We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) to your Saves list
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)
9 Lorong Perdah, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Craiova, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Basic, but good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked a single room for 28RM. It was very basic, small and old. But the bed sheets were clean. The showers were a little bro bought a map from reception for 4RM and a tour to Mossy Forest for 35RM, which was great, very friendly guides.
The Wi-fi near reception works good and the atmosphere is nice, a lot of young people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    36
    38
    14
    31
See reviews for
5
48
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The place is nice. Basic, but nice. It is just simple. It is clean, but the dorm is a little bit dusty and old. The dorm also don't have powerpoint to charge something. If you choose this place do it because it is cheap (10 - 15 MYR). Look out, because on the internet are different prices. It is outdated. The staff is friendly and you can refill you bottle if you want. The beds are good.

Well thats it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night without booking in advance. Room was double bed + queen size. Price was ok, but the guy at the reception (limping) was the first unfriendly Malay guy i have met. Tried to sell us stuff in an unfriendly way and refused to refund a trip 10 min later. The bar is old, but there's a lot of space to sir outside. Wlan very slow though.
No sheets for 2 of the 3 of us

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Not by choice. First we 'booked' 3 dorm beds for 2 nights, when we arrived the dorm beds were apparently not available so 2 of us had to stay in a private room. Foolishly we payed for 2 nights upfront. In the night, partially due to our beds being mattresses on the floor we had rats on us and at one point on the pillow. Unable to stay there any longer we looked into the dorm which indeed had 4 spare beds. The owner did not give a crap that there were rats and we had to pay an extra 5 ringgits for the privilege of not having a rat on my head, because no refund was given. The Cameron highlands is lovely. This place is not. I don't exactly have high standards.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Really social place. I usually never stay in Lonely Planet recommended places, but it turned out to be ok. A great bar with decent drink prices (7.50RM for 500ml Changs), and even though they have signs everywhere saying you can't bring alcohol in from outside, people had bottles of vodka and mixers on the tables in full view, so the staff are really chill in that regard.

Note: If you stay there a while the staff will warm up to you, but they can seem a little abrupt at first!

Dorms are pretty cheap, but since the extra popularity of LP they've increased from 9RM to 12RM - still not too much of a budget buster, and I heard that you can rent a tent for 5RM - although it gets really cold at night so make sure you have a good sleeping bag!

If you tend to get cold, ask the staff for an extra blanket, they'll give it to you for free. I carry a sleeping bag and I was nice and warm - most other people said they were cold though!

They try and push thier tours and bus transfers - but all the places do that I think, and to be fair they're usually reasonably priced. If you have the time I would recommend doing the sightseeing yourself though - it's super easy (hitch hiking is a breeze in Malaysia, and the bus is really cheap!), but beware of taxis - I haven't met one taxi driver yet that uses a meter (or that uses seatbelts for that matter), and they will try to rip you off as much as they can - but it's still really cheap when compared to Australia.

So in conclusion:

Get for meeting people, making new friends, getting travel tips, getting drunk, but not so good if you want peace and quiet, or if you want to experience a more local feel. Brilliant location!!

Room Tip: Do the 15RM dorm - you won't regret it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindau, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to Tanah Rata with Kang travel minivan from Georgetown and already considered Daniel's Lodge based on reviews it had. After seeing the room, we decided to stay, it was 55RM for a double with hot shower. The room wasn't particularly pretty, but the bed was comfortable enough, water hot and that was all we needed. Bring warm pyjamas, the building is cold and it gets chilly in the evenings, we ended up using our sleeping bags on top of the blankets provided. The wifi only works in the common area outside which was fine, the area is very nice place to hang out, read, meet other people... The lodge is a short walk from everything essential in the village. We didn't find the owner so obnoxious as desribed in some reviews, sure he tried to sell us stuff, but he wasn't too pushy.

We booked the half day Adventure 1 tour, the itinerary is the same as every agency's in town-
ride up to Gulung Brinchang - pointless when cloudy as happened to us
walk through the Mossy Forest - a bit lame, short, on wooden planks platforms
scenic view of the tea plantation - finally something nice
visit to the tea factory and tea shop, you can sample the local tea and cakes
butterfly and reptiles farm - very nice
strawberry farm - 5minutes stop, you are expected to buy something, no explanation about the farm whatsoever

Our guide said nothing throughout the entire morning, so he was more like a driver, nothing else. In the reptile farm, we met a group from a different company and their guide was very entertaining, explaining details about bugs, scorpions, snakes, he even took some of them out to take picture with, very interesting. The group was very happy with their tour, it cost them only 5ringgits more than us and they had a better experience for sure. They were from 4x4 Hill tour that has a counter right next to the Sri Brinchang Indian restaurant (which btw is great!), so I'd recommend booking with them or simply shopping around more, talking to other travelers to see if they liked their tour etc.

We booked a minivan with Kang travel for our onward journey to KL, and had no problems, the transport with them worked very good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this place was the veranda and jungle bar which are great for meeting fellow backpackers to arrange jungle treks with, although they get a bit shirty if to take to singing loudly after 11pm - be warned!

It's a good location, in Tanah Rata with easy links to Brincheng for trekking and tours, which they will arrange for you if you want. The also offer movies to rent if you need to chill out one day. The rooms are very basic (in the loft!) but they seemed clean and were comfortable. Showers were warm.

Another benefit of this place is that Kang's arranges minibus transfers to all over Malaysia which aren't much more than the coaches and may in fact work out cheaper as they collect from more convenient places (such as Chinatown, KL).

No complaints about this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge)

Address: 9 Lorong Perdah, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel`s Lodge) Hotel Tanah Rata
Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge) Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kang Travellers Lodge (Daniel's Lodge), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.