorant and other local shops.
stuff very friendly and food as very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This was our 2nd stay in the Cameron Highlands & to be fair, we were previously 'spoilt' with staying at both of the top rated hotels, which were obviously pricier & better run.

This hotel looks good from the outside, the garden view from our balcony was lovely & it's a handy walking distance to the small township. Unfortunately though, they're probably the only positive things I can say.

On arrival, it speaks volumes when a bellhop at the front steps watches you carry your bags without offering any assistance. At check-in, it was a bit like at the airport - why such a delay checking in when you have all our details, assigned a room & it's already paid for?

A single elevator in a side corridor with manky stained carpet. Got to our floor & noticed a big fat dead coachroach on the floor next to the elevator entry area...which remained for the next 2 days. Our room was tired, stained carpets & had a damp musty smell. Minibar was not stocked with anything except an ice tray.

Downstairs cafe lounge that was supposed to be attended (according to the sign) was bereft of anyone, so we had to track down someone from the lobby to get tea & scones. Unfortunately, even though the CH's are reputedly 'famous' for their scones - this wasn't the case, as the ones on display (for how many hours?) were reheated for us, hard as a rock & fell into pieces as soon as we touched them. Needless to say that we didn't eat them & funnily enough, when we returned to the lobby table & chairs many hours later (to use the WiFi that was only available in the lobby) - the table was still covered with crumbs.

Day 2, we went on a bush walk for about 4hrs & needless to say, were hot/sweaty & in dire need of a shower. Unfortunately though, at 2pm there were no towels (clean/dirty) in our bathroom - so I asked the cleaners a few doors down from us from some, only to be told that there wouldn't be any clean towels until after 4pm. After pulling a face & saying 'seriously' a few times - a couple of clean towels miraculously appeared - thank goodness!

'Soundproofing' was also a joke, with doors slamming incessantly & people talking in the corridors late at night...felt like they were in the room.

Overall, this hotel probably would've looked OK about 50 years ago. However, now it's looking really tired/in need of some TLC & the staff were faily lack lustre/apathetic. The breakfast dining area looked more like what you'd find at a boarding school - with a poor selection & as though a hoard of locusts had descended. To be fair, it was CNY long weekend & obviously more occupied than usual.

Certainly the standard of the hotel/room is not commensurate with the room rate - unless they have nicer renovated rooms hidden away? It's certainly a handy walk from the little township, but based on our recent stay - we wouldn't be coming back again & would suggest that you could find nicer accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: Jalan Gereja, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands is a 238 room low rise tudor style boutique hotel situated on a hill in the town of Tanah Rata. Surrounded by elegantly sculptured gardens reminiscent of the Old English countryside set in a lush tropical rainforest as background, it is the prefect place to refresh, relax and rejuvenate from the concrete jungle of most cities. The hotel blends tradition with modern comfort for discerning travelers with personalized services from friendly staff. LOCATION The Hotel is ideally located at 1800 meters above sea levels surrounded by lush tropical forest with a birds eye view of the panoramic town of Tanag Rata. It is a 8 minute stroll to the town of Tanah Rata. ACCESSIBILITY We are easily accessible via the North-South Highway (trough Tapah exit),the Simpang Pulai new access road and the Gua Musang new access road. Three and a half hours drive from Kuala Lumpur or just one and a half hours drive from Ipoh city. Taxis and coaches are also available from all major cities within Malaysia to Cameron Highlands. GUEST ROOMS Our 238 rooms and suites were designed with your comfort in mind with rooms and suites ranging from 320 square feet to 860 square feet. With its sleek interiors, we have managed to include in a full range of amenities which include IDD, mini bar,LCD TV with inhouse movies, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and attached private balcony. Our choice of rooms range from Superior (320 sq.Ft), deluxe (430 sq.Ft),to Deluxe Family Rooms. Our suites range from Superior Suites to Deluxe Suites and Presidential Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cameron Highlands
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.