We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De' La Ferns

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De' La Ferns to your Saves list
Hotel De' La Ferns
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Klang, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 2 nights in a deluxe room.
Pros:
The hotel is ideally located between Brinchang & Tanah Rata with a pleasing view.
The reception and staff were polite and responsive to queries.
The room was spacious with a balcony, clean with all the facilities expected of a 3 to 4 star hotel.
I had a car but for those without one taxis are available & Tanah Rata is a 15min walk away.
Cons:
If the windows are left open traffic noise can be intrusive. So get a room at the rear.
Limited TV channels.
Only 1 resturant, no pub.
Too many unfriendly Arab guests who don't even want to make eye contact.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    215
    84
    29
    11
See reviews for
134
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The room which I stayed was very comfortable,at second floor if I'm not mistaken because that is only the last room when we was arrived .But we really likes that room,everything in the room was clean.Maybe will visit there again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Pros:
-Strategic Location between Brinchang Town and Tanah Rata
-Good choice of breakfast (both Western and Malaysian dishes)
-Friendly hotel staff
-Well furnished rooms with comfortable beds
-Nice scenery especially in the evenings (6pm) and in the mornings (7am)

Cons:
- Isolated hotel by itself, save for a Malay Steamboat Restaurant and a souvenir shop
- Surrounding areas can be a bit noisy towards the weekend especially due to the Desa Anthurium Apartments nearby.
- Rooms facing the main road can be noisy (and annoying for travellers who are not used to loud traffic noises)
-Flies and insects (after all, it is expected as it is a hotel in the highlands after all)

Overall, I rated it very good. It lost a star due to the noise factor from the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: - I would go for the top floors as there are nice views from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We paid quite a lot for a quad room in this hotel, and I didn't think it was worth the money.

It's next to the main road, and a busy restaurant. The hotel did not have aircon so we had to have the windows opened, and it was so noisy with cars/buses revving up the slope; the chattering of restaurant workers and the clanging of dishes from the busy restaurant added to the noise pollution. We didn't have a good rest at all.

The toilet stained, and don't be fooled by the photo on the hotel website. The toilet in our quad room did not come with a separate shower area and a bathtub. The bathtub was where you take your shower!

The breakfast was low quality stuff. It's not in Tanah Rata town, so there was nothing nearby except the restaurant next door.

The only good things were the beds were quite comfy (although the pillows smelled), and the room was thickly carpeted.

Next time I think I would choose to stay in an apartment instead.

Room Tip: Choose one that does not face the main road. It's probably less noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

i wasn't exactly sure what to expect before arriving at the hotel. There were several mixed reviews on a few online sites i checked... When I arrived and checked into the Junior Suite, all my worries were laid to rest. The room was large, clean - had nice balconies oversee-ing some fantastic cameron highlands scenery.

The little negatives - The bed was ok - a little hard for my liking and the soft was a little old. I also stopped by the hotel reception to ask for a map of the region and was a little shocked that the hotel charges RM4 for their maps. Folks heading to cameron highlands can easily find helpful maps online - should print and bring them along.

There were loads of parking - and the area looks pretty safe.


We took a lunch at the shops beside the hotel - I wouldn't recommend them. If you have a car .. do either drive up to Tanah Rata or Berinchang - where options are more abundant

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.

I couldnt get proper rest in this hotel, sadly the bed is catered for people liking hard surfaces. PillowS are your standard soft n hard type. Put it together with the rock hard bed, you have a dormitary bed like experience. I complained to the acting manager mr mohan who is kind enough to upgrade me but the bed n pillows to my discovery are the same across the board, even in a suite...!

Moving on... Some forummers here mentioned bout main road, just to add that all deluxe rooms are bound to get some sound produced by formula 1 drivers regardless of age and profession being the kerb of the road demands each driver to step on the throttle at full speed. This little entertainment ends around 1 am ish...

The rooms itself arent sound proof. So when kids go running along the corridor, u will hear it clearly. Or even your neighbor clOses the door, you'd know its dinner time cus you wont miss it! ^^

Strategically the hotel is also facing a direct hit frOm the nearby mosque speakers, so unless u can sleep like a pig, you'd know its time for a little pee stop in the wee hours^*^

Food wise, the hotel produces a decent fare. I'd rate it above average to which i hope they'd keep the standard.

Cleanliness could be improved with some flies and mosquito dead at my interjection of hunting them down before i sleep. Aint pest control a basic requirement for hotel management? Errrrr...

On summary, this is a hotel i'd avoid for i am a firm believer of money value must be on equiv par to the hotel experience. For 300 rm a night, this hotel is way off the charging mark. I'd rate it between the 100 to 135 region. But again, one mans fruit is anothers poison.

This hotel is quite strategic in terms of location. I'd recommend to heavy sleepers n maybe old people who sleeps well on hard surfaces.

I wont recommend to light sleepers on the hunt for a good nights sleep

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bukit Mertajam, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

De La ferns was a breath of fresh air, arrived there on for a one night leisure stay on the 14th, staff were very polite and kind..... Special mention to the reservation staff Mr. Mohan who was kind enough to inform the travelling time tips....... Reached early and the room was not ready but the staff put in their effort to get my room by 1.30pm..... Room was quite small but elegant.... Pillows were a let down though..... Should suggest a fan to be in the room as daytime can get a bit humid but still cool...... Right next door was a souvenir and steamboat shop with reasonable prices.... Hotel food price was ok as well........ Breakfast a bit limited..... Overall a very satisfying stay at a very satisfying hotel..... Thumbs up......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De' La Ferns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De' La Ferns

Address: Batu 39, Jalan Besar, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De' La Ferns 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De' La Ferns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De' La Ferns Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De' La Ferns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.