We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy place with great management!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Mentigi Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eight Mentigi Guesthouse to your Saves list
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
No 8 & 8A, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cosy place with great management!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and felt very welcome. The manager is friendly and helpful with a great sense of humour!

The place itself is a short distance from the town centre and has a cosy common area and lovely outdoor area. There is free coffee/tea all day.

We had a private double room which was basic yet clean and spacious. However, the mattress was a bit worn (we could feel the springs) so it took a while to get comfortable. Saying that, we had a great sleep while were there. The cold evenings were a welcome change from the humidity.

We had a great stay and recommend staying here - you will be looked after!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    58
    42
    12
    8
See reviews for
28
59
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and really liked the place. The owner took my telephone booking a few days beforehand and welcomed us when we arrived.

The place is located just a few minutes walk back from Maybank (this seems to be the central reference point that everyone uses!) It is a very welcoming place and has free tea and coffee night and day.

The guesthouse can also arrange any onward travel and day trips if you need them. The owner is very knowledgeable on any questions you may have on the area or any trips you may wish to do.

The room itself was very large and very clean, so no complaints there! The town is almost 5000 feet high, so make sure you take a fleece or rain jacket out at night as it can get a bit cold.

The only negative was that I thought the room was slightly over priced at RM 110/night but I do understand that it was peak season and almost everyone was sold out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIVERPOOL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Basic but decent enough accommodation (we stayed in a private double, slightly more expensive than two dorm beds). Free coffee and tea. Place itself is well located and if you book in advance the guesthouse will pick you up from your coach. Mr Vincent, the owner, is a great character and likes banter which I think can be misinterpreted. He helped us a lot when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If not for the manager, I would not have rated this guest house as high. When seeing the room at first I was shocked, it was damp, there was a water all over the bathroom floor, questionable safety, and reaaaly cold. But I arrived very late at night and only needed something for few hours.
If I can recommend someone to stay here, it's only for 2 reasons - 1. location, 2. manager. He was terrific. In just few hours he managed to set me up with a hiking trip for the morning, tickets for the onward journey, and coffee to keep me warm.
What more do you need?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The dorm beds were clean though the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Conveniently situated from the busy Tanah Rata marketplace. Best thing about the guest house? Has to be the old uncle who manages the place, he offered me fish food so I could learn to swim quicker.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed one night in the dorm.The room was perfect, nice living room area where you can have some coffee and drink a beer. They only had 2 showers for the dorm rooms which was not enough. The location was good, nice tetras. The owner was very grumpy though, he kept asking us to pay and to write down our passport number every 5 minutes untill we did it. There were no lockers to keep your valuables and the room could not be locked. He said he could keep our valuables but obviously he didn't trust us so I saw no reason to trust him with my passport etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Asia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Eight Mentigi in the secondary house in April 2013 for 4 days.

The Good:
Location was pretty good – 5 minute walk to Tanah Rata's Main strip
Super clean and comfy beds
Free Tea and Coffee
Nice manager
TV's in the main area for those rainy Cameron Highland Days
Hot showers
Great value

The Bad:
Attached bathroom was a bit damp, and not totally closed off from the room
A tad-bit on the loud side.

The Ugly:
Not the guesthouse's fault, but Eight Mentigi damn-near flooded when we were there. We saw a fully submerged truck on the road in front of the guesthouse. Something to consider if you're traveling in the rainy season and don't like walking through knee deep water for a meal.

Front of Guesthouse:
http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/48894524860/weary-from-the-bus-ride-and-not-realizing-how

Flooded Road:
http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/48894141480/the-rain-stopped-and-we-payed-about-7-usd-for-our

Sandbags Deployed:
http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/49043390796/it-had-been-raining-buckets-while-we-ate-lunch-and

Flooded Road Day 2:
http://wehadabadidea.tumblr.com/post/49043312334/the-clouds-moved-in-and-the-rains-let-up-but-the

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eight Mentigi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Mentigi Guesthouse

Address: No 8 & 8A, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eight Mentigi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Hotel Tanah Rata
8 Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Mentigi Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.