We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De' La Ferns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De' La Ferns to your Saves list
Hotel De' La Ferns
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is probably the best option to stay in its category. We got the room facing the country hills. Rooms were clean, spacious, with decent furniture and high ceilings. The balcony had a decent view but only one chair. There should be at least two chairs. The satellite TV should have more channels. The breakfast was not that great. I wish they had more western options and better coffee.

The thing that stands out for me too is that the service here is very good, sincere and welcoming. The Malay gentlemen who checked us in at night was very polite and accommodating and made sure we got the room we desired. The reservation staff over the phone were not so accommodating.

The manager of the Hotel mr Mohoan was very good and helpful during our stay. When we left the hotel and got back to the Kuala Lumpur city 3 hour drive away , we realised we forgot some items in the house. Mr Mohon was very kind to have it sent to us on the same day. He went out of his way to make sure we got our things.

Overall, good honest staff, decent location, good value, excellent service....will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the hill and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    207
    76
    27
    11
See reviews for
127
112
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile


1. Room rates were overpriced. We were charged rack rates due to the holiday season. Stayed for 1 night in a deluxe quad room.
2. Intermittent hot water supply, but rooms were spacious and comfortable. Safe deposit box locked. No heaters in rooms, so when it gets too cold, the thick blankets do come in handy.
3. Check in was speedy fast which was great.
4. Breakfast spread was acceptable, slightly bland but constantly stocked.
5. Fire doors which were supposed to be closed ALL THE TIME, were wedged open. A serious safety issue.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

There is not a lot of choice when it comes to good hotels in the Cameron Highlands and I read the reviews of the hotels and could not decide where to stay. In the end, I chose this hotel. I stayed here two nights and was given a room with a view of the road. The hotel was quite noisy as it is next to the road. However, the room was clean and well-decorated. The standard of the hotel is not that high if compared to international hotels but the room was functional and usable. The hotel is outside Tanah Rata so I needed to take a taxi to get to it when I arrived in the Cameron Highlands. I also booked a tour via the hotel and got my laundry done, so my stay here was quite good.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the front is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Overall, our stay in this hotel is excellent. We booked the Standard Room and the price is very suitable with what they have to offer. The King size bed was cozy and very relaxing to sleep. The room is very spacious and clean. There's a balcony that you can go outside and just experience the fresh air of Cameron Highland. When we feedback on a faulty lamp, in no time at all, they came and fix it. The service is excellent. Although it was a bit far from the Tanah Rata town, we love the environment there because it was super quiet and peaceful.
For the breakfast, on the two days that we were there, both days offered different menu and the food were extremely delicious. A mix of Malaysian menu and western.
All in all, I would recommend anyone that would like a relaxing vacation for couples or even families.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist that you want a carpeted room because at night it will be very cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here between 22nd - 25th Dec 2013.

The good: This was our first visit to Cameron Highlands and we wanted a room with a view of the valley. We weren't disappointed by this hotel. The room we got had a gorgeous view of the valley and mountains facing the Gunung Brinchgang hill which itself is the highest point of Cameron Highlands. Our room was a Deluxe-King size room with pretty much all amenities needed for a pleasant stay. The room has no air-con or fans and rightly so as CH is quite cold during nights. Staff at the hotel was friendly and was willing to help to taxi bookings etc. And even though this hotel is right on the highway, we didn't experience any difficult with our night sleep. Room was kept clean and tidy throughout, however, it would get a bit smelly when the windows were kept closed. Nonetheless, can't blame the hotel as CH air contains higher % of moisture. Better to keep the windows open and enjoy gentle breeze instead.

The bad:

Hotel is right in the middle of 2 towns - Tanah Rata and Brinchang (2.5kms either way). Hence, if without a car one has to depend on Taxi's to move out of the hotel. Though Taxi's are not costly it could get inconvenient at night to find a taxi from either towns. We were told that Taxi service is available till about 9pm from both towns, however to our surprise, we got stranded in Tanah Rata at 8.30pm one of the nights. We had to call the hotel to arrange us a taxi to get back (which was promptly done!). Walking back could be a bad idea, specially at night. CH does not have a good pedestrian sidewalk.

Secondly, apart from location (nothing can be done about it), we were disappointed with the breakfast menu at the hotel. Vegetarians have a limited choice and we had to make special requests to an extra 1-2 things to be sent to our table. Any ways, I am sure the management will take notice of this fact.

Conclusion: For the view and room quality we were quite satisfied with our stay. It seems to be a good family hotel with most of the occupants being families with kids. We hope our suggestion on vegetarian food does not go un-noticed. Wish fellow visitors a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try and choose the room with a sun-rise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was my second stay there. Previously had been there 3 years back and it was a good place. This time round, having checked the reviews on the net to ensure the experience wouldn't be any less, took a trip to Cameron Highlands (CH) and stayed at De La Ferns yet again. We had a good experience once again. Not surprising that this place is still ranked as one of the top few hotels at CH.

Place was clean, rooms were spacious and breakfast was alright. A few pointers to note however.
1) Room service ends at 10.30pm. So you have to order early or buy in food from elsewhere beforehand.
2) The room aren't air-conditioned as CH is cold enough generally; mid day might get a little warm if you do not open up the windows to let the moving air in to counter the heat.
3) Located in the middle of 2 towns, if you do not drive, prepare for a 15-20min walk to either towns. Its not too bad if done in the morning or evening where its still very cool.

Room Tip: 2 deluxe room would have been cheaper but the family suite (2 rooms connected by a sliding door) pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in the Deluxe-King room for 2 nights.
Had specially requested for a early checkin since we were supposed to reach early from the overnight bus travel. The front desk reception was not helpful regarding the same.
Breakfast was ok. The breakfast closes at 10.00 AM and we reached at around 9.30 AM next day but was out of stock with most of the eating options.The staff also informed that they were not planning to refill the stock. Found this a bit odd
Locationwise - The hotel does not have any restaurants at a walking distance.The city centre isaway and not within walking distance
There is a restaurant at the hotel with limited food options and the only other restaurant nearby is the steamboat restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De' La Ferns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De' La Ferns

Address: Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De' La Ferns 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De' La Ferns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De' La Ferns Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De' La Ferns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.