We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Instantly takes you back to 1930's Britain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands to your Saves list
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Instantly takes you back to 1930's Britain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

This hotel is extraordinary in its capacity to take you back in time and space. The interior is crammed with tacky antiquities ranging from old cowbells to swords to framed British hunting scenes, and the owner is fond of playing canny mono music recordings.
The entire building is clearly lacking in maintenance work, so do not expect your room to be free of rust and mould. This, depending on your expectations, can either be charming or annoying. In either case, it is fair to say that this is not a luxurious hotel, but it is an expensive one.
It should also be noted that this hotel, like the Lakehouse, is also roadside and that there is construction going on right next doors, so it is not necessarily very quiet.
The service is personal, friendly and of a very high quality - from being offered tea upon arrival to being given a lunch pack when you check out.
The food is pricey for Malaysia, but it's also copious, typically British, and good (though not excellent). The scones during high tea, however, are exceptionally delicious.
Do not stay here if you are used to very high hotel standings, because you will most likely be disappointed. Go for high tea or for a Guinness in the evening next to the fireplace. But do go here if you're looking for a surreal colonial experience and you don't mind an unfinished touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    69
    34
    29
    25
See reviews for
48
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I am not staying there but just visited this charming hotel next to the golf course between Tanah Rata and Bringchang in Cameron Highlands. Their scones are fresh and tasty with thick cream and jams. The ambience is excellent with antiques and memorabilia in every corner.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We wanted a romantic weekend and chose the Smokehouse hotel, From the outside the hotel looks charming, in old english style and nicely kept gardens,
The inside is OK, but clearly has seen better days. The Warwick room we had was nicely furnished, although the bed was very hard, plubing was loose, unfinished ceiling, no shower curtain, no TV-remote, only 2 channels and no constant hotwater for showers and adoor t hat washard to lock.
The dinner was rather expensive and the quality was poor, some which we suspect to be microwaved. Also the service was poor with frequent mistakes.
The breakfast the following morning was also poor, no fresh orange juice, a small slice of bacon (4 cm2 ), requiring repeatedly to ask for service,
The room which was charged at 530 ringit is clearly overpriced.
So all in all not to be recommended for another stay

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

A very romantic, quiet place, beautifull garden and cosy lounge. perfect location to visit Tana Rata in south or up north to Boh plantation, the fresh markets, or have a walk through the jungle.
Family room very big. An old house, so our room would deserve some painting.
Just avoid the restaurant : dinner awefully expensive, tasteless, small portion : it doesnt fit the spirit of a cottage and hungry fellow back from a treck! breakfast disapointing too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I paid RM450++ for the "cheapest" room, but that amount itself is good enough for some 4-5 star hotels here in Malaysia.

It's not like we are going to visit this everyday now and then, so I've decided, why not?

I booked this hotel in advance. Upon arriving, I checked in. The next first thing we wanted to do is snap some nice pictures in the garden. It was great. We then went in, took a few more inside. So far - nice deco and very cosy.

But...

(IT SUCKS no.1) It seems the owner just could not believe we are their patrons. Well, she wasn't there when we checked in, and I do excuse her for being an old lady. When we took pictures inside the hotel, we were asked by her what we are doing. OK, first time, we explained.

Upon entering the room...

(IT SUCKS no.2) The pillow sheets have stains on it.

Few hours later...

(IT SUCKS no.3) After filling the bathtub 1/2 full, the hot water goes off. We waited quite some time (an hour or more... ) before the water is hot again.

(IT SUCKS no.4) There is no shower screen!??

Sleeping time...

(IT SUCKS no.5) At precisely 4am, the electricity went off. And this GOES ON right on till the morning.

Next day...

(IT SUCKS no.6) We went down and asked for our complimentary breakfast. I mean, aren't the people there are suppose to recognise us? Again, we were asked by the old lady what room do we stay and we have to show our keys to her!!! After that, without apologising, or at least feeling rather embarassed for asking us this question, she ordered the waiter to prepare the breakfast for us, and then she left.

(IT SUCKS no.7) And you know what's the funny part - when we were having our breakfast, the electricity STILL goes on and off now and then... and the waiters, behaved like nothing has happened.

This say two things:

1) Either it's happening so frequent it has become a norm to them.
2) They couldn't care less how we customers felt, and did not even bother explaining to us what actually happened.

And you know what? I didn't asked about the problem. I waited for them to tell me, even when I was checking out. They kept mum about this whole incident. If it is an isolated incident, would it hurt to apologise to us for the inconvenience caused? But of course, if it is happens so often, I guess there's no point explaining to us isn't it?

OK... guess what? I'm here right now writing my bad experience here in TripAdvisor!

I blame them for their ignorance, and this review would not have materialised if they really cared. It's an insult to the "English" cottage experience, because we have stayed one in Fraser's Hill (surprisingly it's also Smoke House, and you can read that in my other review), and it is an EXTREMELY pleasurable experience. I'll be trying out the Lake House soon, and will write another review for that (we'll see which one is the best).

Fellow travellers, I strongly advise you all, do reconsider. SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LYON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

This Hotel was good 15 years ago probably ! not anymore....
Please do not go there ! except to take a picture of theirs gardens.
As soon as you enter, it is finished : the Warwick Suite (and we were upgraded...) we had, did NOT meet our expectations and the price paid ! Bathroom with insects, ceiling with paints falling apart, minibar not clean, Television without remote control and with 3 channels, Library with a Pool (not fully equipped,...)
I do not speak about the staff. They spoke on the porch, they ignore our complaints, etc...

Choose simply another hotel in Tanah Rata, in the Cameron Highlands !!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

The Smoke House will eventually collapse in on itself, consumed by the roving damp and fungus that are consuming the walls and the ‘sharp’ practices of gouging the unsuspecting public who believe they are paying for quality and instead find themselves at the wrong end of substandard accommodation and food.
I was amazed at the ‘slops’ that was passed off as an’Oxtail Stew’ – any fool could see that it had been microwaved – plenty of bland sauce, a paltry representation of vegetables, and what hint of ‘meat’ there was, was fused to the four dreadful bones that had at one time been stewed, frozen thawed (perhaps) and microwaved beyond any usefulness.
This was a shame-faced meal that the waitress quickly served and disappeared from sight. It truly beggared belief that they had the audacity to charge over 60 ringgit.
This place deserves to founder simply because of the contempt with which they seem to treat their customers. Insulting really.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands

Address: by the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smokehouse Hotel And Restaurant By The Golf Course
Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands Tanah Rata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokehouse Hotel Cameron Highlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.